Request and Request ILL
Sometimes you'll see that a book has a status of "Request" or "Request ILL".
- Request You'll see this status if the book is checked out or if it is offsite. If a book is checked out, the borrower will be given 2 weeks to return the book, at which point it becomes yours. If the book is Offsite (this will be indicated in the record), the truck that runs to our offsite storage facility will bring the item back for you. This usually takes 1-2 business days.
- Request ILL This status means that the book is not available and it is prompting you to request the book through our Interlibrary Loan service. Interlibrary loan usually takes 1-2 weeks. Typically, Request ILL books are damaged or lost items.
Finding Books at Bobst
BobCat
To find books at Bobst, search BobCat, our library catalog.
A few steps:
- Check the status of an item. Generally, Available means that the copy is in the library and can be checked out (excluding Reference materials).
- Note the call number, not the ISBN number. The call number (ex. HT261.4.T5 1998) is what you use to locate the book.
- Consult the directory in the elevator to figure out which floor your item is on.
Finding Articles When You Just Have a Topic
Step One: Search a General Article Database
- Go to library.nyu.edu
- Click on Articles via Databases
- Enter your search terms in the search box; this search box will search two of our general all-purpose article databases: Proquest and Wilson OmniFile. (These databases cover all subject areas and a variety of materials: newspapers, popular magazines, journals, etc.)
Step Two: Search a Subject-Specific/Academic Article Databases
- Go to library.nyu.edu
- Click on Articles via Databases
- You'll see a list of subjects; select the subject area that most closely fits your needs
- Within a specific subject, you'll see a prioritized list of recommended article databases and tools for searching. These databases tend to be more academic in nature and very subject-focused.
Finding A Specific Article (When You Have the Citation)
- Go to library.nyu.edu
- Click on Ejournals/Ebooks
- Search for your journal/newspaper/magazine title. This will search across all of our databases to see if we have the journal online.
- You'll see a red/white popup window with options for electronic access. Click on the option that fits the date/volume that you need.
- If we do not have the journal online, you'll often see an option to Find it In BobCat; this allows you to search BobCat to see if we own the journal in hardcopy.
Where's the Full Text?
From an article database, click on the NYU icon:
next to a citation to get options for full text, Bobcat, or ordering from interlibrary loan.
From a citation obtained from another source, search Ejournals/Ebooks by journal title. You can also search the journal title in the Bobcat catalog. Older citations may be available in hard copy in the library, if not available electronically. If the journal title is not found in one of the above, you may order a copy of the article via Interlibrary Loan.
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait