DictionariesDirectoriesEncyclopediasGuides and ManualsHandbooks
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Social Work 

This guide presents a selection of basic sources of information in the field of social work which are available at Bobst Library or accessible on the Web.
Last update: Nov 11th, 2009 URL: http://nyu.libguides.com/socialwork  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Databases/Indexes             Print Page
  

Content

An Index is a reference tool that helps you find articles in journals related to your topic of interest. Usually you look in an index by subject or keyword to find the citations of relevant articles. Once you have found the citation, the next step is to check the journal title (not the article title) in BobCat, Bobst Library's Catalog, to see if our library subscribes to the journal. For more information about finding journal articles or books at Bobst, please consult the NYU Library Tutorial Webpage

The electronic resources listed below are accessible by NYU students, faculty and staff only.

  • Ageline  
    1978-present. Produced by the American Association of Retired Persons, Ageline provides bibliographic coverage of social gerontology.
  • AIDSearch  
    1980 to present. Produced by the National Library of Medicine,Aidsline provides citations to published literature in the medical and social and behavioral sciences on HIV infections and acquired immune deficiency syndrome.
  • Child Development Abstracts & Bibliography  
    1927-2001. Provides abstracts from professional journals and book reviews related to the growth and development of children.
    Ref1 HQ750.A1 N3
  • CINAHL Plus  
    1937 to present. Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Professions.
  • Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works  
    a searchable collection containing real transcripts of therapy and counseling sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and its treatment, as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material.
  • Counseling and Therapy in Video  
    a landmark collection in the Alexander Street Press Critical Video Editions™ series, containing more than 300 hours of training videos, reenactments, and footage of actual therapy sessions conducted by renowned psychiatrists, psychologists, and social workers. The videos are designed for training and continuing education, providing an invaluable firsthand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice.
  • Criminal Justice Abstracts  
    1968-present. Crime trends, crime prevention, punishment and sentencing.
  • ERIC  
    1966 to present. Provides citations to educational materials indexed by the U.S. Department of Education's Educational Resources Information Center.
  • GenderWatch  
    1970 to present. Contains full-text online articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines and government reports on gender related issues.
  • LGBT Life with Full Text  
    premier resource to the world's literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues.
  • PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)  
    1972 to present. Provides citations to journal articles, books, and government publications on topics in the areas of public administration, public policy, foreign relations, urban studies and politics.
  • ProQuest Extra  
    1971 to present. This is a combined search link for the PQ Research Library, Education Journals and Psychology Journals.
  • PsycINFO  
    1840 to present. Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology from scholarly journals, books, book chapter, dissertations and conference papers.
  • Social Services Abstracts  
    1980 to present. Indexes articles on social work, human services, social welfare and social policy.
  • Social Work Abstracts  
    1977 to present. Produced by the NASW, indexes journal articles in social work journals.
  • SOCIndex  
    1895 to present. Coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
  • Sociological Abstracts  
    1963 to present. International in scope, indexes articles and dissertations on a wide range of issues related to sociology.
  • Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts  
    latest year only.
    Ref1 Z7962.S79 and Electronic Access
  • Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI)  
    1956 to present. Multidisciplinary index to the social and behavioral sciences which can be searched by topic or for citations to a particular publication.
  • Women Studies Abstracts  
    1972 to present.
    Ref1 Z7962.W65
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait