Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Sociology 

This guide provides descriptions of commonly used library resources for sociological research.
Last update: Nov 09th, 2009 URL: http://nyu.libguides.com/sociology  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Dictionaries and Guides             Print Page
  
 

Bobst Library Classes


Loading RSS Feed...
 

Library News


Loading RSS Feed...
 
 

Dictionaries

  • Abercrombie, Nicholas, Stephen Hill, and Bryan S. Turner. 2000. The Penguin Dictionary of Sociology, 4th edition. London: Penguin.
    Bobst REF1 HM17 .A23 2000
  • Alexander, Jeffrey C. and Philip Smith, eds. 2005. The Cambridge Companion to Durkheim. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.
    Bobst HM465 .C36 2005
    Table of Contents: http://www.loc.gov/catdir/toc/cam051/2004052649.html
  • American Sociological Association. Biographical Directory of Members. Washington, DC: American Sociological Association.
    Bobst REF1 HM9 .A7235 (Latest Edition Only)
  • American Sociological Association. Directory of Members of the American Sociological Association. Washington, DC: American Sociological Association.
    Bobst REF1 HM9 .A7254 (Latest Edition Only)
  • American Sociological Association. Guide to Graduate Departments of Sociology. Washington, DC: American Sociological Association.
    Bobst REF1 HM45 .G84n (Latest Edition Only)
  • American Sociological Association. ASA Style Guide, 2nd edition. Washington, DC: American Sociological Association.
    Bobst REF1 HM73 .A55 1997
    Bobst HM73 .A55 1997
  • Billson, Janet Mancini. Mastering the Job Market with a Graduate Degree in Sociology, 2nd edition. Washington, DC: American Sociological Association.
    Bobst REF1 HM51 .B49 1996
  • Blau, Judith R., ed. 2001. The Blackwell Companion to Sociology. Malden, MA: Blackwell Publishers.
    Bobst HM585 .B53 2001
    This well-received companion provides a concise introduction to many aspects of sociological thought. It contains an appendix on Internet data resources and thirty-one chapters spread over the general topics of "Social Action," "Individuals and Their Well-Being," "Structures: Stratification, Networks and Firms," "Politics and Political Movements," "Science, Knowledge and Ideas," "Economic Inequalities," "Relationships and Meaning" and "Referencing Globalization."
  • Boudon, Raymond and François Bourricaud. 1989. A Critical Dictionary of Sociology. Chicago: University of Chicago Press.
    Bobst REF1 HM17 .B6813 1989
  • Bryant, Clifton D. and Dennis L. Peck, eds. 2007. 21st Century Sociology: A Reference Handbook. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage.
    Bobst REF1 HM585 .A13 2007
  • Calhoun, Craig, ed. 2002. Dictionary of the Social Sciences. Oxford: Oxford University Press.
    Bobst H41 .D53 2002
    From The Publisher: Collecting anthropology, sociology, political science, economics, human geography, cultural studies, and Marxism in one volume, the Dictionary presents concise, clearly written definitions of more than 1,500 important terms. Entries are true definitions, not extended essays or summaries. Ranging from 50 to 500 words, they succinctly define terms within each specific discipline and acquaint readers with the intellectual issues at stake when the terms are used. The entries draw on classic and contemporary scholarship, and include basic terms, concepts, theories, schools of thought, methodologies, techniques, topics, issues, and controversies. In addition to terminology, the Dictionary includes nearly 275 biographies.
  • Calhoun, Craig, Chris Rojek, Bryan S. Turner, eds. 2005. The Sage Handbook of Sociology. London: Sage Publications.
    Bobst REF1 HM586 .S24 2005
    This handbook contains more than thirty contributions on most sociological sub-disciplines.
  • Cashmore, Ellis and Chris Rojek. 1999. Dictionary of Cultural Theorists. London: Arnold.
    Bobst REF1 HM101 .D528 1999
    This reference title contains many short entries on theorists, both living and dead, including Daniel Bell, James Coleman, Ralf Dahrendorf, Fernand Braudel, Judith Butler, Mary Douglas, Amitai Etzioni, John Kenneth Galbraith, Henry Louis Gates, Donna Haraway, bell hooks, William James, Bruno Latour, Paul Lazarsfeld, Charles-Edouard Jeannert Le Corbusier, Seymour Martin Lipset, Stanley Milgram, C.W. Mills, Charles Murray, David Riesman, Edward Said, Susan Sontag, Pitirim Sorokin, Thorstein Veblen, Paul Willis & Erik Olin Wright among others.
  • Edgar, Andrew and Peter Sedgwick. 1999. Key Concepts in Cultural Theory. London: Routledge.
    Bobst REF1 HM621 .K49 1999
    This title is a dictionary of terms. Among the hundreds of entries are the definitions of anomie, class consciousness, conflict theory, cultural capital, ethnomethodology, functionalism, life-chances, ontology, paradigm, philosophy of science, positivism, punk, queer theory, reflexivity, social mobility, sociology of knowledge and culture, symbolic interactionism, underclass, use-value, worldview and youth culture.
    (also see REF6 HM621 .K49 2002)
  • Edgar, Andrew and Peter Sedgwick. 2002. Cultural Theory: The Key Thinkers. London: Routledge.
    Bobst REF1 HM621 .E34 2002.
    The book contains approximately eighty short entries on a number of important social theorists. Among those considered are Adorno, Althusser, Arendt, Barthes, Bourdieu, Derrida, Fanon, Foucault, Geertz, Giddens, Habermans, Kuhn, Lèvi-Strauss, Parsons, Rawls, Simmel and Wittgenstein among others. A bibliography and a glossary are included.
  • Hart, Chris. 1998. Doing a Literature Review. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications.
    Bobst REF1 H62 .H2566 1998
    This title helps to answer the oft-asked question in great depth. It includes information on citing references, managing information, constructing a review, analyzing information, utilizing research resources and expressing ideas.
  • Herron, Nancy L, ed. 2002. The Social Sciences: A Cross-Disciplinary Guide to Selected Sources, 3d edition. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited.
    Bobst REF1 Z7161 .S648 2002
  • Johnson, William A., Jr. 2006. The Sociology Student Writer's Manual, 5th edition. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Pearson Prentice Hall.
    Bobst REF1 HM585 .S638 2005
  • Outhwaite, William. 2003. The Blackwell Dictionary of Modern Social Thought, 2d edition. Oxford: Oxford University Press.
    Bobst REF1 H41 .B53 2003
  • Reiss, Edward. 1997. Marx: A Clear Guide. London: Pluto Press.
    Bobst REF1 HX39.5 R35 1997
    This guide presents an accessible introduction for those who are new to the writing of Karl Marx.
  • Scott, John and Gordon Marshall, eds. 2005. A Dictionary of Sociology, 3d edition. Oxford: Oxford University Press.
    Bobst REF1 HM425 .D5735 2005
  • Sills, David L. and Robert King Merton, eds. 2000. Social Science Quotations: Who Said What, When and Where. New Brunswick, NJ: Transaction Publishers.
    Bobst REF1 H41 .S64 2000
    This book contains quotations from hundreds of social scientists, thinkers and other notable figures.
  • Smelser, Neil, ed. 1988. Handbook of Sociology. Newbury Park, CA: Sage Publications.
    Bobst HM51 .H249 1988
  • Swedberg, Richard. 2005. The Max Weber Dictionary: Key Words and Central Concepts. Stanford: Stanford Social Sciences.
    Bobst REF1 MH425 .S94 2005
  • Swingewood, Alan. 2000 A Short History of Sociological Thought, 3d edition. New York: St. Martin's Press.
    Bobst HM435 .S9 2000
  • Thompson, Kenneth, ed. 1996. Key Quotations in Sociology. London: Routledge.
    Bobst REF1 HM17 .T56 1996
    This title is organized by topic and also by thinker. The second section contains quotes from Baudrillard, Berger, Bourdieu, Comte, Cooley, Durkheim, Foucault, Freud, Garfinkel, Geertz, Giddens, Goffman, Habermas, Lèvi-Strauss, Luhmann, Marx, Mead, Merton, Parsons, Schutz, Simmel, Spencer & Weber.
 

Subject Librarian

Jason Phillips
Contact Info:
Location: Bobst Library, Mezzanine
Phone: 212.998.2514
Send Email

Subjects:
Sociology, Psychology, Gender & Sexuality Studies, American Studies

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait