Getting Started
- New York City Buildings Research Guide Provides sources for finding info about NYC buildings. Please note that this is a guide from the Avery Architectural Library at Columbia University. For non-web resources, you’ll need to search BobCat to see if NYU owns a copy.
- NYC Department of Buildings Contains statistics, codes, and other reference materials for buildings in NYC.
- Jack Brause Real Estate Library Part of NYU, the library contains materials on all aspects of the real estate industry, from finance and investment, to development, management, and economics. Resources include industry forecasts, property ownership, zoning laws and maps, mortgage banking, retail leasing trends, real estate investment trusts, or even job hunting. Open to the public.
- New York City Landmarks Preservation Commission The Landmarks Preservation Commission is the New York City agency that is responsible for identifying and designating the City's landmarks and the buildings in the City's historic districts. The Commission also regulates changes to designated buildings.
- Historic House Trust of New York City The Historic House Trust of New York City (Trust) is a not-for-profit organization founded in 1989 to help the New York City Department of Parks & Recreation preserve its collection of historic houses located in city parks.
- Digital Sanborn Maps of NY 1867-1970 Sanborn maps were created to assist fire insurance companies assess the risks associated with insuring a particular property. The maps list street blocks and building numbers including numbers in use at the time the map was made and previous numbers.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals Includes links to full-text articles when they are available at NYU Libraries.
Codes and Violations
- NYC Construction Codes
- NYC Department of Buildings Provides general info about violations
- ECB Violation Reference Guides, I & II Provides explanations of Environmental Control Board violations.
- NYC Buildings Information System Find violations, property profiles, safety reports, inspections, equipment tracking (includes elevators), and more. **NOTE: You’ll need the building’s address in order to search.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait