Finding Images
- Google Images
- New York Public Library Digital Gallery Provides access to over 275000 images digitized from the library collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, etc.
- Library of Congress American Memory Online access to print, pictorial and audio-visual collections and other digital services
- Accunet/AP Photo Archive, now AP Images Database containing 1 million Associated Press photos taken during the last 160 years. The database also contains audio sound bites, graphics, and news stories from 1997 to the present.
- CAMIO LC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online — is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world
- Oxford Art Online - Grove Art Online

Fair Use of Images
Videos online

- Featured Video Hamlet (1948)
Directed by Laurence Kerr Olivier - Theatre in Video

- Opera in Video

- Dance in Video

- American History in Video

- Movietone News Archive

- America at Work, School, and Leisure, 1894-1915

Selected Digital Image Sites
Researchers and designers often require a broad range of historical visual images. Below are some resources that serve as good starting places, though many of them are more focused on fine arts (rather than film stills and documentation).
- ArtStor
Contains thousands of high-quality images, and is particularly strong in art history. - Google Images Searches images available via Google, of mixed size and quality.
- AP Images Locates photos from the Associated Press archive dating back to 1995.
- Reel Poster Gallery Online gallery of vintage movie posters.
- World Digital Library Includes primary materials from world cultures, including manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, architectural drawings, and more.
- Oxford Art Online Links images to related entries, covering major artists, periods, and styles.
- WorldImages Contains thousands of images on a range of global topics. This free site also includes some coverage of clothing and dress.
- CAMIO: Catalog of Art Museum Images Online Online collection documenting works of art from world museums, including photographs, paintings, architecture, costume, and more.
- LIFE Photo Archive Growing historical photo archive for LIFE magazine, hosted by Google.
- Getty Images Includes stock photography, editorial photos, and some moving images.
- NYPL Digital Gallery Thousands of digital images from the New York Public Library's collections.
- VADS Thousands of visual arts images, including fashion, design, prints, and sculpture.
- Flickr Commons A free public collection of photographs from major photography archives. Contributors include the Library of Congress, the Smithsonian Institution, and more.
- American Memory From the Library of Congress, including many photographs and other visual elements documenting American history.
- Ad*Access Images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.
- Still Images: Finding and Using Digital Media U.K. site with advice on finding images online, getting permissions, and other tips.
- Empire Online Includes documents segment called "The Visible Empire," which includes color plates, maps, and more.
- Images from the History of Medicine Keyword-searchable images from the National Library of Medicine. Includes portraits, pictures of institutions, caricatures, genre scenes, and graphic art in a variety of media.
- CalPhotos From UCB Biodiversity Sciences Technology Group, this site contains thousands of photos, including plants, animals, fossils, people, and world cultures.
Finding images in BobCat
To find images within books in BobCat go to the search box and click on advanced. Then enter the topic in the first box limited to Anywhere in the Record. In the second box enter either illus. (for illustrations) or Plates (for color plates) also Anywhere in the Record.
Search BobCat
Search for books, journals, videos, etc. in our local libraries and special collections.
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait