Library Databases with Streaming Video
Subscription databases from the Bobst Library with streaming video content.

Featured Collection American History in Video
Films Online
Selection of freely available online video collections.
- Europa Film Treasures
- The Library of Congress - American Memory
- Archive of American Television

- AMC B-Movie Classics
- Folkstreams,net

- google video
- Joost

- YouTube Library of Congress

- MTV Music
- Paley Center' Media
- PBS Video
- Pinewood Dialogues

- Silent Cinema in Quebec
- Sloan Science and Film

- The Living Room Candidate

- TV.Com
- Internet Archives Universal Newsreels

- World Digital Archives
- YouTube
Pressbooks/microfilm collections
Cinema Best Practices
Persepolis

"Persepolis," directed by Marjane Satrapi & Vincent Paronnaud, France (Sony Pictures Classics)
Marjane Satrapi’s lively and impassioned film version of her popular
autobiographical graphic novels, animated by Vincent Paronnaud, about
growing up in revolutionary-era Tehran.
General Archives
The repositories below house collections that are publicly cataloged or listed. Each has a different access policy and many are administered by separate entities. It is important to check individual websites even though many holdings appear in the NYU Library Catalog.
- ArchiveGrid (formerly Archival Resources) Thousands of libraries, museums, and archives have contributed nearly a million collection descriptions to ArchiveGrid. Researchers searching ArchiveGrid can learn about the many items in each of these collections, contact archives to arrange a visit to e
- WorldCat OCLC WorldCat contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Records represent 400 languages and materials in many different formats including books, manuscripts, websites and internet resources, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films and
- Archives Finder (formerly Archives USA) Archive Finder is a current directory which describes over 206,200 collections of primary source material housed in thousands of repositories across the United States, the United Kingdom and Ireland.
- Film/TV Documentation Collections Includes theTreasures from Film Archives
- American National Biography

Studio Archives
The following is a working list of known locations with significant print archival holdings documenting specific studios, including those collections not held in publicly accessible institutions. However, the papers of individuals (actors, directors, producers, screenwriters, costumers, etc.) connected with specific studios may also be available in other locations throughout the country, and are not listed here. Suggestions and information leads for this list are encouraged!
CBS: UCLA holds music-related manuscripts, books, printed music, sound recordings and business papers relating to CBS productions from 1955-1983. Finding aid is available.
Disney: Disney maintains an extensive in-house archive, but it is not open to the public. UCLA owns some publicity ephemera from 1938-1980s.
Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (MGM): There is no fully centralized or comprehensive archive available for MGM, and unfortunately some of the studio's archival records were likely discarded. For instance, all of its musical material, including orchestra arrangements and parts, were discarded in the late 1960s. However, some content is available at USC, the Margaret Herrick Library (art, legal, production, and wardrobe departments, as well as scripts), UCLA Performing Arts Special Collections (architectural set plans, scripts, the studio's in-house research library collection), and the Frances Howard Goldwyn Hollywood Branch of the Los Angeles Public Library.
Paramount: The most extensive institutional holdings from Paramount are housed at the Margaret Herrick Library, including production records, scripts, press sheets, and contract summaries. The studio also has an in-house archive not open to the public, including many musical scores.
Republic Pictures: Some archival materials available at USC.
RKO: The RKO studio collection (1922-1956) is housed at UCLA Performing Arts Special Collections, including scores, daily production reports, story submission cards, payroll cards, scripts, and story synopses. Some specific collection information is available via a finding aid.
Sony: Sony also owns Columbia and Tristar. The studio has an in-house archive, and is not open to the public. UCLA houses some Columbia scripts.
20th Century Fox: Some archives are still located at the studio and are not open to the public, including many stills. The in-house working Fox Research Library is still open and may be available to serious researchers who call in advance; however, it does not collect the archives of the studio, instead serving the research needs of Fox employees. Some Fox production material (including scripts) is available at UCLA and USC, though restrictions apply for access to certain contents.
United Artists: Some UA archival records are located at the Wisconsin Center for Film and Theater Research, including corporate ledgers.
Universal: The most extensive archives are located at the studio and in other remote locations, but are not open to the public. Some material is available at USC, and the Margaret Herrick Library houses a collection of trailer scripts.
Warner Bros.: Most Warner Bros. archives are held at USC, covering studio inception to 1968. Also includes the William Schaefer ledger, which covers film grosses from 1921-1967. Some materials (mostly scripts) are held at the University of Wisconsin, and UCLA Performing Arts Special Collections houses some Warner Bros. silent film music scores.
Special Collections at NYU
Bobst Library's special collections and archives house significant resources, rare books, personal papers, University history, and more. Additionally, they sponsor numerous events throughout the year, and contribute widely to many publications.
Major Film & Television Archives in New York
- Anthology Film Archives

- George Eastman House

- Goethe-Institut New York

- New York City Motion Pictures

- Animation collection. Documentary and graphic materials, 1928-1990. 1970-1980
- American Museum of the Moving Image

- Paley Center for Media

- The Mayor's Office of Film, Theatre and Broadcasting

- The Independent: obsessed with independent film since 1978
- The Kitchen

Collections Outside NY
Archival moving image collections are held throughout the world, including "mixed" archives where audiovisual materials are housed alongside print manuscripts. The list below is a selection of major film and television archives, including a few more general search tools.
- New York Public Llibrary
- MIC

- National Film Preservation Board
- The Academic Film Archive of North America

- Cinémathèque française
- DEFA Film Library
- Harvard Film Archive
- Wisconsin Center for Film and Theater Research

- Steven Spielberg Film and Video Archive

- San Francisco Media Archive
- Pacific Film Archive

- Northeast Historic Film
- Newsfilm Library

- The Millennium

Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait