Marks - Decorative Arts
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Fine and Decorative Arts 

This guide is intended for the beginning researcher in the fine and decorative arts.
Last update: Aug 31st, 2009 URL: http://nyu.libguides.com/FineAndDecArts  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Bibliographies             Print Page
  
 

Research Tip

Looking for extensive bibliography on an artist, style or period?

Look for a recently-completed PhD dissertation; most of the more recent titles are now available in full-text.

To search dissertations, go to Proquest Digital Dissertations.

 
 

General Bibliographies

  • Arntzen, Etta and Robert Rainwater. Guide to the Literature of Art History. Chicago: American Library Association, 1980. For the advanced researcher, this major work describes over 4,000 items with an emphasis on works in the western languages. See Chamberlain (below) for earlier resources. Bobst REF1 Z5931 .A67
  • Chamberlain, Mary W. Guide to Art Reference Books. Chicago: American Library Association, 1959. While dated, Chamberlain's Guide is an essential work for the advanced researcher. Provides annotated bibliography to some 2,500 standard resources. Bobst REF1 Z5931 .C45
  • Ehresmann, Donald L. Fine Arts: A Bibliographic Guide to Basic Reference Works, Histories and Handbooks. 2nd ed. Littleton, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1979. Provides descriptive annotations to over 1,650 reference works, histories and handbooks. Bobst REF1 Z5931 .E47 1990
 

Decorative Arts Bibliographies

  • Ames, Kenneth L. and Gerald W.R. Ward. Decorative Arts and Household Furnishing in America 1650-1920: An Annotated Bibliography. Winterthur, DE: The Henry Francis du Pont Winterthur Museum, 1989. Bobst REF1 Z5956.D3 D43 1989. Annotated bibliography of books, articles, and exhibition catalogs arranged by decorative arts category.
  • DeWinter, Patrick. European Decorative Arts 1400-1600. Boston: G.K. Hall & Col, 1988. Bobst REF1 Z5956.D3 D38 1988. Brief annotations to over 2,200 reference to selected material dealing with various types of furnishing made for the Church, the palace and the home.
  • Ehresmann, Donald L. Applied and Decorative Arts: A Bibliographic Guide. 2nd ed. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1992. Bobst REF1 Z5956.A68 E47 1991.
  • Sokol, David M. American Decorative Arts and Old World Influences. Detroit: Gale Research Company, 1980. Bobst REF1 Z5956.A68 S66.
 

Art Librarian

Profile ImageTom McNulty
Contact Info:
Location: Bobst Library, Mezzanine
Phone: 212.998.2519
Send Email

Subjects:
Fine Arts and Museum Studies

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait