Search BobCat for Books and Articles
Search here for books, journals and other print materials, videos, sound recordings, e-books, e-journals, databases, and indexes in our local libraries and special collections.
Important Dance Journals
Here are just a few key journals that Bobst Library subscribes to. To find the whole selection go to the Find E-Journals and E-Tests link on the library page.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a time-saving, scholarly search interface accessible from within the Google interface. With Google Scholar, you can access peer-reviewed journal articles, books and book sections. For literature searching, specialized databases have more functionality and access more comprehensive results, but Google Scholar is a good tool
(search results open in a new window)
3 Things to Remember
When using article databases, remember there are always three stages in your workflow (the "three Ds"):
1) Discovery: Do (and redo!) your searching, using varying terms and combining using the Boolean operators "and, or, not" to get good results. Your first search is not your best search, but rather an opportunity to learn how to immediately do a better search
2) Delivery: For items that you like, select the link to the fulltext if available, or click on the
button to see if we own the item. If you want to keep this item, either
save it to your own computer, email it to yourself, or print it.
3) Database it: Keep the "meta-information" about all that good resources you found for your records and to make your bibliographies. You will find yourself returning to resources so having a system in place will save you time and aggravation later. The NYU Libraries offer a number of tools to our users to help with this, in particular a tool called RefWorks. Remember when using Refworks, sometimes it makes mistakes! Be sure to check the MLA guide http://www.dianahacker.com/resdoc/humanities.html to be sure your citations are correct.
Finding Databases
How do I start? This list of databases below will help you to find current and retrospective articles on your topic. The following list is not intended to be exhaustive but should be used as an introduction to indexes in the areas of major interest serving the various academic programs. Link to complete A to Z list of library databases.
Article Indexes -Arts & Humanities
Move your mouse over the title to get a description of the database holdings
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
- International Index to the Performing Arts; 1864 to present
- ARTbibliographies Modern; 1974 to present
- America: History & LIFE; 1964 to present
- Historical Abstracts; 1973 to present
- Jstor
- Project Muse
- Proquest
- Dissertation Abstracts 1861 to present
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index; 1988 to present
- Wilson Omni; 1994 to present;full text
- MLA Bibliography
- Art Full Text
- Art Index Retrospective; 1929-1984
Article Indexes -Other
- Education Full Text with ERIC; 1966 to present

- Alt Healthwatch

- GenderWatch; 1978 to present

- PsycINFO

- Sociological Abstracts; 1963 to present

- ATLA Religion Database A comprehensive reference tool designed to support religious and theological scholarship in graduate education and faculty research.
Featured Database!

A VERY important database! There are no full text links to this database so you will need to use BobCat, OCLC and google scholar to find these items.
- Dance Education Literature and Research descriptive index provides comprehensive information on more than 3,300 documents (dissertations, theses, and journal articles) 1926 to the present. You may search the database by citation information (author, title, year, location, publication or university.
Where's the Full Text?
From an article database, click on the NYU icon:
next to a citation to get options for full text, Bobcat, or ordering from interlibrary loan.
From a citation obtained from another source, search Ejournals/Ebooks by journal title. You can also search the journal title in the Bobcat catalog. Older citations may be available in hard copy in the library, if not available electronically. If the journal title is not found in one of the above, you may order a copy of the article via Interlibrary Loan.
Chat with me
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait