Bobst Library Resources for Research in French Culture
1. Important Library Resources
- Ask a Librarian Services -- including email, IM, text, and phone reference
- Interlibrary Loan
- NYU's French Literature Subject Guide
- Other NYU Subject Web Pages
- NYU Libraries Subject Librarians
Example Paper Topic: French Language in Canada
2. Break Your Topic Down into its Constituent Parts -- Identify Key Concepts and Synonyms:
- Concept map:
- French Language: dialect, sociolect, idolect, creole, bilingual, French Canadian, Quebec French, Francophone...
- Canada: canadian, quebec, Quebecois, Quebecer, ethnicity, French, Canadien,French Canadian...
- History: 17th, 1600's, descent ...
- other concepts as research progresses (e.g., key authors in the field; key historical events or figures in the field, relevant sub-domains)
3. Become More Familiar with your Topic; Broaden Your Concept Map:
- Wikipedia or other web resource (with all appropriate caveats re. authority) -- Note "see also" references.
- For Literature:
- The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism. Groden, Kreisworth, Szeman eds. Johns Hopkins U. Press.
- New Oxford Companion to Literature in French Peter France, ed. Oxford University Press.
- Note bibliographic suggestions in these reference works.
- Find a dictionary, encyclopedia, or other reference work on your topic:
Bobcat, NYU Libraries' Catalog
- If you are looking for --> Use this Search term in BobCat
- Biographical information --> biography
- Bibliographical information --> bibliography
- Dictionary --> dictionary
- Sample searches in Bobcat:
- Bibliography about the French language: bibliography french
- Biographical information about a person: biography [name]
- History of the French language in Canada: canada french language history
4. Discovering Secondary Sources: Articles
- NYU's Subscription Databases: By Title or By Subject
- Modern Language Association International Bibliography of Books and Articles
- Keyword searching using "AND" between words
- example: french and language and canada (see first hit for better search terms, NYU button--> full text, etc.)
- Francis -- multilingual and multidisciplinary bibliographic database covering Humanities, Social Sciences, etc.
- Historical Abstracts -- world history, covering periodicals dating back to 1954 (covers world history from 1450-present; US and Canada from prehistory to present)
- Digital Dissertations, 1861-present (many available for free download)
- Other Databases of Interest
- Film Literature Index
- Sociological Abstracts
- Lexis Nexis: to search within a particular periodical, click on "Sources" tab (top left) then type your news source into the "Find a Source" search box (top right). In the results list check off the source you want to search (or click "I" for info on what is available), then click on the "OK-Continue" button (middle right). Type your search terms in the center box.
Jennifer Vinopal, vinopal@nyu.edu
Librarian for Digital Scholarship Initiatives
Subject Specialist |
Jennifer VinopalContact Info:
Librarian for Digital Scholarship Initiatives Digital Studio, 2nd floor, east wing, Bobst Library
Send Email
Subjects:
French Language and Literature, Italian Language and Literature
Librarian for Digital Scholarship Initiatives Digital Studio, 2nd floor, east wing, Bobst Library
Send Email
Subjects:
French Language and Literature, Italian Language and Literature
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait