Marks - Decorative Arts
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Fine and Decorative Arts 

This guide is intended for the beginning researcher in the fine and decorative arts.
Last update: Aug 31st, 2009 URL: http://nyu.libguides.com/FineAndDecArts  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Encyclopedias and Handbooks            Print Page
  
 

Optional Content Box

Examples of things you may include in this type of box are: Tips, FAQs, Current Awareness (recently published articles, etc.)

 
 

Basic Reference Sources

Encyclopedias

  • The Dictionary of Art. New York: Grove's Dictionaries, 1996. 34 volumes. Lengthy, signed articles on fine arts, decorative arts, architecture and related disciplines. Online version is one component of Oxford Art Online. Bobst REF1 N31.D5 1996
  • Encyclopedia of World Art. 16 vols. NewYork: McGraw Hill, 1959. Lengthy, signed essays with bibliographies on artists, movements, individual works, etc. Well illustrated, some color. Volume 15 (Index) provides citations to the other 14 volumes. Bobst REF1 N31
  • Tansey, Richard G. and Fred S. Kleiner. Gardner's Art Through the Ages. 12th ed. New York: Harcourt Brace, 2005. Bobst N5300.G25 2004

Handbooks

  • Barnet, Sylvan. A Short Guide to Writing About Art. 6th ed. Boston: Little, Brown, 20005. Standard guide for the beginning student of aesthetics and art history, with sections on analysis of art objects, writing essays and preparing research papers. Bobst REF1 N7476 .B37 2000
  • Jones, Lois Swan. Art Information: Research Methods and Resources. 3rd ed. Dubuque, IA: Kendall/Hunt, 1990. For beginning or advanced researchers, provides a good general overview of the research process. Annotated bibliography of reference sources, arranged by broad subject, follows the lengthy essay on art research methodology. Bobst REF1 N85 .J64 1990
  • Kleinbauer, W. Eugene and Thomas P. Slavens. Research Guide To The History of Western Art. Chicago: American Library Association, 1982.
    Bobst REF1 N380 .K56 1980

 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImageTom McNulty
Contact Info:
Location: Bobst Library, Mezzanine
Phone: 212.998.2519
Send Email

Subjects:
Fine Arts and Museum Studies

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait