Bobcat Tips
Use BobCat to find books and journals in Bobst Library, the Courant Math & Science Library, the Real Estate Library, as well as the libraries of the New School, Cooper Union, and Parsons School of Design.
You can combine search terms in BobCat. For example:
- To find a biography of Natalia Ginzburg use the subject terms: "biography" and "ginzburg"
- To find criticism on Eugenio Montale's writing use the subject terms: "montale" and "criticism"
- To find a bibliography on futurism, use the terms: "bibliography" and "futurism"
| If you are looking for: | Use this Search term in BobCat: |
| Biographical information | biography |
| Bibliographical information | bibliography |
| A Dictionary | dictionary |
| Catalogs | catalogs |
| Journals | periodicals |
| Theater/play information | drama |
| Critical or secondary material | criticism |
| Archival or Manuscript information | manuscripts |
Search BobCat
Search here for books, journals and other print materials, videos, sound recordings, e-books, e-journals, databases, and indexes in our local libraries and special collections.
Finding Criticism
Year's Work in Modern Language Studies. London: Modern Humanities Research Association. Published annually.
Bobst REF1 PB1.Y45
Yearly publication offering long essays summarizing the year's scholarship in each modern language. There is a substantial section on French literature. An excellent way to keep current on publishing in your area.
MLA International Bibliography. New York: MLA. Published anually.
Indexes journal articles (except book reviews), books, collections and festschriften, conference papers, etc. on literature, language, linguistics, folklore and film. Updated quarterly (can lag up to two years).
International Medieval Bibliography. Leeds: University of Leeds Press, 1967- present. 2 no/year.
Print Bibliography: Bobst REF1 Z6203.I63 (Latest volume only; previous volumes offsite)
Covers European Middle Ages (ca. 450-1500), includes over 4,000 periodicals and 5,000 miscellaneous volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections and Festschriften.). Does not cover monographs or short reviews. The print IMB contains some information that will not appear on disk (e.g. annotations).
Letteratura Italiana: Aggiornamento Bibliografico [LIAB]. Trieste: Alcione, 1991- .
Bobst REF1 PQ4001.L46
Yearly index to over 150 Italian periodicals.
Bibliografia generale della lingua e della letteratura italiana [BiGLI]. Roma: Salerno, 1991- .
Bobst REF1 PC1071.B519 (1991- )
Yearly index to over 1500 international journals.
Italian books and periodicals. Ufficio della proprietà, artistica e scientifica. Roma: Istituto Poligrafo e Zecca dello Stato, 1958-.
Bobst REF1 Z2345.I89 22- (1979-)
The English edition of the monthly Libri e Riviste d'Italia. Lengthy book reviews and the equivalent of Current Contents for periodicals in all fields, with occasional annotations.
Subject Specialist |
Jennifer VinopalLibrarian for Digital Scholarship Initiatives Digital Studio, 2nd floor, east wing, Bobst Library
Send Email
Subjects:
French Language and Literature, Italian Language and Literature
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait