Resources about Playwrights
Resources About Playwrights
-
Contemporary Authors. 1962-
Contemporary Authors New Revised Edition. 1981-
Electronic Access available via Literature Resource Center SEE THE ELECTRONIC RESOURCES TAB ON THIS GUIDE
Description: Includes most writers who have published in the US within the last 35 years. Contains basic biographical facts about writers, with notes on the writers' works and quotes from reviews. Entries include lists of Writings and Biographical/Critical Sources. -
Contemporary Dramatists. K.A. Berney, editor. 6th Ed. Chicago,
IL: St. James Press, 1999.
Bobst REF1 PR737.C57 6th Ed.
Description: Provides information for over three hundred living dramatists who publish in English. Entries include a brief biography, list of publications and professional activities, and a critical essay about the dramatist and his or her work. No reprints or revivals are included.
Organization: Alphabetical by playwright, with a title index. -
Dictionary of Literary Biography [DLB].
Electronic Access available via Literature Resource Center SEE THE ELECTRONIC RESOURCES TAB ON THIS GUIDE
Description: Lengthy articles about writers. Entries focus on literary aspects of writers' lives, including biographical information. All entries include a bibliography of works by the writer covered. -
International Dictionary of Theatre. Edited by Mark Hawkins-Dady.
Chicago: St. James Press, 1991.
Bobst REF1 PN2000.I474 1991 vols. 1-3
Volume II: Playwrights
Description: Volume II includes information on 485 playwrights from all periods and nationalities, selected for inclusion by an academic advisory panel. Entries include a brief biographical sketch, list of works, a bibliography, and a critical overview with cross-references to Volume I [see below] where appropriate.
Organization: Alphabetical by playwright, with a title index. -
Performing Arts Biography Master Index. 2nd ed. B. McNeil &
M. C. Herbert, eds. Detroit, MI: Gale, 1982.
Bobst REF1 PN1583.M37 1982
Description: Lists citations to biographical reference sources in the performing arts (e.g., biographical dictionaries, encyclopedias), including theater, film, television, dance, music, puppetry and magic.
Organization: Listings are alphabetical by name as used in the cited source.
Reference Resources

British playwrights, 1956-1995 [electronic resource] : a research and production sourcebook
To find more books like this see the database ebrary
Resources about Plays
Resources about Plays
General Information
-
Contemporary Literary Criticism [CLC]. 1973-
Electronic Access available via Literature Resource Center
Description: Extracts from books and journal articles about present-day writers, with a list of principal works.
-
Critical Survey of Drama. Frank N. Magill, editor. Pasadena, CA: Salem Press.
English Language Series, Revised Edition: Bobst REF1 PR623.C75 1994 v. 1-7
Foreign Language Series: Bobst REF1 PN1625.C74 1986 v. 1-6
Description: Information about individual dramatists, dramatic works, and overview essays concerning trends in drama.
Organization: Alphabetical by author. Last volume includes a title index, author index, and subject index to the series. -
Drama Criticism. Lawrence J. Trudeau, editor. New York: Gale
Research, 1991- .
Bobst REF1 PN1601.D59
Electronic Access available via Literature Resource Center (does not include all entries from print edition)
Description: Based on the series Contemporary Literary Criticism [see above], Drama Criticism concentrates on individual dramatists, from the classical period to the present. Under each author heading, the entry includes biographical information, a list of major works, critical reception, and commentary on individual plays.
Organization: There are 8-10 entries per volume, arranged alphabetically by author. Use the last volume for a cumulative author, title and nationality index. -
International Dictionary of Theatre. Edited by Mark Hawkins-Dady.
Chicago: St. James Press, 1991.
Bobst REF1 PN2000.I474 1991 vols. 1-3:
Volume I: Plays
Description: Volume I includes information on over 600 plays (concentrating on English-speaking world), selected for inclusion by an academic advisory panel. Entries include dramatist, date of first publication and production, translations into English and a bibliography relating to the piece. Also provides a critical essay with plot summary.
Organization: Alphabetical by title. -
Theatre World. 1944- .
Bobst REF1 PN2277.N5 A17
Description: An illustrated yearbook, with production photographs, of the American theater, listing productions performed each season. Includes cast, production credits, dates of run, brief performer bios and obits, with a list of awards. Emphasizes New York City, but also includes information on other cities and traveling productions.
Organization: Lists plays chronologically by opening date, with sections on Broadway, Off-Broadway, Professional Regional Theater, and touring companies.
Subject Librarian |
Pamela Bloom Librarian for Theatre & Performance StudiesContact Info:
Location: Bobst Library, Mezz.
212-998-2618
Send Email
Subjects:
Theatre & Performance Studies
Location: Bobst Library, Mezz.
212-998-2618
Send Email
Subjects:
Theatre & Performance Studies
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait