Academic Journals in Sociology
Some major scholarly journals in sociology are listed below. This list has been created to provide you with the briefest of introductions to sociological research. Please keep in mind that there are thousands of scholarly journals that publish articles by sociologists. When studying a topic, it is normally most efficient to search an index so you access scholarly articles from many sources.
The American Journal of Sociology
The British Journal of Sociology
Journal of Marriage and Family
Journal of Contemporary Ethnography
Electronic Bookshelf
Gender and Ageing: Changing Roles and Relationships - Sara Arber, Kate Davidson and Jay Ginn
ISBN/ISSN: 0335213197
Everyday Religion: Observing Modern Religious Lives - Nancy T. Ammerman
ISBN/ISSN: 0195305418
Ethnicity, Health and Health Care - Waqar I. U. Ahmad and Hannah Bradby
ISBN/ISSN: 1405168986
Work in the New Economy: Flexible Labor Markets in Silicon Valley - Chris Benner
ISBN/ISSN: 0631232508
What Is A Scholarly Article?
Here is an excellent presentation that will help you to determine whether a periodical is popular or scholarly. It was produced by our colleagues at Peabody Library, Vanderbilt University.
Major Sociology Indexes
- Sociological Abstracts Sociological Abstracts represents the fundamental index for sociological scholarship. As of 2005, it covered over 1800 journals. It also indexes books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. It contains hundreds of thousands of records and is updated regularly.
- Social Sciences Citation Index A comprehensive and multidisciplinary index. Contains a cited reference database which allows the user to determine where a particular work of scholarship has been cited.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences This index contains over two million records, has an international scope and provides regular coverage of over 2700 journals. It is updated on a quarterly basis.
- SocINDEX with Full Text SocINDEX offers coverage from many subdisciplines of sociology, including criminology, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social structure, sociological theory and sociology of education among others.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait