Marks - Decorative Arts
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Fine and Decorative Arts 

This guide is intended for the beginning researcher in the fine and decorative arts.
Last update: Aug 31st, 2009 URL: http://nyu.libguides.com/FineAndDecArts  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Art Education and Therapy            Print Page
  
 

Research Tip

The study of art education spans many subjects, besides the obvious (art and education). For pointers to resources in psychology, sociology, theater and performance studies, and other relevant disciplines, consult the complete list of subject guides found on the library's website under "Research Assistance."

 

Art Education -- Research Databases

Art Education - General Databases

These are the most widely-used databases for finding articles in journals, chapters in books, and other materials of interest to the art education researcher. More specialized databases are found in the box below.

  • ArtBibliographies Modern, 1974-Present.
    Excellent starting point for research in 19th and 20th century art, architecture, and design. Provides indexing to periodicals, books, exhibition catalogs and dissertations from 1984 to the present. Articles are abstracted from 500 major international art, photography and design journals and museum bulletins. Abstracts of articles in foreign journals are provided in English.
  • Art Full Text, 1984-Present. New York: H. W. Wilson.
    Art Index Retrospective, 1929-1984. New York: H. W. Wilson.
    Provides citations to articles and book reviews published in more than 450 periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins in all fields related to the arts including archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning, industrial design, interior design, and landscape design. International coverage.
  • Bibliography of the History of Art, 1973-Present.
    BHA abstracts books, periodicals, exhibition catalogs and dissertations relating to post-classical European and Post Columbian American art.
  • ERIC.The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Both journals provide access to some 14,000 documents and over 20,000 journal articles per year.
      
     

    Subject Librarian

    Profile ImageTom McNulty
    Contact Info:
    Location: Bobst Library, Mezzanine
    Phone: 212.998.2519
    Send Email

    Subjects:
    Fine Arts and Museum Studies

     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait