Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Psychology 

Last update: Nov 05th, 2009 URL: http://nyu.libguides.com/psychology  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Handbooks             Print Page
  
 

About This Page

Reference resources are a great way to get started with your research. They can help you gather fast facts about a topic, focus your argument, and find lists of further readings written by experts in the field. Use the indexes and tables of contents to understand what you will find in each and go from there. 

 
 

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks

These resources can help you get an overview of a topic; define terms, theories, and persons in the field; and provide you with further readings on each subject. Using a reference resource in your research is especially useful at the beginning of a project, when it can help you focus your activities. Resources below are divided into subsections (general; cognition and perception; social and community; industrial and organizational; and topical).

General Resources - Encyclopedias and Handbooks:

  • International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, edited by Neil J. Smelser and Paul B. Baltes, 26 volumes. New York: Elsevier.
  • Handbook of Psychology, edited by Irving B. Weiner, 12 volumes. New York: Wiley, 2003. (Continually Updated).
  • Encyclopedia of Psychology, edited by Alan E. Kazdin, 8 volumes. Washington, D.C. and New York: American Psychological Association and Oxford University Press, 2000. An extensive and authoritative encyclopedia of psychology.
    REF1 BF31.E52 2000
  • The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science, edited by W. Edward Craighead and Charles B. Nemeroff. New York: Wiley, 2001. 4 volumes.
    REF1 BF31.E52 2001
  • International Encyclopedia of Psychology, edited by Frank N. Magill. London: Fitzroy Dearborn, 1996, 2 volumes.
    REF1 BF31.I58 1996
  • Oxford Companion to the Mind, edited by Richard L. Gregory. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2004.
  • Encyclopedia of Human Emotions, edited by David Levinson et al. New York: Macmillan, 1999. 2 volumes.
    REF1 BF531.E55 1999
  • Personality: Critical Concepts in Psychology, edited by Cary L. Cooper and Lawrence A. Pervin. New York: Routledge, 1998, 4 volumes.
    REF1 BF698.P3594

General Resources - Dictionaries:

  • APA Dictionary of Psychology, edited by Gary R. VandenBos. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association, 2007.
    REF1 BF31 .A63 2007
  • Dictionary of Concepts in General Psychology, edited by John. A. Popplestone and Marion White McPherson. Westport, Ct.: Greenwood, 1988.
    REF1 BF31.P665 1988
  • The Dictionary of Psychology, edited by Raymond J. Corsini. Philadelphia: Brunner/Mazel, 1999.
    REF1 BF31.C72 1999
  • Dictionary of Statistics for Psychologists, edited by B.S. Everitt and T. Wykes.
    New York: Oxford University Press, 1999.
    REF1 BF39.E83 1999
  • A Student's Dictionary of Psychology,by David A. Statt. New York : Psychology Press, 2003.
    REF1 BF31 .S64 2003
  • Wiley's English-Spanish and Spanish-English Dictionary of Psychology and Psychiatry, edited by Steven M. Kaplan. New York: John Wiley & Sons, 1995.
    REF1 BF31.K36 1995 and REF9 BF31 .K36 1995

Cognition and Perception:

  • The MIT Encyclopedia of the Cognitive Sciences (MITECS) , edited by Robert A. Wilson and Frank C. Keil. Cambridge, Mass.: MIT Press, 1999.
  • Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science, editor-in-chief, Lynn Nadel. New York: Nature Pub. Group, 2003. 4 volumes.
    REF1 BF311 .E495 2003
  • Handbook of Applied Cognition, edited by Francis T. Durso et al. New York: John Wiley & Sons, 2007.
    BF201.H36 2007
  • Handbook of Cognition and Emotion, edited by Tim Dalgleish and Mick J. Power. New York: John Wiley & Sons, 1999.
    REF1 BF531.H314 1999
  • Blackwell Handbook of Perception, edited by E. Bruce Goldstein. Malden, Mass.: Blackwell, 2001.
    REF1 BF311 .B537
  • Handbook of Perception and Action. London: Academic Press, 1995, 3 volumes.
    REF1 BF311.E5913 1995

Social and Community Psychology:

  • The Handbook of Social Psychology, edited by Daniel T. Gilbert. Boston : McGraw-Hill, 1998. 2 volumes.
    REF1 HM251 .H224 1998
  • Handbook of Personal Relationships: Theory, Research and Interventions, edited by Steve Duck. New York: Wiley, c1997.
    REF1 HM132 .H3325 1997
  • The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social Psychology, edited by Antony S.R. Manstead, et al. Oxford: Blackwell, 1995.
    REF1 HM251 .B476
  • Handbook of Community Psychology, edited by Julian Rappaport. New York : Kluwer Academic/Plenum, c2000.
    REF1 RA790.55 .H36 2000

Industrial and Organizational:

  • Handbook of Industrial and Organizational Psychology, edited by Marvin D. Dunnette, Leaetta M. Hough. 4 volumes. Palo Alto, CA: Consulting Psychologists Press, 1990.
    REF6 HF5548.8 .H265
  • Handbook of Work and Organizational Psychology, edited by Pieter J.D. Drenth, Henk Thierry, Charles J. de Wolff. 4 volumes. East Sussex: Psychology Press, c1998.
    REF6 HF5548.8 .H2655
  • The SAGE Handbook of Organizational Behavior, edited by Julian Barling, Cary L. Cooper and Stewart Clegg. 2 Volumes. London: Sage, 2008.
    HD58.7 .S233 2008

Topical Handbooks:

The following handbooks are an especially good way to get background on a specific subject area. They are written by experts on the topic presented and provide overviews of substantive areas of theory, research and practice in psychology.

  • Comparative Psychology: a Handbook, edited by Gary Greenberg and Maury M. Haraway. New York: Garland, 1998.
    REF1 BF671.C615 1998
  • A to Z Handbook of Child and Adolescent Issues, edited by Amy Beth Taublieb. Boston: Allyn and Bacon, 2000.
    REF1 BF721.T38 2000
  • Handbook of Child Psychology, 6th edition, edited by William Damon and Richard M. Lerner. New York: John Wiley & Sons, 2006, 4 volumes.
    REF1 BF721.H242 2006
  • WAIMH Handbook of Infant Mental Health, edited by Joy D. Osofsky and Hiram E. Fitzgerald. New York: Wiley for the World Association for Infant Mental Health, 2000, 4 volumes.
    REF1 RJ502.5.W35 2000
  • Handbook of Creativity, edited by Robert J. Sternberg. New York : Cambridge University Press, 1999.
    REF1 BF408 .H285 1999
  • Handbook of the Psychology of Aging, 5th edition, edited by James E. Birren and K.Warner Shaie. San Diego: Academic Press, 2001.
    BF724.55.A35 H36 2001 Offsite
  • Handbook of Behaviorism, edited by William O'Donohue and Richard Kitchener. San Diego: Academic Press, 1999.
    REF1 BF199.H36 1999
  • Handbook of Emotions, edited by Michael Lewis, Jeannette M. Haviland-Jones and Lisa Feldman Barrett. New York: Guildford, 2008.
    BF561.H35 2008
  • Handbook of Environmental Psychology, edited by Daniel Stokols and Irwin Altman. New York: John Wiley & Sons, 1987, 2 volumes.
    BF353.H26 1987
  • Handbook of Intelligence, edited by Robert J. Sternberg. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2000.
    RER1 BF431.H31865 2000
  • Handbook of Personality: Theory and Research, 3rd edition, edited by Lawrence A. Pervin, Richard W. Robins and Oliver P. John. New York: Guilford, 2008.
    BF698.H335 2008
  • International Handbook of Personality and Intelligence, edited by Donald H. Saklofske and Moshe Zeidner. New York: Plenum, 1995.
    REF1 BF698.9.I6 I57 1995
  • The Oxford Handbook of Psycholinguistics, edited by M. Gareth Gaskell. New York: Oxford University Press, 2007.
    BF455 .O94 2007
  • Handbook of Self-regulation, edited by Monique Boekaerts et al. San Diego: Academic Press, 2000.
    REF1 BF632.H363 2000
  • Dictionary of Psychopathology, edited by Henry Kellerman. New York: Columbia University Press, 2009
    REF1 RC437 .D53 2009 Non-circulating
 

Subject Librarian

Jason Phillips
Contact Info:
Location: Bobst Library, Mezzanine
Phone: 212.998.2514
Send Email

Subjects:
Sociology, Psychology, Gender & Sexuality Studies, American Studies

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait