FOOD and NUTRITIONFOOD TECHNOLOGYHEALTH and DISEASE ASPECTS
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Nutrition and Food Sciences 

Library resources for nutrition and food sciences information.
Last update: Sep 21st, 2009 URL: http://nyu.libguides.com/nutrition  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Dictionairies and Encyclopedias             Print Page
  
 

Why use reference works?

These resources can help you get an overview of a topic; define terms, theories, and persons in the field; and provide you with further readings on each subject. Using a reference resource in your research is especially useful at the beginning of a project, when it can help you focus your activities.

 
 

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Bender, A.E. Benders' Dictionary of Nutrition and Food Technology. Boca Raton: CRC Press, 1999. http://www.knovel.com/knovel2/Toc.jsp?BookID=163
Bobst REF9 TX349.B4 1999
Definitions of terms in biochemistry, microbiology, food technology, agriculture, nutrition and medicine. Bibliography included.

Drummond, K.E. Dictionary of Nutrition and Dietetics. New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, c1996.
Bobst REF9 TX349 .D78 1996
Definitions of terms in nutrition and dietetics.

Encyclopedia of food sciences and nutrition. 2nd edition. Boston : Academic Press c2003.
NYU Bobst REF9 TX349 .E47 2003
Ten volume set which covers the physics and chemistry of food; food production and processing techniques; quality and control and legislation; biotechnology in the food industry; role of nutrition in health and disease and the physiological and biochemical aspects of nutrition. Bibliographies; subject index. Bobst Web http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/referenceworks/012227055X

Encyclopedia of Human Biology. 2nd edition. New York: Academic Press, 1997.
Bobst REF9 QP11.E53 1997
Eight volume set written by authorities in their field; coverage includes food, nutrition, diet, eating, and nutrients. Articles include an introductory glossary and bibliography; subject index and an index of related titles which bring together articles about closely related subjects.

Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition. San Diego: Academic Press, 1999.
Bobst REF9 QP141.E526 1999
Comprehensive three volume set covering everything from the chemistry of the human body, to the nutritional aspects of catering. Contains bibliographic references and index.

Foods and Food Production Encyclopedia. New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1982.
Bobst REF9 TX349.F58
Excellent source for information on the manufacture and production of a wide variety of foods.

Foods & Nutrition Encyclopedia. 2nd Edition. Boca Raton: CRC Press, 1994.
Bobst REF9 TX349 .F575 1994

Encyclopedia of Food Science and Technology. 2nd edition. New York: Wiley, 2000. 4 vols.
NYU Bobst TP368.2 .E62 2000

Gall, T.L., ed. Consumer's Guide to Product Grades and Terms. Detroit: Gale Research, 1993.
Bobst REF9 TX335.C669 1993
"From Grade A to VSOP"; definitions of over 8,000 terms describing food, housewares, and other everyday items.

 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImageKara Whatley, Life Sciences Librarian


Contact Info:
Office: Bobst Library Room 936
Phone: 212-998-2624
Send Email

Subjects:
Biology, Neuroscience, Nutrition, Environmental Science, Public Health

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait