This is the "
Overview" page of the "Pamphlets: A Guide to Collections in the Tamiment Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Pamphlets: A Guide to Collections in the Tamiment Library   Tags: labor, pamphlets, primary sources, printed ephemera, radicalism, special collections  

A guide for finding and using pamphlets in the Tamiment Library's collections.
Last Updated: Nov 14, 2013 URL: http://nyu.libguides.com/tamiment_pamphlets Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Visiting Tammient

The Tamiment Library is located on the 10th Floor of Bobst Library. 

See our website for detailed information on library collections and services.

Appointments are not necessary, but researchers are encouraged to read the Top 10 Things to Know Before Visiting Tamiment.

 

Introduction

The Tamiment Library & Robert F. Wagner Labor Archives, a special collection in Bobst Library with a focus on left politics and labor history, holds tens of thousands of pamphlets in print and on microfilm. 

Subject coverage spans a wide range of topics such as radical politics, civil rights, civil liberties, virtually all aspects of labor and working class movements including labor union strikes, the McCarthy era, the Spanish Civil War, Irish Americans, anarchism, communism, socialism, anti-war movements, feminism, student movements, and countless other topics.  The pamphlets include publications of labor unions and radical organizations, individual authors, and government documents. 

Pamphlets can be a great resource for discovering the ideas being promoted at a point in time to sway opinions.  Often sporting dramatic graphics, vivid cover art, persuasive text, and an urgent  message, pamphlets are worth seeking out.  Pamphlets were relatively cheap to produce and abundantly published, but it can be difficult to find them in libraries.  This guide will help you find and use the radical pamphlets in the Tamiment Library's collections. 

 

Highlights from the Pamphlet Collections in Flickr

www.flickr.com

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Kate Donovan
 

Note About this LibGuide

NYU Libraries acknowledges the work of Donna L. Davey, former Tamiment Librarian, as the original creator and author of the content of this LibGuide.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip