Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Italian Language and Literature 

Last update: Mar 20th, 2009 URL: http://nyu.libguides.com/ItalianLit  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Intro to Italian Literature             Print Page
  
 

Intro to Italian Literature

Browsing location in Bobst: PQ4000-PQ4150, 1st floor reference and 8th floor stacks.

Letteratura italiana. Antonio Asor Rosa, ed. Torino: Einaudi, 1982-1992.
Bobst REF1 PQ4037. L457 1982 (8 vol.) and Bobst REF1 PQ4037.L465 1992 (5 vol.)
An excellent resource. In-depth chapters by specialists. Covers not only the whole of Italian literature but also concentrates on the social and cultural background. The last two volumes of the 1982 set constitute a very helpful dictionary of literary biobibliography.

Cambridge History of Italian Literature. Brand, Peter and Pertile, Lino, eds. New York: Cambridge UP, 1999. Rev. ed.
Bobst REF1 PQ4038.C35 1999
Concise history of Italian literature with chapters arranged by century. Each chapter is authored by a scholar specializing in that particular period.

Dizionario Critico della Letteratura Italiana. ed. Vittore Branca. Torino: UTET, 1986. 2nd ed.
Bobst REF1 PQ4057.D59 1986
Long signed articles, quite often biocritical in nature. Also includes entries for literary terms, movements, etc. Contains substantial bibliographies.

Dictionary of Italian Literature. P. Bondanella and J. C. Bondanella. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1979.
Bobst REF1 PQ4006.D45 1996
Entries for authors constitute the bulk of the book, literary movements are also included. Relationships with other national literatures, cultures, and art forms are given. Bibliographies at end of entries include English translations of primary texts as well as critical studies (books and articles) in various languages.

 

Subject Specialist

Profile ImageJennifer Vinopal
Contact Info:
Librarian for Digital Scholarship Initiatives Digital Studio, 2nd floor, east wing, Bobst Library
Send Email

Subjects:
French Language and Literature, Italian Language and Literature

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait