Access Restrictions Reader Services Reading Room Protocols 

Admin Sign In 

Using Archives & Manuscripts 

Overview of using archives and manuscripts, including tips for research visits, handling materials, and quoting and citing in academic work or publications.
Last update: Nov 02nd, 2009 URL: http://nyu.libguides.com/using_archives  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

Bobst Info!

Library Hours and Locations

Library Tutorials and Classes

Citation Help

Comments/Suggestions

 

Search BobCat

Search for books, journals, videos, etc. in our local libraries and special collections.

 
 

Using Archives & Manuscripts

The purpose of this guide is to provide researchers with an overview of using archives and manuscripts at NYU.  Bobst Library's Special Collections and Archives house significant resources that include rare books, personal papers, organizational records, posters, photographs, audio, films, videos, artworks, University history collections and other materials which support research on a wide range of topics.

Use the tabs near the top of this page to: 

  • read definitions of basic archival terms;
  • find out what to expect when you visit a special collection, including reading room protocols, reader services, and possible access restrictions;
  • learn how to handle one-of-a-kind materials with care;
  • find out about citing and quoting from unpublished manuscripts and archival collections; and
  • learn about best practices for using special collections. 

Follow the link to the related Primary Sources research guide to find out how to locate primary sources and use them in your research.

 
 

Search Finding Aids

Search finding aids for any or all of these libraries:

The Fales Library & Special Collections

The Tamiment Library & Robert F. Wagner Labor Archives

New York University Archives

New-York Historical Society Library

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait