Online Newspapapers
Many newspapers are available full text online. Featured below are online indexes to some of these papers.
- Proquest Newspapers
- Proquest Historical Newspapers
- Proquest Historical Newspapers: African American Newspapers
- Access Newspaper Archive

- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
- Factiva
- Access World News
- Ethnic Newswatch; 1991 to present
- Ethnic Newswatch: A History
- Alternative Press (Alt-Press) Watch
- Times of London Digital Archive (1785-1985)
- Irish Newspaper Archives--until October 20, 2008

Popular Internet Review Sources
Useful sites for locating freely available reviews online.
Finding Film Reviews

DON'T FORGET TO USE PROQUEST HISTORICAL NEWSPAPERS!
- ' Casablanca,' With Humphrey Bogart and Ingrid Bergman, at Hollywood
By BOSLEY CROWTHER. New York Times (1857-Current file). Nov 27, 1942. p. 27 (1 page)
Finding Articles on Film, Television and Media
FINDING ARTICLES ON FILM, TELEVISION, AND MEDIA
Indexes and Databases help you find citations for popular and scholarly journal articles. Sometimes an index will link you directly to the full text of the article online. Otherwise, use the citation to find the periodical either in the stacks or in the microform collection. Please note that not all the articles you find citations for will be accessible through Bobcat.
Remember that articles
released contemporary to a film’s release are primary sources as are reveiws that are contemporary to the film you are discussing. Pressbooks, promotional materials associated with the films release and screenplays which are the text from which the films are made, these are also considered primary sources.
Primary Resources on Microfilm: Microformat (which is the overarching term for microfilm, microfiche and microcard) is basically an older version of scanning. Material was photographed and placed on durable plastic material; the material on these “films” or “cards” could then be viewed with a special machine without damaging the original. There are many wonderful Film and Media Studies resources that the Library only holds in microformat (mostly microfilm), and although most students have never used this kind of material before, there is no reason to be intimidated! There is always someone you can ask for help, either at the Microform Room located on the lower level or at the Main Reference/Information Desk (on the first floor).
It is a good idea to start your microfilm research by consulting an index; doing so will give you a specific citation and save you hours of scrolling through years of a journal that has been scanned onto film. You can consult outside sources, like Google Scholar, the Reader’s Guide Retrospective, or even the New York and LA Times for citations on your topic in order to give you some idea of when to look for coverage on a certain topic.
For instance:
Say you are doing a paper on the “Fatty” Arbuckle scandal and you want to discuss his presentation in the media between 1920 and 1930. You know the journal The Bioscope was a popular film journal at the time, but you also know that while Bobcat holds microfilm of the journal, there is no accompanying index. After doing a quick search in the index, The Historical New York Times, for articles on “Fatty Arbuckle” between 1920-1930, you are able to see that there are some ads for his films. Taking note of the date the ads ran, you can then go to The Bioscope for that week to see if there were any features or ads run on the same picture around the same time. In this way, you can also see how one phase of research can build on another.
University of California Santa Barbara Libraries
Film Reviews
Article databases used for finding scholarly criticism also often contain reviews of films, television shows, and DVDs. Below are some of the key databases with review content.
- Film Indexes Online

- Film & Television Literature Index

- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus

- Film Literature Index
- Readers' Guide Retrospective

- Nation Digital Archive, The

- Access Newspaper Archive

- International Index to the Performing Arts; 1864 to present

- Project Muse

- A guide to critical reviews, part IV, the screenplay, supplement one, 1963 to 1980 /by James M. Salem..
- Variety Review Database
Selected Film Industry Magazines
While some have selected recent content online, full historical issues are typically only available in print or via microfilm.
- Variety Review Database

- Variety

- Daily Variety

- Hollywood Reporter Online

- Moving Picture World

- Motion picture news

- Exhibitors herald and moving picture world

- Exhibitors herald

- Bioscope

- The Film daily year book of motion pictures 930.

- The Film daily ... year book 1928-1929

- The Film daily : the daily newspaper of motion pictures

- Wid's daily

- Wid's year book

- Close up

Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait