Science, Health, and Technology Call Numbers
QP141-185 - Physiology of Nutrition
QP533 - Physiology of Mineral Metabolism
QP771-772 - Physiology of Vitamin Metabolism
RA601-602 - Food and Food Supply in Relation to Public Health
RC620-627 - Nutritional Diseases, Deficiency Diseases
RM214-259 - Diet and Vitamin Therapy, Diet and Dietetics in Disease, Dietary Cookbooks
SB170-317 - Agricultural Crops
TP368-456 - Food Processing and Manufacture
TP480-498 - Refrigeration
TP500-660 - Manufacture of Beverages, including Alcohol
TX341-641 - Nutrition, Food and Food Supply
TX643-840 - Cookery, Cookbooks
TX901-953 - Food Service
Guides, Handbooks and Source Books
Bender, David A. and Arnold E. Bender. Nutrition: A Reference Handbook. New York : Oxford University Press, 1997.
Bobst REF9 TX353.B45 1997
U.S. Federal Register Office. Code of Federal Regulations. Washington, DC:GPO. Latest edition.
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/cfr/index.html
For food legislation, regulations and standards. Titles of interest;
"Agriculture"; "Animals and Animal Products"; "Food and Drugs".
U.S. Department of Agriculture, Human Nutrition Information Service. Composition of Foods: raw, processed, prepared. Series, USDA Agriculture Handbook 8. Washington, DC: Government Printing Office.
Bobst TX551 .C74
Twenty-one volumes providing basic reference food composition tables
used in the U.S.; includes nutrient content values for minerals,
vitamins, amino acids, protein, water, fat, carbohydrates, etc.
Data Sourcebook for Food Scientists and Technologists. Hui, Y.H., ed. New York: VCH, 1991.
Bobst REF9 TX531.D37 1991
Provides chemical and biological data, data on types of food, safety laws and regulations. Subject index.
Hands, E.S. Nutrients in Food. Philadelphia: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, c2000
Bobst REF9 TX551 .H274 2000
National Research Council. Food Chemicals Codex. 5th ed. Washington, DC: National Academy of Sciences, 1996.Bobst REF9 TP455 .F66
Compendium of information which includes standards, specifications, and
tests for food additives. Subject index; classified list of major use
of each chemical in foods.
Rucker, R.B. Handbook of Vitamins. 3rd ed. New York: M. Dekker, 2001.
Bobst REF9 QP771.H35 2001
Each vitamin discussed in depth; chapters include history, biochemical
functions, metabolism, nutritional requirements and deficiency
symptoms. Extensive bibliographies for each substance.
U.S. National Research Council. Recommended Dietary Allowances. 10th edition. Washington, DC: National Academy Press, 1989.
Bobst REF9 TX551.N39
Also available online: http://www.nap.edu/books/0309046335/html/
Standard source of nutritional requirements for people of all ages;
gives function of each nutrient in humans, effects of deficiencies, and
excessive intakes.
Directories
Frank, R.C. Directory of Food and Nutrition Information for Professionals and Consumers. 2nd ed. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 1992.
Bobst REF9 TX353.D56 1992
Coverage includes nutrition education, food science, food service management, applied nutrition.
Food Processing. Chicago: Putnam Publishing Co., 1978 to date.
Bobst TP373.F55
A supplement to the journal Food Processing, the publication is an
annual guide and directory to food processing ingredients, equipment
and supplies.
Thomas Food Industry Register. New York: Thomas Publishing Co. 1990-
Bobst REF6 HD9321.3.T6
Three volume set with profiles of over 40,000 U.S./Canadian food industry companies.
Subject Librarian |
Kara Whatley, Life Sciences LibrarianOffice: Bobst Library Room 936
Phone: 212-998-2624
Send Email
Subjects:
Biology, Neuroscience, Nutrition, Environmental Science, Public Health
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait