What is Grey Literature?
Grey Literature is "[i]nformation produced on all levels of government, academics, business and industry in electronic and print formats not controlled by commercial publishing i.e. where publishing is not the primary activity of the producing body." (http://greynet.org/)
Grey Literature includes:
- working documents
- pre-prints
- research papers
- statistical documents
- difficult-to-access materials
(http://lanic.utexas.edu/project/laoap/glossary.html)
Some common places to find Grey Literature:
Grey Lit and the Deep Web
A large amount of of grey literature can be found if the information is available on the internet. The issue is finding these sources. Despite the potency of search engines such as Google, Yahoo and Bing, these tools do not cover the entirety of the web. Many of the resources can be found in a hidden web, often referred to as the "Deep Web."
The Deep Web is composed of searchable databases accessible through the internet, which are not availabe through ordinary web search engines. It is also called the "hidden web" or "invisible web." (Retrieved from http://www.credoreference.com/entry/acbinfomanage/deep_web.)
Deep Web Tools:
Grey Lit Directories
A directory is a list of information guiding you to additional resources. Below you will find links to resources that contain large lists of resources of and about grey literature.
- GreySource Index
- Finding Information: Gray Literature
- WorldWideScience.org"a global science gateway—accelerating scientific discovery and progress through a multilateral partnership to enable federated searching of national and international scientific databases and portals."
- Reports and Grey Literature [Open University]
- The Virtual Technical Reports Center" This site contains links to technical reports, preprints, reprints, dissertations, theses, and research reports of all kinds." Compiled by University of Maryland Libraries.
Institutional Repositories
An Institutional Repository is a virtual space where an institution (like a university or research institute) collects, preserves and, to a degree, distributes its research and findings. Since these resources are not traditionally published, they can be considered grey literature.
Use the search below to search the top 800 Institutional Repositories (according to http://repositories.webometrics.info/index.html) at once, or search individual repositories via the links further down.
- OpenDOAR"OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories"
- University of California escholarship this site holds materials produced in the entire University of California system. The collection contains:35 eScholarship Journals, 265 eScholarship Research Units which provide 33,457 publications in eScholarship overall.
- Digital library From Wikipedia, the free encyclopediaProvides a great explanation of digital libraries. It also provides great outward facing links to digital library projects as well as directories.
- Ranking Web of World Repositories
Subject Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides Credentials: B.A. in Physics, Art & Art History; M.A. in Evolutionary Biology; M.S. in Library and Information Science |
Reference Associate |
Contact Info Humanities & Social Sciences Center Bobst Library Tatiana.Bryant@NYU.edu ext. 82490 Send Email Credentials: MLIS |
Want to Know More ?
- Deep Web vs Surface WebA great simple introduction to the Deep Web
- Text ReleaseText release provides a simple and authoritative guide to what can be considered Grey Literature



Loading...
