Microform Collections
French Books, Before 1601 and 1601-1700 French Political Pamphlets 1547-1648 Utopies au Siècle des Lumières Sex Research: Early Literature from Statistics to Erotica Fin-de-Siècle Symbolist and Avant-Garde Periodicals: thirty periodicals of the late 19th century, concerned all or in part with symbolism and the avant-garde. This little magazine, founded and edited in Portugal by Eugenio de Castro and Manuel da Silva Gayo, contains French contributions by Verlaine, Kahn, Merrill, Saint-Pol-Roux, and Gourmont. It testifies to the rapid dispersion of French Symbolist themes and forms. Contains poetry by Fontainas, Merrill, Mikhaël, and Quillard, as well as the first of René Ghil's manifestoes. This was the first Belgian magazine to establish links with the French Symbolists. Microform Collections
Location: microfilm, under title L'Art Littéraire
Paris, no. 1-13, Oct. 1892 - Dec. 1893; No. 1-12, 1894.
Founded by Louis Lormel, this magazine includes contributions by Remy de Gourmont, Mallarmé, Jarry, Saint-Pol-Roux, Gide and others. In addition to poetry and articles it contains interesting graphics.
Location: microfilm, under title Arte
Coimbra, Vol. 1 (No. 1-8), Nov. 1895 - June 1896.
See microfilm reel with title: L'art littéraire.
Location: microfilm, under title Basosche
Brussels, Vol. 1-2 (No. 1-16), Nov. 1884 - Apr 1886.
See microfilm reel with title: L'art littéraire.
Location: microfilm, under title Boulevard
Paris, numéro spécimen, Dec. 1, 1861; Vol. 1-2, No. 24, Jan. 5, 1862 - June 14, 1863.
This is, strictly speaking, a pre-Symbolist periodical. It is included in the present list because of its publication of Baudelaire, Leconte de Lisle, and other important precursors of the Symbolist movement. Its pages contain numberous brilliant caricatures and other graphics by Daumier, Bénassit, Bouquet, Pastelot, Regamey, etc. Never popular with the government, its existence was eventually terminated by the official censors.
Location: microfilm, under title Boulevard
Paris, Vol. 1-2, 1896
Founded and edited by Henri Albert in collaboration with Pierre Louÿs and others. This brief but elegant periodical contains important poems and critical essays by Régnier, Gide, Valéry, Herold, and Tinan. It also contains some outstanding graphics by Besnard, Rops, Léandre, Blanche, and others.
Location: microfilm, under title Chat Noir
Paris, Vol. 1-14 (No. 1-688), 1882-1895
Published weekly out of Rodolphe Salis' Artists' Cafe. It contains poetry and other items by Verlaine, Rollinat, Morice, Samain, Dubus, Bloy, Cros, and many others. Whimsical, satiric, and thoroughly fin-de-siecle illustrations also appear in its pages.
Location: microfilm, under title Chimère
Paris, Vol. 1-2 (No. 1-16), Aug. 1891 - June 1893.
Published by Paul Redonnel out of Montpellier. This little magazine has the added interest of containing the poetry of writers from the south of France as well as many contributions by Parisian poets.
Location: microfilm, under title Chimère
Paris, No. 1-11, 1891 - 1892
This magazine is particularly noteworthy for the early poems of Louÿs, Gide, and, especially, Valéry. It also contains contributions by Régnier, Léon Blum, and the "décadent" Swinburne.
Location: microfilm, under title Chimère
Brussels, Vol. 1-3, No. 1, May 1895 - June 1897
Includes contributions from Viélé-Griffin, Gourmont, Gide, Ghéon, Kahn, and Jammes, as well as from Belgian authors. It was originally founded as a protest against La Jenue Belgique, which, in its opinion, had already become reactionary.
Location: microfilm, under title Chimère
Paris, Vol. 1, 1905
Founded and edited by Jean Rogère, this little magazine consciously adopted the same name as Ghil's 1887-92 journal. Ghil himself contributed to this latter day Ecrits, along with Pelletier, Nau, Dantinne, Fayolle, and Randau. The journal is also distinguished for its publication of translations of Russian Symbolists such as Bal'mont.
Location: microfilm, under title Entretiens Politiques et Littéraires
Paris, No. 1-57, Mar. 1, 1890 - Dec. 25, 1893
Founded by Henri de Régnier, Paul Adam, Georges Vanor, Bernard Lazare, and F. Viélé-Griffin. It also includes contributions by Quillard, Gide, Mallarmé, Saint-Pol-Roux. Lecomte, and Malo. During its brief life, it served as the crossroads for a wide variety of French literary and political currents, though the Symbolist influence was strongest.
Location: microfilm, under title Ermitage
Paris, Vol. 1-35, Apr. 1890-1906
Along with La Plume, Mercure de France, and La Revue Blanche, this was one of the four main organs of the Symbolist movement. Like its peers it devoted space to historical, philosophical, and sociological topics as well as poetry, literary essays and reviews, and theatrical and fine arts articles. Founded by Henri Mazel, it was later edited by Stuart Merrill, Louis le Cardonnel, and Hughes Rebell. Some other contributors include Tailhade, Viélé-Griffin, Maurras, Régnier, and Rambosson.
Location: microfilm, under title Ibis
Paris. No. 1-4, 1894
One of the brief but bright ephemera that were springing up all over the Symbolist movement. This one was founded by Degron and Klingsor, and it contains poetry by Viélé-Griffin, Retté, Gérardy, Régnier, Dierx, Signoret, and others.
Location: microfilm, under title Jeune Revue Littéraire
Brussels, Vol 1, 1880
This was the immediate predecessor of La Jeune Belgiqueand includes contributions by Hymans, Gros, Grésil, Berlier, and Albert Orth.
Location: microfilm, under title Jeune Belgique
Brussels, Vol. 1-17, 1881 - Dec 25, 1897.
Superseded La Jeune Revue Littéraire. This magazine functioned as both a positive and a negative force in Symbolism. It was founded by Max Waller, and after 1889, when Verhaeren became associated with it, the French Symbolists began appearing regularly in its pages. But subsequent to 1894 it began conducting as anti-free verse campaign, thus inspiring the counter-attacks in Le Coq Rouge.
Location: microfilm, under title Jeune France
Paris, Vol 1-7, May 1, 1878 - Dec 1884.
This periodicals subsequently merged into La Revue Indépendante but it had a very distinguished life of its own. It was founded by Albert Allenet and included on editorial board Jules Claretie and Alphones Daudet. Among its other contributors were Barrès, Dierx, Rollinat, Junes Romain, and Anatole France.
Location: microfilm, under title Mercure de France
Paris, Vol. 1-354, 1890 - 1965
Founded by Alfred Vallette to succeed La Pléiade, Mercure de France is far and away the most important periodical of the Symbolist movement. It outlasted Symbolism as well as a myriad other subsequent literary, artistic, political, etc., currents. During its seventy-five year existence Mercure was one of the single most important French intellectual and artistic journals. Its entire run is re-published here. The indexes for each year's issues of the Mercure have been consolidated in a single film sequence as well as being filmed in their original place.
Location: microfilm, under title Parnasse Contemporain
Paris, série 1-3, 1866 - 1876
Though this journal formally preceded the Symbolist movement, its pages were an outlet for early Mallarmé as well as for pre- and proto-Symbolist poets such as Baudelaire, Dierx, Hérédia, and Leconte de Lisle.
Location: microfilm, under title Parnasse Contemporain
Paris, Vol. 1 (No. 1-7), Mar. 1886 - Nov. 1886; 1-2, 1889 - 1890
Founded by Rodolphe Darzens, La Pléiade had among its contributors Ephraim Mikhael, Saint-Pol-Roux, P. Quillard, René Ghil, Maeterlinck, van Lerberghe, and others. The later series included work by Brinn Gaubast, Tailhade, Rachilde, Barrès, Aurier, Dubus, and Dumur. It was La Pléiade that was the immediate predecessor of Mercure de France.
Location: microfilm, under title Plume
Paris, Vol 1-25, Apr. 15, 1889 - July 1913.
One of the most important journals of the period, probably second in importance to Mercure de France. It was founded by Deschamps and included contributions from all the various literary currents afoot: Symbolism, Decadentism, Occultism, Regionalism, etc. It contains many special issues on such figures as Moréas, Baudelaire, Verlaine, and such schools as the Félibres, the Décadents, and the Occultists. Also included are many graphics and plates.
Location: microfilm, under title Reveil
Bruxelles, Vol. 1-6, 1891 - 96
This journal became important for French literary movements beginning in 1892. It contains contributions by Souchon, Viélé-Griffin, Klingsor, Régnier, and Herold.
Location: microfilm, under title Revue Blanche
Paris, Vol. 1-30, Oct. 1891 - Apr. 14, 1903
Founded by Alexandre Natanson, this magazine was, along with L'Ermitage, Mercure de France, and La Plume, one of the most important journals of the nineties. Like them it was devoted to much more than Symbolism or even literature. It was a fully general review of all the arts and related intellectual currents. Mallarmé, Viélé-Griffin, Gourmont, Kahn, Blum, Bernard, Mauclair, and Dujardin are among its contributors. For a time Debussy wrote its musical reviews. Like La Plume it contains many interesting graphics, some being lithographs by Toulouse-Lautrec and others.
Location: microfilm, under title Revue d'Aujourd'hui
Paris, Vol. 1-2, (No. 1-15), Jan. - Sept. 1890
Tola Dorian edited this journal in collaboration with Darzens. Two of the high points of its brief existence were Mallarmé's essay "Villiers de l'Isle Adam," and Villiers de l'Isle Adam's own piece. "Amour Sublime."
Location: microfilm, under title Revue Indépendante de Littérature et d'Art
Paris, Vol. 1-2, May 1884 - Apr. 1885; Series 2 Vol. 1, May 1885; Series 3 Vol. 1-26 (No. 1-797), Nov 1886 - Sept. 1895.
Founded by Fénéon, this magazine was one of the critical outlets of Mallarmé's group, though it contains items by other Symbolists and non-Symbolists. Some of its contributors are Villiers de l'Isle-Adam, Barrès, Bourges, Péladan, Vignier, Ghil, Laforgue, Moréas, and Wyzewa.
Location: microfilm, under title Revue Naturiste
Paris, Vol. 1-2, 1897 - 1898
As its title indicates this journal was an organ for Naturism. Among its contributors were Boubélier, Montfort, Le Blond, Viollis, and Fleury.
Location: microfilm, under title Revue naturiste
Paris, Vol. 1-3, 1885 - 1888
This magazine testifies throughout its pages to the enormous influence of Wagner in the arts other than music during the second half of the nineteenth century. The Symbolists were especially interested in Wagner's attempt to synthesize music and poetic drama and they contributed eagerly to the pages of the Revue. Included are poems and articles by Mallarmé, Ghil, Merrill, Vignier, Dujardin, Verlaine, and Teodor de Wyzewa.
Location: microfilm, under title Revue naturiste
Paris, Vol. 1-2, Dec. 1, 1885 - Aug. 16, 1886; Series 2, Nos. 1-9, Sept. 1, 1886 - Dec 31, 1886
This was one of Alfred Vallette's early outlets. It also includes poems and essays by Mallarmé, Verlaine, Tailhade, Rachilde, Renard, Samain, Dubus, Lorrain, Le Cardonnel, and Ghil. From its contributors, it might be regarded as the grandfather of Mercure de France with La Pléiade being the father.
Location: microfilm, under title Société Nouvelle
Brussels, etc., Vol. 1-53, No. 1, 1884 - July/Sept. 1914
Founded and first edited by Fernand Brouez, this journal was one of the major fixtures in Belgian literary and cultural circles. It crossed paths with Symbolism particularly during the years 1892 - 1895, when contributions by Gustave Kahn, Régnier, Saint-Pol-Roux, and Viélé-Griffin frequently marked its pages. Like Mercure de France, its scope was much broader than literature alone, as its sub-title testifies. Its pages included some of the early French translations of Nietzsche.
Location: microfilm, under title Taches d'Encre
Paris, Nos. 1-4, Nov. 5, 1884 - Feb. 1885
This was Maurice Barrès's own private journal. It is most important for its essay on Baudelaire in which the emerging Symbolist poetry was discussed under the rubric of "décadent."
Location: microfilm, under title Vogue
Paris, Vol. 1-3, 1886 - 1887; Jan. 1899 - May 1901
This magazine was first published by Leo d'Orfer and Gustave Kahn. It is especially important for its publication of Rimbaud. Also included are items by Laforgue, Mallarmé, Kahn, Vignier, Verlaine, Ghil, and, from the later period, Klingsor, Merrill, Pilon, Fleury, Verhaeren, Jammes, and Gasquet.
Online Collections
Click here for NYU's Online Full Text Italian Literature Collections
Other Resources
Evaluating quality
How to Discover Full-Text Collections
Examples:
Examples:
rassemble depuis 1995 une vaste webliothèque des ressources francophones liées. Les soixante-dix-neuf pages du site mènent à des millions de pages de textes littéraires, des centaines de cours et leçons complètes en langue française, des dictionnaires, et des milliards d'activités de grammaire.
ClicNet édite ou localise des ressources virtuelles en français pour les étudiants, les enseignants de français langue étrangère (FLE) ou langue seconde (FLS), et tous ceux qui s'intéressent aux cultures, aux arts et aux littératures francophones. Situé à l'Université de Swarthmore (Pennsylvanie, USA), ClicNet est réalisé par Carole Netter.
Primary Text Collections on the Web
The Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language (ARTFL) is a cooperative enterprise of Analyse et Traitement Informatique de la Langue Française (ATILF) of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS), the Division of the Humanities, the Division of the Social Sciences, and Electronic Text Services (ETS) of the University of Chicago.
(Note: NYU does not subscribe to all of the resources listed)
(Note: See subcategory "Other Text Sources" for pointers to free online e-texts)
Ces textes sont produits et diffusés par les membres bénévoles de l' Association des Bibliophiles Universels.
L'association a pour objet le développement et la promotion des supports numériques permettant la libre manipulation de l'information, l'application de ces techniques à la diffusion des travaux de recherche des membres et d'informations du domaine public.
Subject Specialist |
Jennifer VinopalLibrarian for Digital Scholarship Initiatives Digital Studio, 2nd floor, east wing, Bobst Library
Send Email
Subjects:
French Language and Literature, Italian Language and Literature
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait