FOOD and NUTRITIONFOOD TECHNOLOGYHEALTH and DISEASE ASPECTS
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Nutrition and Food Sciences 

Library resources for nutrition and food sciences information.
Last update: Sep 21st, 2009 URL: http://nyu.libguides.com/nutrition  Print Guide  RSS Updates

FOOD and NUTRITION             Print Page
  
 

Search Tips

Tips for Searching Web of Science (WOS):

  • WOS works by linking articles through their bibliographies.  So, if you can only find one or two good articles on your topic in another database (like PubMed), try looking those articles up in WOS.  You'll likely find several other articles just by following WOS's bibliography trail.

  • WOS has tools that will allow you to get the "lay of the land" for your topic of interest.  Just run a search on your topic and then use the "analyze" feature on the right side of your results screen.  You can see which scientists publish most on your topic, which institutions have done the most research on the topic, and which years saw the most published research on your topic.

 

 

Databases

  • Agricola (1970-present)  
    Citations and abstracts of literature relating to agriculture, food and nutrition, food service management, natural resources and pollution, consumer protection and home economics.
  • Biological Abstracts (1986-present)  
    World's largest index for the life sciences. Citations and abstracts of documents provide coverage of human nutrition and foods, including both basic and applied food science and technology. Subject coverage includes food preparation, irradiation, nutrition, biochemistry, genetic engineering, microbiology and toxicology. (Print counterpart: Biological Abstracts, 1926-2000, REF9 Index QH301.B45)
  • Biological and Agricultural Index (1983-present)  
    Indexes the key international English-language periodicals in the biological and agricultural sciences, and includes extensive coverage of nutrition and food.
  • Web of Science (aka Science Citation Index) (1900-present)  
    The Web of Science covers more than 5,700 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines including agriculture, food technology, biology, medicine, biomedical sciences, among others. The index features searching by person, place, or topic, as well as cited reference searching. All citation indexes (science, social sciences, and humanities) may be searched simultaneously online. (Print counterpart: Science Citation Index, 1964-1997, REF9 Index Z7401.S365)
 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImageKara Whatley, Life Sciences Librarian


Contact Info:
Office: Bobst Library Room 936
Phone: 212-998-2624
Send Email

Subjects:
Biology, Neuroscience, Nutrition, Environmental Science, Public Health

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait