Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Sociology 

This guide provides descriptions of commonly used library resources for sociological research.
Last update: Nov 09th, 2009 URL: http://nyu.libguides.com/sociology  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Subject-specific Encyclopedias, Handbooks and Overviews             Print Page
  
 

Research Help

AskALibrarian Image

Citation Help

Library FAQ's--borrowing a computer, reserve a study room, etc.

Set up a research consultation--contact your subject librarian

Library Tutorials

 
 

Subject

Aging and the Life Course

  • Ekerdt, David J, ed. 2002. Encyclopedia of Aging. New York: Macmillan Reference USA.
    Bobst REF1 HQ1061 .E534 2002
  • Maddox, George L., ed. 2001. Encyclopedia of Aging. New York: Springer.
    Bobst REF1 HQ1061 .E53 2001
  • Mortimer, Jeylan T. and Michael J. Shanahan, eds. 2003. Handbook of the Life Course. New York: Kluwer Academic/Plenum Publishers.
    Bobst HQ799.95 .H36 2003

Comparative and Historical Sociology

  • Delanty, Gerard and Engin F. Isin. eds. 2003. Handbook of Historical Sociology. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications.
    Bobst HM487 .H355 2003
  • Mahoney, James and Dietrich Rueschemeyer, eds. 2003. Comparative Historical Analysis in the Social Sciences. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.
    Bobst REF1 H61 .C524 2003
    Bobst H61 .C524 2003
    (Table of Contents: http://www.loc.gov/catdir/toc/cam031/2002024453.html )

Culture

  • Jacobs, Mark D. and Nancy Weiss Hanrahan, eds. 2005. The Blackwell Companion to the Sociology of Culture. Malden, MA: Blackwell.
    New School HM621 .B58 2005
  • Spillman, Lyn, ed. 2002. Cultural Sociology. Malden, MA: Blackwell Publishers
    Bobst HM585 .C85 2002
    Readings from Georg Simmel, Clifford Geertz, Pierre Bourdieu, Bethany Bryson, Wendy Griswold, Eviatar Zerubavel, Ann Swidler, William H. Sewell, Jr., Robert Wuthnow and others.
  • Smith, Philip, ed. 1998. The New American Cultural Sociology. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press
    Bobst HM22.U6 N48 1998 Includes contributions from Philip Smith, Richard Harvey Brown, Jeffrey C. Alexander, Steven Seidman, Robert Wuthnow, Anne Kane, Nicola Beisel, Wendy Griswold, Gaye Tuchman, Nina Fortin, Robin Wagner-Pacifici, Barry Schwartz, Ann Swidler, William H. Sewell Jr, William Gamson, Gary Alan Fine, Calvin Morrill, Paul DiMaggio

Economic Sociology

  • Smelser, Neil J. and Richard Swedberg, eds. 1994. The Handbook of Economic Sociology, 1st edition. Princeton: Princeton University Press; New York: Russell Sage Foundation.
    Bobst HM35 .H25 1994
    NSSR News School Reference HM35 .H25 1994
  • Granovetter, Mark and Richard Swedberg, eds. 2001. The Sociology of Economic Life. Boulder, CO: Westview Press.
    NSSR New School HM548 .S64 2001

Gender and Sexuality

  • Boles, Janet K., Diane Long Houveler and Rebecca Bardwell. 1996. Historical Dictionary of Feminism. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press.
    Bobst REF1 HQ1115 .B65 1996
  • Brown, Loulou, ed. 1993. W.I.S.H.: The International Handbook of Women's Studies. New York: Harvester Wheatsheaf.
    Bobst REF1 HQ1180 .W5 1993
  • Chafetz, Janet Saltzman. 1999. Handbook of the Sociology of Gender. New York: Kluwer.
    Bobst HQ1075 .C47 1999 Non-circulating
  • Dynes, Wayne R., Warren Johansson, William A. Percy, and Stephen Donaldson, eds. 1990. Encyclopedia of Homosexuality. New York: Garland.
    Bobst REF1 HQ76.25 .E53 1990
  • Gamble, Sarah. 2000. The Routledge Dictionary of Feminism and Postfeminism. New York: Routledge.
    Bobst REF1 HQ1115 .R68 2000
  • Kimmel, Michael S. and Amy Aronson, eds. 2004. Men and Masculinities: A Social, Cultural and Historical Encyclopedia. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO.
    New School Reference HQ1090.3 .M436 2004
  • Kimmel, Michael S., Jeff Hearn and R.W. Connell, eds. 2005. Handbook of Studies on Men & Masculinities. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications.
    Bobst HQ1090 .H33 2004
    (Table of Contents: http://www.loc.gov/catdir/toc/ecip0415/2004003826.html )
  • Seidman, Steven and Diane Richardson, eds. 2002. Handbook of Lesbian and Gay Studies. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications.
    Bobst HQ75.15 .H36 2002
  • Stromquist, Nelly P., ed. 1998. Women in the Third World: An Encyclopedia of Contemporary Issues. New York: Garland Publications.
    Bobst REF1 HQ1870.9 .W6548 1998
  • Tierney, Helen, ed. 1999. Women's Studies Encyclopedia. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press.
    Bobst REF1 HQ1115 .W645 1999
  • Zimmerman, Bonnie, ed. 2000. Lesbian Histories and Cultures: An Encyclopedia. New York: Garland Publications.
    Bobst REF1 HQ75.5 .L4395 2000

Medical Sociology

  • Bird, Chloe E., Peter Conrad and Allen M. Fremont, eds. 2000. Handbook of Medical Sociology, 5th edition. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Prentice Hall.
    Bobst RA418 .F85 2000
  • Cockerham, William C., ed. 2001. The Blackwell Companion to Medical Sociology . Malden, MA: Blackwell.
    Bobst RA418 .B5736 2001
    Contributors examine the social aspects of medicine and health care in the Americas, Europe, Africa, Asia, The Pacific Region and the Middle East and provide substantive discussion of many important issues in medical sociology.
  • Cockerham, William C. and Ferris J. Ritchey. 1997. Dictionary of Medical Sociology. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press.
    Bobst REF9 RA418.C655 1997
  • Fox, Renee C. 1988. Essays in Medical Sociology: Journeys Into the Field . New Brunswick: Transaction Books.
    Bobst RA418 .F66 1988

Methodology

  • Denzin, Norman K. and Yvonna S. Lincoln, eds. 2000. Handbook of Qualitative Research. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications.
    Bobst REF1 H62 .H2455 2000
  • Gubrium, Jaber F. and James A. Holstein, eds. 2002. Handbook of Interview Research: Context & Method. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications.
    Bobst REF1 H61.28 .H36 2001
  • Healey, Joseph F. 2004. Statistics: A Tool for Social Research, 7th edition. Belmont, CA: Thomas/Wadsworth.
    Bobst REF1 HA29 .H39 2004
  • Kotz, Samuel et al. 2004. Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences. New York: John Wiley & Sons.
    Electronic Reference Title
  • Lewis-Beck, Michael S., Alan Bryman and Tim Futing Liao, eds. 2004. The Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications.
    Bobst REF1 H62 .L456 2004
  • Schwandt, Thomas A. 2001. Dictionary of Qualitative Inquiry, 2d edition. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications.
    Bobst REF1 H61 .S4435 2001
  • Vogt, W. Paul. 1999. Dictionary of Statistics & Methodology: A Nontechnical Guide for the Social Sciences, 2d edition. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications.
    Bobst REF6 HA17 .V64 1999

    In addition to the titles listed above, a search in the catalog, BobCat, on the following series titles will result in a number of titles on specific subjects from Sage Publications.

  • --Series Title: Sage University Papers Series. Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences

    Examples:
    • Missing Data Bobst QA276 .A55 2002
    • Understanding Regression Analysis: An Introductory Guide Bobst HA31.3 .S37 1986
    • Basic Content Analysis Bobst H61 .W422 1990
    • Confirmatory Factor Analysis: A Preface to LISREL Bobst HA29 .L8373 1983
    • Interaction Effects in Logistic Regression Bobst HA31.3 .J328 2001
  • --Series Title: Qualitative Research Methods

    Examples:
    • Systematic Self-observation Bobst BF76.6.O27 R63 2002
    • Exploratory Research in the Social Sciences Bobst H62 .S754 2001
    • Qualitative Media Analysis Bobst P91.3 .A48 1996
    • Archival Strategies and Techniques Bobst H61.275 .H55 1993
    • Speaking of Ethnography Bobst GN345 .A34 1986

    Organizations

  • Clegg, Stewart R., Cynthia Hardy and Walter R. Nord, eds. 1996. Handbook of Organization Studies. Thousand Oaks,A: Sage Publications.
    Bobst HD31 .H31257 1996
  • DiMaggio, Paul J. and Walter W. Powell, eds. 1991. The New Institutionalism in Organizational Analysis. Chicago: University of Chicago Press.
    Bobst HM131 .N47 1991
  • Halford, Susan and Pauline Leonard. 2001. Gender, Power and Organisations: An Introduction. Houndmills, UK: Palgrave.
    Bobst HD6060.6 H35 2001
  • Handel, Michael J., ed. 2003. The Sociology of Organizations: Classic, Contemporary and Critical Readings. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications.
    Bobst HM786 .S63 2003
    Important contributions to the study of organizations from Max Weber, Michael Burawoy, Robert Michels, Jeffery Pfeffer, Gerald R. Salancik, Paul DiMaggio, Walter Powell, Charles Perrow, Bennett Harrison, Rosabeth Moss Kanter, Gideon Kunda and others are presented.
  • Scott, W. Richard. 2001. Institutions and Organizations, 2d edition. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications
    Bobst HM786 .S3845 2001

    Political Sociology

  • Best, Shaun. 2002. Introduction to Politics and Society. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications.
    Bobst JA76 .B46 2002
  • Bottomore, Tom. 1993. Political Sociology. Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press.
    Bobst JA76 .B67 1993
  • CQs State Fact Finder. Washington, DC: Congressional Quarterly.
    Bobst REF6 Desk HN60 .C68 2005
    This annual publication contains state rankings and statistics on the general issues of population, economies, geography, government, federal spending, taxes, revenues and finances, education, health, crime and law enforcement, transportation, welfare and technology.
  • Janoski, Thomas et. al., eds. 2005. A Handbook of Political Sociology: States, Civil Societies, and Globalization. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.
    Bobst JA76 .H383 2005
    (Table of Contents: http://www.loc.gov/catdir/toc/cam051/2004052604.html)
  • Nash, Kate and Alan Scott, ed. 2001. The Blackwell Companion to Political Society. Malden, MA: Blackwell.
    Bobst JA76 .B58 2001

Population and Demography

  • Ness, Immanuel and James Ciment. 1999. The Encyclopedia of Global Population and Demographics. Armonk, NY: Sharpe Reference.
    Bobst REF6 HB871 .N43 1999
  • Rogers, Richard G., Robert A. Hummer and Charles B. Nam. 2000. Living and Dying in the USA: Behavioral, Health, and Social Differentials of Adult Mortality. San Diego: Academic Press.
    Bobst HB1335 .R644 1999
  • Rosenzweig, Mark R. and Oded Stark, eds. 1997. Handbook of Population and Family Economics. New York: Elsevier.
    Bobst REF6 HB849.41 .H25 1997
    Bobst HB849.41 .H25 1997
  • Ross, John A., ed. 1982. International Encyclopedia of Population. New York: Free Press.
    Bobst REF6 HB849.2 .I55 1982
  • Siegel, Jacob S. and David A. Swanson, eds. 2004. The Methods and Materials of Demography. New York: Elsevier.
    Bobst REF 6 HB881 .S526 2004
    Chapters and Appendices: "Basic Sources of Statistics," "Collection and Processing of Demographic Data," "Population Size," "Population Distribution: Geographic Areas," "Population Distribution: Classification of Residence," "Age and Sex Composition," "Racial and Ethnic Composition," "Marriage, Divorce, and Family Groups," "Educational and Economic Characteristics," "Population Change," "Mortality," "The Life Table," "Health Demography," "Natality: Measures Based on Vital Statistics," "Natality: Measures Based on Censuses and Surveys," "Reproductivity," "International Migration," "Internal Migration and Short-distance Mobility," "Population Estimates," "Population Projects," "Some Methods of Estimation for Statistically Underdeveloped Areas," "Appendix A. Reference Tables for Constructing an Abridges Life Table by the Reed-Merrell Method," "Appendix B. Model Life Tables and Stable Population Tables," "Appendix C. Selected General Methods," "Appendix D. Geographic Information Systems," "A Demography Time Line"
  • Siegel, Jacob S. 2002. Applied Demography: Applications to Business, Government, Law and Public Policy. San Diego: Academic Press.
    Bobst HB849.4 .S53 2002

Social Movements

  • Davis, Gerald, Doug McAdam, W. Richard Scott and Meyer N. Zald, eds. 2005. Social Movements and Organization Theory. New York: Cambridge University Press.
    Bobst HM881 .S6293 2005
  • Goodwin, Jeff and James M. Jasper, eds. 2003. The Social Movements Reader: Cases and Concepts. Malden, MA: Blackwell Publishers.
    Bobst HM881 .S64 2003
    This reader collections contributions to the study of social movements and collective behavior from Doug McAdam, Elisabeth S. Clemens, Aldon Morris, Marshall Ganz, Joshua Gamson, Todd Gitlin and many others.

Social Psychology

  • Delamater, John, ed. 2003. Handbook of Social Psychology. New York: Kluwer Academic/Plenum Publishers.
    Bobst HM1033 .H36 2003
  • Higgins, E. Tory and Arie W. Kruglanski, eds. 1996. Social Psychology: Handbook of Basic Principles. New York: Guilford.
    Bobst HM251 .S6743 1996
  • Hogg, Michael A. and Joel Cooper, eds. 2003. The Sage Handbook of Social Psychology. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications.
    Bobst HM1033 .S24 2003
  • Manstead, Antony S.R. and Miles Hewstone, eds. 1995. The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social Psychology. Oxford: Blackwell Publishers.
    Bobst REF1 HM251 .B476 1995
  • Sansone, Carol, Carolyn C. Morf and A.T. Panter, eds. 2003. The Sage Handbook of Methods in Social Psychology. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications.
    Bobst REF1 HM1019 .S24 2003

Social Stratification

  • Black Americans: A Statistical Sourcebook. Boulder, CO: Numbers & Concepts.
    Bobst REF6 E185.86 .B52 2002
    Statistics on black Americans are included and cover demographics, vital statistics and health, education, politics, crime, labor force participation, income, poverty, wealth and special topics (i.e., social security benefits, farming, black owned businesses, housing affordability and geographic mobility). Much of the data is longitudinal in nature.
  • Research in Social Stratification and Mobility. Greenwich, CT: JAI Press.
    Bobst HT601 .R48 (1-Present, 1981-Present)
  • Conley, Dalton, ed. 2003. Wealth and Poverty In America: A Reader. Malden, MA: Blackwell.
    Bobst HC110.W4 W426 2003
  • Grusky, David B., ed. 1994. Social Stratification: Class, Race and Gender in Sociological Perspective 1st edition. Boulder, CO: Westview Press.
    Bobst HM145 .S625 1994
  • Heaton, Tim B., Bruce A. Chadwick, and Cardell K. Jacobson. Statistical Handbook on Racial Groups in the United States. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press.
    Bobst REF6 E184.A1 H417 2000
    This reference work contains hundreds of tables on population, population growth, immigration, education, college enrollments, high school dropout rates, educational aspirations, educational proficiency, school activities, higher education, employment, income, poverty, attitudes toward employment, job satisfaction, retirement, death rates and life expectancies, adolescent health, suicidal ideation by adolescents, health care, prenatal care, mental and emotional health, happiness, attitudes on human nature, family, marital status, divorce, child rearing practices, child care, adolescent sexual behavior, adult sexual behavior, abortion, fertility, birth control, religious preferences, prayer, crime, juvenile delinquency, incarceration, crime victimization, political participation, voting, military service, social attitudes, racial attitudes. Much of the data is longitudinal.
  • Iceland, John. 2003. Poverty in America: A Handbook. Berkeley: University of California Press.
    Bobst HC110.P6 I25 2003
  • Padro, Fernando F. 2004. Statistical Handbook on the Social Safety Net. Westport, CT: Oryx Statistical Handbooks
    Bobst REF1 HV51 .P33 2004
    This reference title contains useful statistics on many elements of social inequality including poverty, the elderly, unemployment, disability, healthcare, public assistance and children. Many statistics are longitudinal, provided at the state level or of an international or comparative scope. It includes bibliographies and lists sources.
  • Scott, John, ed. 1996. Class: Critical Concepts. London: Routledge.
    Bobst REF1 HT605 .C56 1996
  • Smelser, Neil J., William Julius Wilson and Faith Mithcell, eds. 2001. America Becoming: Racial Trends and Their Consequences. Washington, DC: National Academy Press.
    Bobst E184.A1 A497 2001
    Over the course of two volumes, social scientists consider demographic indicators, immigration, education, political participation, racial attitudes, affirmative action, segregation, neighborhood effects, the administration of justice, income, wealth, poverty, wages, employment and health through the prism of race and ethnicity. The volumes contain a wealth of tables and figures and a great deal of information on the various aspects of racial inequality that are considered.
  • Thernstrom, Stephen, ed. 1980. Harvard Encyclopedia of American Ethnic Groups. Cambridge: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press.
    Bobst REF1 E184.A1 .H35

Sociology of the Arts and Culture

  • Foster, Arnold W. and Judith R. Blau, eds. 1989. Art and Society: Readings in the Sociology of the Arts. Albany, NY: State University of New York Press.
    CU Cooper NX180.S6 A684 1989
    Contributions from Howard S. Becker, Paul DiMaggio and Michael Useem, Kurt Lang, Richard A. Peterson and Howard G. White, Diana Crane, Vera L. Zolberg and many others.
  • Harrington, C. Lee and Denise D. Bielby, eds. 2001. Popular Culture: Production and Consumption. Malden, MA: Blackwell Publishers.
    Bobst E169.12 .P643 2001

Sociology of Crime, Law and Deviance

  • Bryant, Clifton D. ed. 2000. Encyclopedia of Criminology and Deviant Behavior. Philadelphia: Brunner/Routledge
    Bobst REF1 HV6017 .E53 2000
  • Dobrin, Adam, Brian Wieserma, Colin Loftin and David McDowal, eds. 1996. Statistical Handbook on Violence in America. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press.
    Bobst REF1 HN90.V5 S833
    This handbook contains hundreds of tables on figures on such topics as comparative homicide rates, weapons usage, executions, municipal murder rates, rape, robbery, assault, child victimization, workplace violence, police use of force, physical injury and violence, economic costs of violence, premature death, social attitudes on the justified use of violence and on the effects of violence.
  • Dressler, Joshua, ed. 2005. Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice New York: Macmillan Reference USA.
    Internet: http://library.nyu.edu/collections/ejournals.html
  • Macaulay, Stewart, Lawrence M. Friedman and John Stookey, eds. 1995. Law & Society: Readings on the Social Study of Law. New York: W.W. Norton & Co.
    Bobst K370 .L384 1995
    Bobst REF6 K370 .L384 1995
  • Maguire, Mike, Rod Morgan and Robert Reiner, eds. 2002. The Oxford Handbook of Criminology, 3d edition. Oxford: Oxford University Press
    Bobst HV6025 .O87 2002
  • O'Block, Robert L. 1992. Criminal Justice Research Sources, 3d edition. Cincinnati: Anderson.
    Bobst REF1 Z5703.4.C73 O24
  • Trevino, A. Javier. 1994. The Sociology of Law: A Bibliography of Theoretical Literature. Rochester: Schenkman Books.
    Bobst REF6 K366 .T74 1994

Sociology of Education

  • Hallinan, Maureen T., ed. 2000. Handbook of the Sociology of Education. New York: Kluwer Academic/Plenum Publishers.
    Bobst REF1 LC191 .H524 2000
    This handbook contains twenty-four contributions organized under the general topics of "Theoretical and Methodological Orientations," "Development and Expansion of Education," "The Study of Access to Schooling," "The Study of School Organization," "The Study of School Outcomes" and "Policy Implications of Research in the Sociology of Education."
  • Saha, Lawrence J, ed. 1997. International Encyclopedia of the Sociology of Education 1st edition. Oxford: Pergamon.
    Bobst LC191 .I49 1997
  • Levinson, David L. Peter W. Cookson, Jr., and Alan R. Sadovnik, eds. 2002. Education and Sociology: An Encyclopedia. New York: RoutledgeFalmer.
    Bobst REF1 LC189.95 .E38 2002
  • Torres, Carlos Alberto and Ari Antikainen, eds. 2003. The International Handbook on the Sociology of Education: An International Assessment of New Research and Theory. Lanham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield.
    Bobst LC189 .I53 2003
    Contents: "Introduction to a Sociology of Education: Old Dilemmas in a New Century?," "Sociological Theory of Education in the Dialectical Perspective," "Explorations in the Systems-theoretical Study of Education," "Social Capital in Education: Theoretical Issues and Empirical Knowledge in Attainment Research," "Critical Ethnography and the Sociology of Education," "Sociocultural Approaches to Cognition: Implications for the Sociology of Education," "Decisive Moments and Key Experiences: Expanding Paradigmatic Boundaries in the Study of School Effects," "Biography, Life Course, and the Sociology of Education," "Leading the Way: The Development of Analytical Techniques in the Sociology of Education," "Educational Policies and New Ways of Governance in a Transnationalization Period," "Constructing the Sociology of Education as a Unique Discipline: The Cases of Mainland China and Taiwan," "Education in Transition Society: Growing Inequality," "Education, Power, and the State: Successes and Failures of Latin American Education in the Twentieth Century," "Institutionalised Legitimate Informational Capital in the Welfare State: Has Policy Failed?" "Making Sense of Education Reform: Global and National Influences," "Civil Society as Equilibrium Governance and Choice in Education: Between Private Delivery and Central Regulation," "Women and Education in Europe," "The North and South Contrasted: Cultural Similarities and Differences in Affective Education," "Citizens in the Text?: International Presentations of Citizenship in Textbooks"

Sociology of Family

  • Chadwick, Bruce A. and Tim B. Heaton. 1999. Statistical Handbook on the American Family. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press.
    Bobst REF1 HQ536 .S727 1999
    This handbook contains hundreds of tables and figures on a number of topics related to family life. There is longitudinal and cross-sectional data on marriage and divorce rates, social attitudes, marital and family satisfaction, the division of household labor, marital dissolution, child support, fertility rates, abortion, parental influencing, the hugging of children, child-rearing practices, corporal punishment, child abuse, sexual intercourse, rape, living arrangements, women's labor force participation, income, life expectancy, poverty, public assistance, home ownership, child care and health insurance. The book includes and index and a list of sources.
  • Ponzetti, James J., Jr., ed. 2003. International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family. New York: Macmillan Reference USA.
    Bobst REF1 HQ9 .E52 2003
  • Sussman, Marvin B. 1999. Handbook of Marriage and the Family. New York: Plenum.
    Bobst REF1 HQ518 .H154 1999

Sociology of Scientific Knowledge

  • Bynum, W.F. and Roy Porter, eds. 1993. Companion Encyclopedia of the History of Medicine. London, UK: Routledge.
    Bobst REF9 R133 .E5 1993
  • Bynum, W.F., E.J. Browne and Roy Porter, eds. 1981. Dictionary of the History of Science. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press.
    Bobst REF9 Q125 .D46
    Bobst Q125 .D46
  • Heilbron, J.L. et al. 2003. The Oxford Companion to the History of Modern Science. New York: Oxford University Press.
    Bobst REF9 Q125 .O86 2003
  • Hess, David J. 1997. Science Studies: An Advanced Introduction. New York: New York University Press.
    Bobst Q175 .H428 1997
  • Jasanoff, Sheila. 1995. Handbook of Science and Technology Studies. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications.
    Bobst Q158.5 .H36 1994
  • Sebastian, Anton. 2001. A Dictionary of the History of Science. New York: Parthenon Publishing Group.
    Bobst REF9 Q124.8 .D525 2001
  • Post, Stephen G. 2004. Encyclopedia of Bioethics New York: Macmillan Reference USA.
    Internet: http://library.nyu.edu/collections/ejournals.html

Sociological Theory

  • Calhoun, Craig et. al., eds. 2002. Contemporary Sociological Theory. Oxford: Blackwell Publishers.
    Bobst HM585 .C67 2002
  • Ritzer, George, ed. 2005. Encyclopedia of Social Theory. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications.
    Bobst REF1 HM425 .E47 2004
    This encyclopedia contains substantial entries with bibliographies. 336 articles cover theories, thinkers and schools of thought.
  • Ritzer, George and Barry Smart, eds. 2001. Handbook of Social Theory. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications.
    Bobst REF1 H61 .H279 2001
  • Turner, Jonathan, H., ed. 2001 Handbook of Sociological Theory. New York: Kluwer Academic/Plenum Publishers.
    Bobst HM585 .H36 2001

Further Subject-Specific Resources

  • Dillon, Michele, ed. 2003. A Handbook of the Sociology of Religion. New York: Cambridge University Press.
    Bobst BL60 .D54 2003
    (Table of Contents: http://www.loc.gov/catdir/toc/cam031/2002041240.html)
  • Dunlap, Riley E. and William Michelson, eds. 2002. Handbook of Environmental Sociology. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press.
    Bobst GE195 .H35 2002
  • Hare, A. Paul et al., eds. 1994. Small Group Research: A Handbook. Norwood, NJ: Ablex Pub.
    Bobst HM133 .S646 1994
  • Paddison, Ronan. 2001. Handbook of Urban Studies. London: Sage Publications.
    Bobst HT151 .H318 2001
  • Stogdill, Ralph M. 1981. Stogdill's Handbook of Leadership: Survey of Theory and Research. New York: Free Press.
    Bobst HM141 .S83 1981
 

Subject Librarian

Jason Phillips
Contact Info:
Location: Bobst Library, Mezzanine
Phone: 212.998.2514
Send Email

Subjects:
Sociology, Psychology, Gender & Sexuality Studies, American Studies

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait