For Spain there is a vigorous field of cultural studies research that I cannot find any equivalen for in Portugal. Please let me me know if I missed anything.
- Journal of Spanish cultural studies
Call Number: DP1 .J68
ISBN/ISSN: 1463-6204
This link takes you to the journal's electronic editions. If you are off campus you will be asked to authenticate.
Spanish Cultural Studies: An Introduction: The Struggle for Modernity - Helen Graham & Jo Labanyi
Call Number: DP233.5 .S7 1995
ISBN/ISSN: 0198151993
The surprise best seller (I ordered it right away and it was sold out for us poor people overseas, had to get the second printing).
Contemporary Spanish Cultural Studies - Barry Jordan and Rikki Morgan-Tamosunas
Call Number: DP48 .C668 2000
ISBN/ISSN: 0340731214
Encyclopedias
- Gran enciclopedia Rialp: GER
Call Number: AE61 .G72 1989 / Non-Circulating
ISBN/ISSN: 843219011X
In Reference, a 25 volume encyclopedia with substantial articles, with brief bibliographies, emphasizing current geographical, political, and biographical information. - Grande enciclopédia portuguesa e brasileira: actualização
Call Number: AE 37.G7 1981 / Non-circulating
In Reference,
A dictionary-encyclopedia treating in one alphabet: Portuguese words, including technical terms and modern slang; biographies, including living persons; and encyclopedic articles on the history and culture of Portugal, national institutions, flora, fauna, geography, etc. - Enciclopedia universal ilustrada europeo-americana
Call Number: AE61 .E6 / Non-circulating
In reference, A general encyclopedia particularly useful for its articles, bibliographies, illustrations, biography and gazetteer information.
Journal Literature
To find articles in the journal literature, check the tabs in this guide by subject. Remember that the way these indices work is to index journals in a broadly defined field so that there will be overlap. Do not limit yourself to one disciplinary area because cultural studies crosses these [artificial] boundaries. If you are writing about a major literary figure such as Federico García Lorca, he was also involved in the period so there will also be articles about him in Historical Abstracts and elsewhere. Cinema is especially transgressive of disciplinary boundaries, so you should also checkfor material on film makers and films in almost every humanities and social science dscipline.
Subject Headings
To find books in the catalog you can search for various elements of the book such as author or title. You can also search by subject but you need to use the Library of Congress subject heading (abbreviated as LCSH). The easiest way to find the official subject headings for a topic is to search for a book on that topic in the catalogue and then look at the subjects. But Spanish Cultural Studies proses another type of problem. "Cultural Studies" is not a single subject for the Library of Congress. So for the works with the titles word Spanish Cultural Studies the subjects are very broad:
Portugal--Politics and Government
Spain--Politics and Government
There is no official subject heading "Portugal--Popular Culture"
LSCH Sub-headings
Some suggested sub-headinsg to add to LCSH terms are below:
- Bibliography
- Congresses
- Criticism and interpretation
- Exhibitions
- Sources
- Statistics
Biographical Information
Subject Librarian |
Andrew H. LeeLibrarian for History, European Studies, Iberian Studies, Soccer & Politics
Office directions: on the Bobst Mezzanine. West 3rd Street side, I am in room 1M-04B, the next to last going west, and my name is on the door.
(212) 998-2633
Send Email
Subjects:
European Studies, History, Iberian Studies, Politics & Soccer
E-Books
- The Cambridge Companion to Modern Spanish Culture Online access to this title is available
- The Cambridge Companion to the Spanish Novel
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait