Search Tips
Tips for Searching Web of Science (WOS):
- WOS works by linking articles through their bibliographies. So, if you can only find one or two good articles on your topic in another database (like PubMed), try looking those articles up in WOS. You'll likely find several other articles just by following WOS's bibliography trail.
- WOS has tools that will allow you to get the "lay of the land" for your topic of interest. Just run a search on your topic and then use the "analyze" feature on the right side of your results screen. You can see which scientists publish most on your topic, which institutions have done the most research on the topic, and which years saw the most published research on your topic.
Databases
- CINAHL Plus (1982-present) Allied health literature covers topics in nutrition as it relates to health and disease. Among the subject areas of interest are nutrition education, nutrition assessment, food habits, food poisoning and food services. Use the CINAHL Subject Headings to identify useful search terms. (Print counterpart: Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature, 1956-present, REF9 Z6675.N7 C8)
- Global Health This database cover the following aspects of human health and disease: Communicable diseases, tropical diseases, parasitic diseases, human nutrition, community and public health, medicinal and poisonous plants.
- Health and Wellness Resource Center (last 4 years +current year) Integrates the full text and images of respected nursing, allied health, and medical journals; consumer health magazines; newsletters; pamphlets; newspaper articles; topical overviews; and reference books into an easy-to-use database. Approximately 195 periodicals are indexed and full text is provided for more than 125 (including 40 nursing and allied health journals). Selective indexing for articles in approximately 1500 additional general interest titles is included.
Subject Librarian |
Kara Whatley, Life Sciences LibrarianContact Info:
Office: Bobst Library Room 936
Phone: 212-998-2624
Send Email
Subjects:
Biology, Neuroscience, Nutrition, Environmental Science, Public Health
Office: Bobst Library Room 936
Phone: 212-998-2624
Send Email
Subjects:
Biology, Neuroscience, Nutrition, Environmental Science, Public Health
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait