Facsimiles of Medieval Manuscripts at Bobst Library
Bobst
Library's holdings of Old English and Middle English manuscripts
in facsimile, and also notes the guides and indices which accompany
these holdings.
N.B.: Not all series are complete. Where indicated, the
order request date has been included.
The Chester Mystery Cycle: A Facsimile of MS Bodley 175. R. M. Lumiansky & David Mills,
eds. 1973.
PR1260.C36 1973 Oversize
The Chester Mystery Cycle: A Facsimile of British Library MS Harley 2124. David Mills, ed.
1984.
PR1261.C54 1984 Oversize
The Chester Mystery Cycle: A Reduced Facsimile of Huntington Library MS 2. R. M.
Lumiansky & David Mills, eds. 1980.
PR1261.C52 1980 Oversize
The Digby Plays: Facsimiles of the Plays in Bodley MS Digby 133 and e Museo 160. Donald C.
Baker & J. L. Murphy, eds. 1976.
PR1260.D49 1976
The N-Town Plays: A Facsimile of British Library MS Cotton Vespasian D.VIII. Peter
Meredith & Stanley J. Kahrl, eds. 1977.
PR1260.C64 1977
Non-Cycle Plays and the Winchester Dialogues: Facsimiles of Plays and Fragments. Norman Davis, ed. 1979.
PR1260.N66 Oversize
The Towneley Cycle: A Facsimile of Huntington MS HM I. A. C. Cawley & Martin Stevens, eds.
PR1260.T65 1976b Oversize
The York Play: A Facsimile of British Library MS Additional 35290. . . . Richard Beadle &
Peter Meredith, eds. 1983.
PR1261.Y67 1983 Oversize
New York Univeristy Provincetown Playhouse
Plays in Collections
There are several tools to help you discover the collection that includes an individual play. Some are listed below. There's
also a free web resource, Inter-Play, that serves as an index to
several thousand plays found in collections and periodicals.
~ Inter-Play
Ottemiller's index to plays in collections : an author and title index to plays appearing in collections published between 1900 and 1985
ISBN/ISSN: 0810820811
This is the Grand Daddy of collections!
Covers plays published between 1900 and 1985 in the English-speaking world. Excludes children's plays, one-act plays, radio and television productions. The first section is the main author index, listing the plays and in which collections they appear. The second provides the collections and their abbreviations included in this volume. The third section is a title index, referring back to the author index.
Here are a few others that may be of interest.- Play index [electronic resource].
- Drury's Guide to best plays,
- An index to one-act plays
- Index to plays in periodicals, 1977-198
- Plays in periodicals; an index to English language scripts in twentieth century journals.
Finding Plays
Finding Plays
-
Play Index. 1949- .
Bobst REF1 Index Z5781.P53
Electronic Access: see link below
Description: Each volume contains several parts, listing plays published during the years covered by that volume, including English-language translations. Coverage includes plays in collections and single plays, one-act plays, full-length plays, radio, TV and Broadway productions.
Organization: Part I includes an author, title, and subject index with a brief description of the play. Another section provides a cast analysis, with listings of all-female and all-male casts. The final section lists the indexed collections. -
Index to Plays in Periodicals. Keller, Dean H. Metuchen, N.J.:
Scarecrow Press, 1979, 1990.
Bobst REF1 Z5781 .K43 1979 ; 1990
Description: Lists plays published in periodicals through 1990.
Organization: Organized in two parts, with an author index and title index.
Play Annuals

Play Annuals
-
Best plays of ... 1894- .
Bobst PN2266 .A2B5
Description: For each season, digests and provides critical comments on select plays. Also has information about the theater in several US cities, with an extensive entry on Broadway and Off-Broadway productions in New York City. Lists the Pulitzer Prize winners and Drama Critics Circle Awards.
Organization: Divided into several sections, with an author, cast and production index for each volume. This series is indexed by Ottemiller's Index to Plays in Collections (through 1985)--see above.
- Prof. Jeffery Jenkins Bio Prof. Jenkins is one of NYU's most estimed critics.
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait