Bobst Library Resources for the Study of French Literature
Example Paper Topic: stage behavior in 18th-century theater
1. Primary Text Collections: Two Examples + Caveats
- Le Corpus de la littérature narrative du Moyen Age au XXe siècle: Romans, Contes, Nouvelles. (via ARTFL)
- Know what you're looking at! look at table of contents -- publication dates (out of copyright), authors (not included, incomplete works)
- Know how it works! look at search screen -- caps for accented, how dates work, how does searching work (2 words in same line, graph, page??)
- Gallica
- Recherche: what's in there? How does it work?
- e.g. Recherche libre: gestes theatre --> no term highlighting = I'm lost
- browse by subject
- Dossiers: Voyages en France
- Note: you can find full-text resources in Gallica via the Bibliothèque Nationale's catalog BN-OPALE PLUS. e.g. Recherche Combinée for "Rabelais" (auteur) and "Femmes" (titre) --> 5 hits with 1 "document electronique" --> visualiser
- Recherche: what's in there? How does it work?
- For more links and tips see Bobst Library's "French Literature Primary Text Collections Online"
2. Organizing Your Topic and Preparing for Research
- A. Become More Familiar with your Topic:
- Browse the print reference collection (1st floor): PQ1 to PQ3999
- The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism. Groden, Kreisworth, Szeman eds. Johns Hopkins U. Press. (try a search for "french theater enlightenment" -- find x-refs to article on "rhetoric")
- New Oxford Companion to Literature in French Peter France, ed. Oxford University Press. (try a search for "theater gesture eighteenth" --> article on Rhetoric)
- Note bibliographic suggestions in these reference works.
- B. Break your topic down into its constituent parts -- Identify Key Concepts and Synonyms:
- Paper topic: stage behavior in 18th-century theater
- Concept matrix:
- Theater: theatre, stage, plays, drama, comedy, ...
- behavior: gestures, action, movement, gesticulation, rhetoric,...
- 18th century: 18th, eighteenth, enlightenment, classical, ...
3. Discovering Secondary Sources
- A. Finding Books: Library Catalogs
- Bobcat: Bobst Library's Catalog
subject heading keyword searchs: (note: use drama, not theater) "french drama gesture" "french drama movement" "movement acting france/french" etc.
- Catnyp: New York Public Library Research Branch's Catalog
- Worldcat: (Inter)National Library Catalog
- Bobcat: Bobst Library's Catalog
- B. Finding Articles: Indexes/Databases
- Complete list of indexes/databases NYU Libraries subscribes to: by title & category.
- List of NYU Libraries' databases by subject
- Modern Language Association International Bibliography of Books and Articles
keyword searching: (note: use drama, not theater) "french and drama and laughter" "french and drama and emotion" -- look at subjects of first hit
- Francis -- multilingual and multidisciplinary bibliographic database covering Humanities, Social Sciences, etc.
- Digital Dissertations, 1861-present (many available for free download)
- Other Databases of Interest
- Historical Abstracts
- Film Literature Index
- Sociological Abstracts
- Lexis Nexis: click on "Sources" tab then type your news source into the "Find a Source" search bos on the right.
4. Additional Resources
Jennifer Vinopal, vinopal@nyu.edu
Librarian for Digital Scholarship Initiatives
Subject Specialist |
Jennifer VinopalContact Info:
Librarian for Digital Scholarship Initiatives Digital Studio, 2nd floor, east wing, Bobst Library
Send Email
Subjects:
French Language and Literature, Italian Language and Literature
Librarian for Digital Scholarship Initiatives Digital Studio, 2nd floor, east wing, Bobst Library
Send Email
Subjects:
French Language and Literature, Italian Language and Literature
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait