Bobst Library Resources for Research in French CultureBobst Library Resources for the Study of French Literature
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

French Language and Literature 

Last update: Sep 18th, 2009 URL: http://nyu.libguides.com/FrenchLit  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Search Books and Articles             Print Page
  
 

Bobcat Tips

Use BobCat to find books and journals in Bobst Library, the Courant Math & Science Library, the Real Estate Library, as well as the libraries of the New School, Cooper Union, and Parsons School of Design.

You can combine search terms in BobCat. For example:

  • To find a biography of Madame de Sévigné use the subject terms: "biography" and "Sevigne."
  • To find criticism on Georges Bataille's writing use the subject terms: "bataille" and "criticism"
  • To find a dictionary of a creole dialect of French, use the terms: "dictionaries" and "creole"

 

If you are looking for: Use this Search term in BobCat:
Biographical information biography
Bibliographical information bibliography
A Dictionary dictionary
Catalogs catalogs
Journals periodicals
Theater/play information drama
Critical or secondary material criticism
Archival or Manuscript information manuscripts

 

 
 

Search BobCat

Search here for books, journals and other print materials, videos, sound recordings, e-books, e-journals, databases, and indexes in our local libraries and special collections.

 

Finding Criticism

French Language and Literature. An Annotated Bibliography. Bassan, Fernande, et al. New York: Garland, 1989. 
Bobst REF1 Z2175.A2 B39 1989
While somewhat out of date, this work lists basic book resources for starting research in French literature.

Year's Work in Modern Language Studies. London: Modern Humanities Research Association. Published annually.
Bobst REF1 PB1.Y45
Yearly publication offering long essays summarizing the year's scholarship in each modern language. There is a substantial section on French literature. An excellent way to keep current on publishing in your area.

MLA International Bibliography. New York: MLA. Published anually.
Indexes journal articles (except book reviews), books, collections and festschriften, conference papers, etc. on literature, language, linguistics, folklore and film. Updated quarterly (can lag up to two years).

Bibliographie der Französischen Literaturwissenschaft: Bibliographie d'Histoire Littéraire Française. Klapp, Otto, ed. Frankfurt: Klostermann, 1956- present. Annual.
Bobst REF1 Z2171.K55
Extensive coverage of mostly European journals; serves as a complement to the MLA Bibliography. Printed annually; arranged by century. Good coverage of criticism on Francophone literature; arranged by region.

International Medieval Bibliography. Leeds: University of Leeds Press, 1967- present. 2 no/year.
Print Bibliography: Bobst REF1 Z6203.I63 (Latest volume only; previous volumes offsite)
Covers European Middle Ages (ca. 450-1500), includes over 4,000 periodicals and 5,000 miscellaneous volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections and Festschriften.). Does not cover monographs or short reviews. The print IMB contains some information that will not appear on disk (e.g. annotations).

French 17. Colorado State U: Seventeenth Century French Division of the MLA. 1978-present.
Bobst REF1 Z2172.M6
An annual descriptive bibliography of French 17th-century studies

French XX bibliography. New York, French Institute-Alliance Francaise, 1969- present. Annual.
Bobst REF1 Z2171.A45
Index of secondary material on French literature since 1885.

 

Subject Specialist

Profile ImageJennifer Vinopal
Contact Info:
Librarian for Digital Scholarship Initiatives Digital Studio, 2nd floor, east wing, Bobst Library
Send Email

Subjects:
French Language and Literature, Italian Language and Literature

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait