Browsing Books
Rediscover one of the best technologies that was ever invented! The book!
Academic Libraries that use the Library of Congress Classification Outline (the majority of them) can easily be browsed for serendipitous discovery of wonderful books in your subject area. All you need to know is the call number range to get yourself situated.
Here are the general call numbers for the topic of dance:
-
GV 1585 - Dictionaries, encyclopedias
- GV 1587 - Terminology, abbreviations, notation
- GV 1587.5 - Directories
- GV 1588 - Philosophy (and theory)
- GV 1589- Study and teaching
- GV 1590-GV 1594 - General works
- GV 1595 - Special aspects of the subject as a whole
- GV 1596 - Pictorial works
- GV 1596.5 - Juvenile works
- GV 1597 - Dancing as a profession
- GV 1600 - Dance criticism, appreciation
- GV 1645-GV 1728 - Dance history (and historical dance)
- GV 1743 - National dances. Folk dances and dancing (General)
- GV 1746-GV 1771 - Social dancing. Ballroom dancing
- GV 1781-GV 1795 - Theatrical dancing (Biography: GV 1785)
- GV 1796 - Special dances.
- M 1450 - Dance music
- M 1520 - M 1526 Ballets (full scores, piano scores, excerpts)
- QM 1- QM 511 - General human anatomy
- QP 1 - QP 345 - General physiology
- QP 310 .D35 Physiology. Movement. Dancing.
- RC 489 .D3 Psychiatry. Dance Therapy.
RC 552 .E18 Psychiatry. Neurosis. Eating Disorders.
RC 1220 .B27 Sports Medicine. Ballet.
RC 1220 .D35 Sports Medicine. Dance.
RM 931.D35 Rehabilitation Therapy. Dance Therapy.
Dancing Master

the earliest surviving set of dance instructions appears on a 1648 manuscript, and the earliest published source is John Playford’s The English Dancing Master of 1650-1.
- EEBO To see this text go to the database EEBO
Search BobCat for Books and Articles
Search here for books, journals and other print materials, videos, sound recordings, e-books, e-journals, databases, and indexes in our local libraries and special collections.
dance

- An American Ballroom Companion a collection of over two hundred social dance manuals at the Library of Congress. The list begins with a rare late fifteenth-century source, Les basses danses de Marguerite d'Autriche (c.1490) and ends with Ella Gardner's 1929 Public dance halls, their regulation and place in the recreation of adolescents.
Finding Books Outside of Bobst
- OCLC WorldCat contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Records represent 400 languages and materials in many different formats including books, manuscripts, websites and internet resources, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films.
- Interlibrary Loan Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service which helps eligible patrons obtain materials that are unavailable in the New York University or consortium libraries.
- New York Public Library for the Performing Arts
Full Text Books Online
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait