Search BobCat
Search for books, journals, videos, etc. in our local libraries and special collections.
Books Beyond NYU
- WorldCat Search libraries around the world including Columbia U. and New York Public Library.
- Interlibrary Loan Allows you to obtain books that either are not owned by or unavailable from NYU Libraries at no cost!
Guides to the fundraising process
-
Bauer, David G. The "How To" Grants Manual: Successful Grantseeking Techniques for Obtaining Public and Private Grants. 4th edition. Phoenix: Oryx Press, 1999.
Bobst HG177.B38 1999 -
Hopkins, Karen Brooks and Carolyn Stolper Friedman. Successful Fundraising for Arts and Cultural Organizations. 2nd edition. Phoenix: Oryx Press, 1997.
Bobst NX765.S78 1997
Foundations
Charities, foundations, and government grant programs decide where to award their funds according to several criteria. The purpose of the grant is most important, but other factors can be location (do they focus on a city or state?), the intended audience (who will benefit?), and the type of support (will the grant be used for salaries, equipment or capital expenditures, operating expenses, publications?).
The foundation's primary grantmaking interests are in education (54 percent), arts and culture (28 percent), health (16 percent), and community and civic life (2 percent), and it generally limits its funding to programs likely to produce beneficent change on a large scale.
A searchable database of every federal funding program available. Records include program scope, eligibility requirements, deadlines, and contacts.
For more than forty years, the Ford Foundation has supported nonprofit arts institutions in America by helping to create and sustain strong, independent arts organizations and fostering international creative partnerships.
Fundraising Resources - Visit the fundraising resources section for great fundraising ideas and fundraising programs.
The William Randolph Hearst Foundations support programs that enrich the lives of young people by engaging them in cultural activities, primarily through arts-in-education programs. Grants are awarded to major institutions and community-based organizations in the arts and sciences that adress the lack of arts programming in pre-K-12 curricula.
These links take you to the guidelines for the NEA's grantmaking categories and requests for proposals, and to information on awards administration for those who have already received a grant or cooperative agreement. Also provides detailed information on deadlines, eligibility, review criteria and how to apply.
The New York Foundation for the Arts (NYFA) provides artists, arts organizations, and the general public free online access to the all-new NYFA Source, the nation's most extensive databank of grants, residencies, publications, and sources of information and assistance for artists of all disciplines.
Directories
Bobst REF1 AS911.A2 A67
This lists over 1,500 funding sources, covering private charities and foundations and also federal and local government agencies, for programs and research in all areas. It is arranged by broad subject categories but has geographic, organization name, and staff indexes. It gives basic information about the funding organization (e.g., its purpose, limitations, and deadlines).
Bobst REF1 LB2338.D5n
This covers over 4,000 grants programs, both private foundations and government grants programs. They are listed alphabetically in this guide, with additional indexes for funding organization name and type, interest area, and type of support. It also includes a section on the process of seeking grants, and a sample outline for grant proposals.
Links to various sponsors seeking to support dissertation research for candidates in pursuit of their doctorate degree. This page is maintained by Boston College.
New York: Foundation Center.
Updated monthly, the directory contains information about the largest 10,000 public and private foundations in the U.S. and links to foundation web sites.
Bobst REF1 AZ188.U5 D4
Grants, internships, fellowships, and support for research (including some dissertation support), for travel, conferences, and performances in the humanities (here defined as literature, language studies and linguistics, history, philosophy, religion, and performing arts scholarship).
Bobst REF1 PN171.P75 G73
Awards for published writers with a cash stipend of $500 or more.
Bobst REF1 NX280 .G73 (Latest ed. only)
Bobst REF1 H62.A1 G73 (Latest ed. only)
Bobst REF9 LB2338 .G735 (Latest ed. only)
Bobst REF1 HV41.2 .G73 1999/2000 ed.
Williamsburg, VA: Philanthropic Research, 1998-.
The national database of U.S. charitable organizations, gathers and distributes data on more than 850,000 IRS-recognized nonprofits.
Bobst REF9 RA410.53 .N39 1997
Bobst REF6 HG4027.65 .O74 (Latest ed. only)
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait