Bibliographies
General Bibliographies with Wide Coverage
Bibliographies on Africa (Includes North Africa and Sub-Saharan Africa)
Author: Mohamed Mekkawi.
Publication date: February 1989.
URL:http://www.howard.edu/library/Assist/Guides/French_african_Lit.htm
An extensive bibliography of sources for the study of African and Caribbean Francophone literature. Also includes: lists of Research Organizations and Associations in North America, Africa, and Europe; publishers; literary prizes.
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture. Boston, G.K. Hall, 1975- .
Bobst Ref1 Z881.N592 S352n Holdings (1976- )
A yearly bibliography arranged by subject. Reflects holdings of the New York Public Research Divisions and the Library of Congress.
East Grinstead, West Sussex, UK : Bowker-Saur, c1994- .
Bobst Ref1 Z3013.L72
Bibliography of books, articles, and reviews on Islam and the Musim world, published yearly. See the subject index for headings such as "France," "French language," "Women," etc. Also includes a name index.
All volumes published by Clio Press, Oxford.
Location varies depending on subject.
Some of the more recent volumes include:
Cote d'Ivoire: DT545.22.D36 1996
Martinique: Ref1 Z1561.M37 C7 1995
Morocco: Ref1 Z3836.F56 1995
Algeria: Ref1 Z3681.L378 1995
Zaire: Ref1 Z3631.W5 1995
Haiti: Ref1 Z1531.C47 1994
Bibliographies on North Africa and the Maghreb
Manchester, England ; Dover, N.H. : Manchester University Press, c1985-.
Bobst Ref1 Z3501.B54, holdings (1984- ).
Yearly bibliography of articles on Africa (entire continent) culled from nearly 700 journals. Arranged by geographical region, then by country, then by subject. Includes author and subject indexes.
ed. Grimwood-Jones, Diana, Derek Hopwood, & J. D. Pearson. Hassocks, England: Atlantic Highland, N.J.: Harvester Press: Humanities Press, 1977
Bobst Ref1 Z3103.A66 1997
Arranged by type of resource. Includes a wide variety of reference resource types. Eg.: Encyclopedias, grammars, biographical info., archives, libraries (including western libraries with Arabic & Islamic collections) and much more. Note: this resource is quite old.
Limb, Peter & Jean-Marie Volet. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, c1996.
Bobst Ref1 Z6514.C7 A38 1996.
Arranged by language of the literary work. Includes a section on French literatures. Further breakdown by country. Includes an author index and a country index. Note: No subject access!
Author: John Bruce Howell, International Studies Bibliographer, University of Iowa Libraries.
URL: http://sdrc.lib.uiowa.edu/ejab/
Description: EJAB is a refereed online journal of bibliographies on any aspect of Africa, its peoples, their homes, cities, towns, districts, states, countries, regions, including social, economic sustainable development, creative literature, the arts, and the Diaspora. Includes bibliographical information on library collections / archives, periodicals, and medical/health periodicals and books on Africa. Library / archive information is arranged by country.
McIlwaine, John. London;[New Providence, N.J.]: Hans Zell Publishers, 1996.
Bobst Z5140 .M45 1996
A bibliographic guide to material written about archives and manuscript collections located within Africa, as well as about African-related archives and manuscripts located outside Africa. Note: The concern is principally with documents of archival significance, rather than with manuscripts of primarily literary interest.
Bibliographies on Sub-Saharan Africa
Bonn, Charles. Paris: L'Harmattan, c1996.
Bobst Ref1 Z3014.L56 B66 1996.
Divided into 4 sections: critical studies; collective works and conference proceedings; special volumes of journals; anthologies. Note: there is NO subject access to this bibliography!
Bibliographies on the Caribbean
McIlwaine, John. London; New York: Hans Zell Publishers, 1992.
Bobst Ref1Z3501.M3 1992.
References to handbooks, yearbooks, statistics, directories of organizations, biographical sources, atlases and gazetteers. Arranged by geographical region then by country. Also includes index for author, titles, geographical regions, and countries. Note: excludes North Africa.
Pius Ngandu Nkashama. Paris: Harmattan, 1993.
Bobst Ref1 Z3508.L5 P58 1993, 2 vols.
Covers sub-saharan Africa. Lists by year literature by African writers. Further breakdown within each year by genre. Includes indexes for: author names and titles. Note: of limited use, because of presentation by year of publication.
Bibliographies for African Studies, 1987-1993.
Scheven, Yvette. London; New Jersey: Hans Zell Publishers, 1998 and 1994.
Bobst Ref1 Z3501.A1 S34 1988.
Bobst Ref1 Z3501.A1 S345 1994
Both volumes are bibliographies of bibliographies. Arranged by subject. They include brief annotations. Also author and subject indexes.
Westfall, Gloria D. New York. Hans Zell Publishers, 1992
Bobst Ref1DT532.W47 1992.
Provides information on political, economic, social, and cultural conditions in the Former French colonies of "tropical Africa" in official records. Organized by type of material, e.g.: general guides, bibliographies, archives, publications of the central administration, semiofficial publications, publications of colonial governments, etc. Includes an index to personal names, subjects, and titles. Also includes contact information for archives in Africa.
Merand, Patrick. Paris: L'Harmattan, 1979.
Bobst Ref1 Z3508.L5 M47
Covers sub-saharan Africa. Bibliography arranged by author name, with individual indexes of literature by coutry, titles and cited authors. Note: this bibliography is quite old.
Zell, Hans M. New York: Africana Pub. Co., 1983.
Bobst Ref1 PN849.A35 Z44 1983
Covers sub-saharan Africa. A long bibliography section offers lists of bibliographies and reference works, criticism, collections, folk lore, and oral tradition. Part 2 is a bibliography of primary literary works, arranged by language - English, French, Portuguese - and then by region, country, and author. Each entry includes publication information and a brief annotation. Also listed are: magazines (incl. publisher and contact information), biographies, booksellers, dealers, publishers, libraries with African literature collections and an index of all authors, editors and critics.
Goslinga, Marian. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, c1996.
Bobst Ref1 Z1595 .G68 1996.
Includes sections on historical materials published from the 16th - 19th centuries, and reference materials. The section on "contemmporary works" includes language and literature. Also includes an author and a title index, plus a geographical index for access to resources about a particular country.
Berrian, Brenda F. Washington, DC : Three Continents Press, c1988.
Bobst Z1595 .B46 1988.
Arranged by language of the colonizing nation. Subsequent arrangement is by genre or type of literature. Has a section on French Caribbean and Guyana.
Paravisini-Gebert, Lizabeth. :Westport, Conn.; London: Greenwood Press, 1993.
Bobst Ref1 Z1595 .C364 1993.
Arranged by author name. For each author brief biographical informantion is given. Index of novels, critics, themes, and key words.
Bissinthe, Max. Washington: Scarecrow Press, 1951.
Bobst Z1531.B5.
Covers books published from 1804-1949. Six sections: works published in Haiti or by Haitians, works published in "hispaniola" and Santo Domingo concerning these two and Haiti, journals of Santo Domingo and Haiti, an alphabetical list of journalists in Santo domingo and Haiti, a catalog of titles, and alphabetical index by subject. Supplement below.
Bissinthe, Max. Washington: Scarecrow Press, 1973.
Bobst Z1531.B5n Suppl.
Supplement to the above titles. Arranged by year, 1950-1970, then alphabetically by author name. Includes an indexes of titles, subjects, and authors. An appendix provides additional titles published before 1950 but not included in the original Dictionnaire.
Comitas, Lambros. Millwood, N.Y. : KTO Press, c1977.
Bobst Ref1 Z1595 .C63 , 4 vols.
Excludes Haiti, Cuba, Puerto Rico, and the Dominican Republic. Provides information about the people (vol. 1), institutions (vol. 2), and resources (vol. 3) of Caribbean nations. Volume 4 consists of an author and geographic index. Volume 2 (Institutions) includes sections on language and linguistics, creative arts, folklore, etc. Arrangement is by subject and then alphabetical by author name.
Laguerre, Michel S. Millwood, N.Y.: Kraus International Publications, c1982.
Bobst Ref1 Z1531 .L33 1982, 2 vols.
A resource with broad coverage of all aspects of Haitian history, culture, etc. Volume 1 contains a section on Haitian culture, including language and linguistics. Arrangement within each section is alphabetical by name of author. Volume 2 also contains an author index.
Lawless, Robert. New York : Garland Pub., 1990.
Bobst Z1531 .L39 1990.
A selective bibliography of mostly English-language works on Haiti (a few Creole works are included). Limited "primarily to works that are widely published and generally available at major libraries and through interlibrary loan systems." Not included: US government documents, many historical documents, book reviews, newspapers and news journals, writings on the natural sciences. Arranged by subject. Includes sections on languages and literature. Has an author index.
Fenwick, M.J. New York: Garland, 1992.
Bobst Ref1 Z1595.F46 1992, 2 vols.
Arranged by country, then author. Lists literary works by authors. Vol. 2 includes an index of author names.
Subject Specialist |
Jennifer VinopalLibrarian for Digital Scholarship Initiatives Digital Studio, 2nd floor, east wing, Bobst Library
Send Email
Subjects:
French Language and Literature, Italian Language and Literature
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait