This is the "
Overview" page of the "Printed Ephemera Collections at Tamiment Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Printed Ephemera Collections at Tamiment Library   Tags: labor, printed ephemera, radicalism  

A guide to the Printed Ephemera Collections at NYU's Tamiment Library
Last Updated: Nov 21, 2012 URL: http://nyu.libguides.com/printedephemera Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Highlights from the PE Collections

www.flickr.com
 

Overview

The Printed Ephemera Collections at the Tamiment Library consist of over one millions items - fliers, handbills, leaflets, and pamphlets among other printed material - from hundreds of labor unions and left organizations. The material's currency and topicality provide a perspective on American society, culture, working-class life, and the varied movement for progressive change that are so often invisible through more traditional sources. In a unique method used to arrange and describe Tamiment's printed ephemeral, the Collections, made publicly available through a National Endowment for the Humanities grant, are arranged around a central trade union or organization. Familiarly, the Collections are known as the PEs and generally relate to and compliment manuscript collections at the Tamiment Library.

Tamiment Librarian

Profile Image
Chela Scott Weber
Contact Info
tamiment.wagner@library.nyu.edu

212-998-2630
Send Email
 

Note About this Libguide

NYU Libraries acknowledges the work of Adrien Hilton, former Printed Ephemera Collections Project Archivist, and Rebecca Altermatt, former Archivist, as the original creators and authors of the content of this LibGuide.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip