Web Sites
The links on this page are limited to sites which provide scholarly information about francophone literature or publishing, or which facilitate research in francophone studies. General interest sites, general cultural sites, as well as news, history, travel, music, health, language-learning etc. sites have been excluded. Also excluded are biographical or bibliographical lists which do not attempt to be comprehensive or scholarly.
Sites with Wide Coverage (Africa, Maghreb, Caribbean, Diaspora, etc.)
Sub-Saharan Africa Caribbean
Africa
Author: Mohamed Mekkawi, Howard University.
Publication date: February 1989.
URL:http://www.howard.edu/library/Assist/Guides/French_african_Lit.htm
An extensive bibliography of sources for the study of African and Caribbean Francophone literature. Also includes: lists of Research Organizations and Associations in North America, Africa, and Europe; publishers; literary prizes.
Author / Publisher: Center for Research Libraries.
URL: http://www.crl.edu/content.asp?l1=5&l2=23&l3=44&l4=27
The Center for Research Libraries has provided this searchable database for users to determine which foreign newspapers they hold. Bobst Library is a member of CRL and newspapers can be borrowed by eligable patrons through Interlibrary Loan.
Author / Publisher: Rockefeller Library, Brown University.
Publication date: Created, 2001.
URL: http://dl.lib.brown.edu/francophone/
This bilingual site provides annotated descriptions of web sites dedicated to literature, theater, music, dance, the visual arts & cinema, and sites focusing on the sociocultural context in which such artistic creation occurs. Also featured: links to African/Africana studies programs & resources around the world. Also includes audio clips, bibliographies, lyrics, photographs and scholarly articles.
North Africa / Maghreb
Publisher: African Studies at U. Penn.
URL:http://www.sas.upenn.edu/African_Studies/About_African/ww_afdis.html
Lists resources for African studies and the Diaspora.
Publisher: African Studies at U. Penn.
URL:http://www.sas.upenn.edu/African_Studies/About_African/ww_afstd.html
Lists African studies programs worldwide.
Publisher: Center for African Studies, University of Florida.
ISSN 1093-2658
URL: http://web.africa.ufl.edu/asq/
ASQ is an interdisciplinary, fully refereed, online journal dedicated to publishing the finest scholarship relating to African continent.
Author: John Bruce Howell, International Studies Bibliographer, University of Iowa Libraries.
URL: http://sdrc.lib.uiowa.edu/ejab/
EJAB is a refereed online journal of bibliographies on any aspect of Africa, its peoples, their homes, cities, towns, districts, states, countries, regions, including social, economic sustainable development, creative literature, the arts, and the D iaspora. Includes bibliographical information on library collections / archives, periodicals, and medical/health periodicals and books on Africa. Library / archive information is arranged by country.
Editor: jvolet@cyllene.uwa.edu.au, Department of French Studies, School of European Languages. The University of Western Australia.
URL: http://aflit.arts.uwa.edu.au/FEMEChome.html
Offers author lists and some biographies, bibliographies, interviews, etc.
Author: By Daniel Reboussin (Africana Specialist), University of Florida.
URL: http://www.uflib.ufl.edu/cm/africana/
This guide describes: the Africana collections at the U. of Florida, important sub-collections, special collections, institutional affiliations, etc.
Author: John Bruce Howell, International Studies Bibliographer, University of Iowa Libraries.
URL: http://www.library.northwestern.edu/africana/
Established in 1954, the Melville J. Herskovits Library of African Studies at Northwestern University is the largest separate Africana collection in existence. This site gives an overview of its collection.
Author: Ambassade de France au Maroc, Service Culturel, Scientifique et de Coopération
URL: http://www.ambafrance-ma.org/archives/ilparait/
This site offers lists of: new books of all sorts (including literature), maroccan publishers, maroccan booksellers. Full text of recent issues of the journal Il Parait: Revue de l'association marocaine des professionnels du livre (AMPL). A lso includes the full text of essays on the book in morocco.
Author: Charles Bonn & Coordination internationale des chercheurs sur les littératures du Maghreb
URL: http://www.limag.com/
Includes information in the following categories: L'actualité littéraire maghrébine, bibliographies, documents en texte intégral, etc.
Publisher:Department of Languages and Literatures. Lehman College, CUNY.
URL:http://www.lehman.cuny.edu/depts/langlit/french/francomonde.html
The goal of this list is "de faciliter les échanges d'idées et de stimuler la discussion entre personnes travaillant activement dans les domaines multidisciplinaires francophones (africaines, caribéennes, transnationales et cetera), principalement li ttéraire, mais également des spécialistes en d'autres études francophones artistiques, sociologiques..."
Contact Address: spoons@jefferson.village.virginia.edu
Subscription Address: majordomo@lists.village.virginia.edu
Forum for discussion and experimentation rooted in postcolonial literature, film and theory.
Subject Specialist |
Jennifer VinopalLibrarian for Digital Scholarship Initiatives Digital Studio, 2nd floor, east wing, Bobst Library
Send Email
Subjects:
French Language and Literature, Italian Language and Literature
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait