Bobst Info!
Search BobCat
Search for books, journals, videos, etc. in our local libraries and special collections.
Music Collection Overview
NYU's music library embraces the audio cultures of all peoples, places, and times. Located on the second floor of Bobst Library and including the Avery Fisher Center for Music and Media, the collection includes audio recordings (77,000), videos (6,000 performances and documentaries), books (43,000), peridodicals (500 online and print), and notated scores (43,000).
Online Research: Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Texts
- African American Music Reference

Compendium of scholarly writings. - Classical Music Reference Library

Biographical and topical reference. - Encyclopedia of Popular Music (via Oxford Music Online)

Biographical and topical reference to artists and genres. - Garland Encyclopedia of World Music

Comprehensive coverage of the music of the world's continents and peoples. - Grove Music Online (via Oxford Music Online)

In-depth topical and biographical articles. - Oxford Dictionary of Music (via Oxford Music Online)
Concise topical and biographical articles.
Online Research: Articles and Indexes
- International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP Full Text)

Index to periodical articles in music, with full-text articles for selected journals. - International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA Full Text)

Index to periodical articles in the performing arts (dance, film, television, theater, and more), with full-text articles for selected journals. - Music Index

Index to periodical articles in music. - RILM Abstracts of Music Literature

Index to scholarly writing in music. - RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals

Index to historic music periodicals, 1800-1950. - Rock's Back Pages Library

Full-text archive of journalism and criticism on rock music. - Index to Printed Music
Index to individual pieces of music published in scholarly anthologies.
Web Audio, Video, and Scores
- American Song

Streaming AUDIO. - Classical Music Library

Streaming AUDIO. - Classical Scores Library

Downloadable printed scores. - Contemporary World Music

Streaming AUDIO. - DRAM (Digital Anthology of Recorded American Music)

Streaming AUDIO. - Jazz Music Library

Streaming AUDIO. - Naxos Music Library

Streaming AUDIO. - Naxos Music Library: Jazz

Streaming AUDIO. - Opera in Video

Streaming VIDEO. - Smithsonian Global Sound

Streaming AUDIO.
Make a Purchase Recommendation to the Library
- Recommend an Audio Recording

For faculty and students to recommend an audio recording for purchase by the library. - Recommend a Book or Printed Score

For faculty and students to recommend a book or printed score for purchase by the library. - Recommend a Video

For faculty and students to recommend a video for purchase by the library.
Music Departments and Programs at NYU and the Consortium
- Department of Music (NYU School of Arts and Sciences)
- Department of Music and Performing Arts Professions (NYU Steinhardt School of Culture, Education, and Human Development)
- Clive Davis Department of Recorded Music (NYU Tisch School of the Arts)
- Graduate Musical Theatre Writing (NYU Tisch School of the Arts)
- Mannes The New School for Music (New School University)
Mega-Sites with Links to Internet Music Resources
NYU Libraries Collection Development Policy for Music
- Collection Development Policy for Music What we buy and why.
Music Librarian |
Kent Underwood (Head, Avery Fisher Center for Music and Media)Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait