Citing and Evaluating Your Information
Public Policy Searching
General Policy guide
This particular guide has been created for the Wagner Graduate School of Public Service
The guide below has been prepared for Social Work students by the Wagner librarian. Many thanks!!
General Policy Databases
- CQ Researcher CQ Researcher is often the first source that librarians recommend when researchers are seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on policy issues in the news.
- PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) PAIS publishes bibliographic indexes with abstracts to the public policy literature in journal articles, books, and government documents.
- ProQuest (only the "Research Library"--scroll about halfway down)
Proquest is a general interest database covering a wide range of subjects. The "Research Library" concentrates on academic materials.
Congressional Policy Databases
- CQ Public Affairs Collection Features in-depth reporting on vital issues, statistical and historical analyses, historic documents and primary source materials, as well as a directory of key government, nonprofit, and private organizations in each of the major policy areas.
- LexisNexis Government Periodicals Universe Use this database to find congressional materials by searching abstracts, titles, indexing information and other bibliographic data.
- Congressional Research Service Reports CRS is the public policy research arm of Congress.This site aims to provide integrated, searchable access to many of the full-text CRS reports that have been available at a variety of different Web sites since 1990.
- GAO Reports Search The U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) is an independent, nonpartisan agency that works for Congress. Often called the "congressional watchdog," GAO investigates how the federal government spends taxpayer dollars.
Specialized Policy Databases
- Legislative Histories (via LexisNexis)
- Child Welfare Policy Resources
- Aging Policy Resources [PDF]
- National Association for Welfare Research and Statistics The National Association for Welfare Research and Statistics is a nonprofit association whose purpose is to exchange ideas for the advancement of research and statistics in the field of public welfare.
- CWLA National Data Analysis System The CWLA National Data Analysis System (NDAS) is the most comprehensive collection of child welfare and related data in the country. It has been in existence since 1999, covering a wide array of topics that reflect services to children and families.
Social Science Data Archives
- ICPSR's List of Other Data Sites
- CISER's Guide to Internet Data Resources for Social Scientists
- Council of European Social Science Data Archives (CESSDA)
- Northwestern University
- University of Toronto's Guide to Primary Social Science Research Data and Related Resources Available on the Internet
- University of California at San Diego's Guide to Internet Sites of Numeric Social Science Statistical Data, Data Catalogs, Data Libraries, and Social Science Gateways
- Craig Mckie's Guide to Social Science Data Archives
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait