Reference ToolsPeriodical GuidesPeriodical Indexes
This is the "
Home" page of the "Alternative Serials in the Tamiment Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Alternative Serials in the Tamiment Library   Tags: alternative serials, journals, labor, primary sources, radicalism, special collections, underground press, womens history  

A guide to finding and using alternative serials collections in the Tamiment Library, a special collection at Bobst Library focusing on Labor and the Left.
Last Updated: Apr 19, 2013 URL: http://nyu.libguides.com/tamiment_serials Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

The Masses

NYU Libraries is currently digitizing The Masses, a richly illustrated radical magazine published in New York from 1911 to 1917. Frequently called "the most dangerous magazine in America," The Masses contained the artwork and writing of many important radical figures of the time. Until the digital edition is available, researchers may access the Tamiment Library's reprint or microfilm editions of The Masses.

 

Introduction to Tamiment's Serials Collection

The Tamiment Library & Robert F. Wagner Labor Archives, a special collection in Bobst Library with a focus on labor history and left politics, has a collection of approximately 10,000 non-current serials. 

Holdings include alternative publications of every variety, such as labor union convention proceedings, union journals, strike bulletins, underground newspapers, internal bulletins of radical organizations, student papers, and scholarly journals in labor and radical history in print, on microfilm, and on microfiche.

The collection includes well known titles such as The Daily Worker, Partisan Review, and The New York Call, GI newspapers from the Vietnam War such as Winter Soldier and Rap, union journals from the Locomotive Engineer to Unite Here!, and obscure titles published in short runs such as Dumpster Times and Lone Wolf Bulletin.

We have created this research guide to help you find and use the serials in the Tamiment Library.

 

Visiting Tamiment

The Tamiment Library is located on the 10th Floor of Bobst Library. 

Appointments are not necessary, but researchers are encouraged to read the Top 10 Things to Know Before Visiting Tamiment.

See our website and the Tamiment Library Overview Research Guide for information on the library's collections and services.

Tamiment Librarian

Profile Image
Chela Scott Weber
Contact Info
tamiment.wagner@library.nyu.edu

212-998-2630
Send Email
 

Note About this LibGuide

NYU Libraries acknowledges the work of Donna L. Davey, former Tamiment Librarian, as the original creator and author of the content of this LibGuide.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip