Additional Ideas
- Faculty Members: Identify a faculty member working in your subject area and have a chat with them. Faculty members working in a specific area will both be able to identify core resources as well as connect you with other scholars and alert you to the most recent research.
- Readers: Search for a "reader;" readers typically reprint important articles within a specific subject area. To search for a reader, go to bobcat, and search for:
reader.
Introduction
How do you quickly orient yourself to a new field of study? How do you identify the core works and important players within a specific subject area? These sources help you to familiarize yourself with both the popular and academic literature within a specific field.
Getting Started
- Consult an Encyclopedia!
While it may seem elementary, very academic and subject-specific encyclopedias are written on a variety of topics. They frequently include entries by scholars in the field along with brief bibliographies. - Gale Virtual Reference Library
This database contains a number of subject-specific encylopedias. - Oxford Reference Online
This is another collection of online encyclopedias. These are published by Oxford University Press.
Books
- Books in Print
Search to see books in print as well as forthcoming titles in a specific subject area. - YBP Core Lists
Each year, YBP (a book vendor used by many libraries) profiles 1000 core titles published in a variety of fields that year. Once you click into a list, you'll have the option of viewing works by subject area.
Dissertations
- Dissertation Abstracts The best place to search for dissertations. Indexes dissertations and some masters theses. The full-text for many dissertations is available through this database. If the full-text is not available, we can interlibrary loan.
Identifying Journals and Articles
- Annual Reviews
Available for Social Sciences (anthropology, psychology, etc.) and Sciences, these volumes are published annually for each field of study. Each year, Annual Reviews critically reviews the most significant primary research literature to guide you to the principal contributions of the field and help you keep up to date in your area of research. - Ulrich'sWeb
Allows you to identify journal and magazine titles by subject area.
Find a Subject Specialist
- Subject Specialists at NYU Consult with a subject specialist to learn more about Bobst resources in a specific field.
- Subject Guides These research guides are compiled by NYU librarians and point you to key resources within a specific field.
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait