Browsing Books
Rediscover one of the best technologies that was ever invented! The book!
Academic Libraries that use the Library of Congress Classification Outline
(the majority of them) can easily be browsed for serendipitous
discovery of wonderful books in your subject area. All you need to know
is the call number range to get yourself situated.
Library of Congress Call Number Areas:
PN1992 Television (history, theory, individual shows, writing for television)
PN1993 Film journals
PN1993.5 Film history (general history first, then grouped alphabetically by country)
PN1994-1995 Film theory and appreciation
PN1995.9 Films by special topics (e.g., detective films, film noir, war films, etc.)
PN1996 Screenplay writing
PN1997 Screenplays
PN1998 Directors (biographies and criticism)
PN2000-2900 Actors and actresses (biographies and studies)
History of the American Cinema
The 10-volume, illustrated series considers the film industry from its early roots in the 19th century right up to 1990. It examines the development of film and the film industry, analyzing both the genres, themes and technology that defined each decade and the political and economic background that gave rise to them. Each volume focuses on a separate decade, providing a narrative on the evolution of both the business and the art of film in America. E
- Lost illusions: American cinema in the shadow of Watergate and Vietnam, 1970-1979
- Boom and bust: the American cinema in the 1940s
- Transforming the screen, 1950-1959
- The sixties, 1960-1969
- The transformation of cinema, 1907-1915
- An evening's entertainment: the age of the silent feature picture, 1915-1928
- The emergence of cinema: the American screen to 1907
- The talkies: American cinema's transition to sound, 1926-1931
- Grand design: Hollywood as a modern business enterprise, 1930-1939
- A new pot of gold: Hollywood under the electronic rainbow, 1980-1989
Rosebud

- Orson Welles's Controversial 'Citizen Kane' Proves a Sensational Film at Palace
By BOSLEY CROWTHER. New York Times (1857-Current file). May 2, 1941. p. 25 (1 page)
Search BobCat
If you already have a topic, the best way to discover books is via a keyword search in BobCat.
Below are some hints on using the Bobst Catalog to find titles:
- If you are looking for a specific title and get too many hits, also search by the name of the screenwriter or author (NOT the director). This often helps narrow down hits quickly.
- To browse screenplays, try a more general search for the term Motion picture plays.
- However, keep in mind that many published scripts (especially for television) have no subject heading at all, and will only have the words "script," "scripts," or "screenplay" in the title. You can, however, do a subject seach for the name of a film or program, and this will sometimes produce a title that includes the script.
Search for books, journals, videos, etc. in our local libraries and special collections.
Finding Books Outside of Bobst
If your having a hard time finding a particular film or book this is the place to look!
References Books Online
Use these reference books to provide an overview of your topic, define terms, and list recommended readings. If connecting from home, make sure your computer is configured for off-campus access. Click to access the online version.
- International dictionary of films and filmmakers
- The Hutchinson pocket dictionary of cinema
- The new biographical dictionary of film
- AFI (American Film Institute) Catalog; 1893-1970

- Britannica Online

- Biography Resource Center
- American National Biography

- African American Experience

- Latino American Experience

- Jewish Women: A Comprehensive Historical Encyclopedia

- The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism

- International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences

Online Texts
Ebrary provides a unique set of online database collections that combine more than 20,000 authoritative books and other documents from over 150 leading academic, trade, and professional publishers.
Inter Library Loan
- Interlibrary Loan Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service which helps eligible patrons obtain materials that are unavailable in the New York University or consortium libraries.
Google Books
Google Scholar is a time-saving, scholarly search interface accessible from within the Google interface. With Google Scholar, you can access peer-reviewed journal articles, books and book sections. For literature searching, specialized databases have more functionality and access more comprehensive results, but Google Scholar is a good tool
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait