Citing and Evaluating Your Information
Psychological Tests in databases
Because most test makers and publishers restrict access to their tests to qualified professionals, Bobst Library does not collect test instruments on a systematic basis. The Bobst Library Humanities and Social Science Research Center (1st floor) does however, have a selection of unpublished tests in microfiche from the Educational Testing Service's Tests in Microfiche series. Annotated indexes to the tests are available at the 6th floor Reference Desk. Another source of actual test instruments is Kevin Corcoran and Joel Fischer's Measures for Clinical Practice: a Sourcebook, 4th edition (New York: Free Press, 2007), 2 volumes.
Located at Ref1 BF176.C66 2007.
The following sources provide information about particular test instruments.
- Finding Psychological and Educational Testing Instruments (Penn State)
- Handbook of Psychiatric Measures. Washington, D.C.: American Psychiatric Association, 2000.
Ref1 RC473.P78 A46 2000
Provides descriptions and evaluations of numerous psychiatric instruments. - Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI), 1985 to present. Provides citations related to both commercial and unpublished test instruments from a variety of fields.
(NYU students, faculty and staff only) - Mental Measurements Yearbook, 1989 to present. Lincoln, NE.: Buros Institute of Mental Measurements, University of Nebraska-Lincoln. 1940 to present. Provides original reviews of and citations to articles about many commercially available educational, psychological, and vocational tests.
Ref1 Z5814.P8 R93 (latest edition at Bobst Ref1 Desk)
(NYU students, faculty and staff only) - Test Critiques, Austin, TX.: Pro-ed, 1984-1994, 10 volumes. Provides reviews and critiques of test instruments.
Ref1 BF176.T419 1984 - Tests: A Comprehensive Reference for Assessments in Psychology, Education, and Business, 5th edition. Austin, TX.: Pro-ed, 2003. A quick reference to identify test instruments.
Ref1 BF176.T43 2003 - Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences (University of Texas, Helen Hough)
A compilation of tests and measures found in books and journals. - Tests in Print V, Lincoln, NE.: Buros Institute of Mental Measurements, 1999. 2 volumes. Index to contents of Mental Measurements Yearbookfrom 1940 to 1999.
Ref1 Z5814.E9 T47 1999
Psychological tests in books
- Comprehensive handbook of psychological assessment • 4-volume set covers intellectual and neuropsychological assessment, personality assessment, behavioral assessment, industrial and organizational assessment
• introduction to general topic, followed by articles on specific aspects of testing in that area, as well as on particular tests - Gender roles : a handbook of tests and measures • Provides information on scales of gender roles, children and gender, gender stereotypes, marital and parental roles, employee roles, multiple roles, and attitudes toward gender roles
• Provides title, authors, date, measured variable(s), instrument type, description, sample items, previous subject pools, appropriate use, administration, scoring, development, reliability, validity, articles on scale, other studies scales was used in, bibliography, and availability of tests. - Handbook of psychological and educational assessment of children : personality, behavior, and context : Psychological tests for children ; Achievement tests ; Personality Assessment -- Infant ; Personality Assessment -- Child ; Educational Measurement -- Infant ; Educational Measurement -- Child ; Psychological Tests -- Infant ; Psychological Tests -- Child ; Psychological Tests -- methods ;
- Handbook of research design & social measurement • Covers all aspects of research designs
• Section 7 includes actual scales or information on available scales for social variables including social status, group structures, social indicators, organizational structures community and social participation, leadership, morality, job satisfaction, attitudes, values, family, marriage, and personality - Measures for clinical practice and research : a sourcebook 4th edition -2007
• Provides description, purpose, administration, scoring, norms, reliability, validity, and primary references
• Includes actual tests for adults, children, couples, families. - Measures for psychological assessment : a guide to 3,000 original sources and their applications Covers mental health and related concepts
• Provides citations to works where tests were originally described and to other works where test(s) were used
• Author, Descriptor, and ' Supplement to the Descriptor' indexes are IN FRONT of book, pp. 1-56 - Sex and gender issues : a handbook of tests and measures Description, administration/scoring, populations, reliability and validity, references and availability of 197 scales on heterosexual relations, sexuality, contraception and abortion, pregnancy and childbirth, somatic issues, homosexuality, rape and sexual coercion, family violence, body image and appearance, and eating disorders
- Women and women's issues : a handbook of tests and measures • Description, populations, administration, sample items, scoring, reliability, versions, and references, availability, including citation to article that contains test for 235 tests/measures
• Covers sex roles, sex stereotypes, sex role prescriptions, children's sex roles, gender knowledge, marital and parental roles, employee roles, multiple roles, attitudes toward women's issues, somatic and sexual issues and more - What about journal articles? Authors will sometimes append a test that they have constructed to their article. To find such tests, a good strategy is to include the term ‘appended’ in your search. For example, school phobia AND appended. Sometimes, the items (not exact form), administration and scoring are included within the article itself, but there is no search strategy that can identify these precisely – it’s hit or miss.
- What about the web? • Anyone can publish anything on the web, true or not true, accurate or not. In addition, if someone has posted a published test without the permission of the copyright holder, they are violating copyright.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait