Where's the Full Text?
Are you in an article database? Click on the NYU icon:
next to a citation. This will give you options for:
- linking to full text of the article if available
- checking the Bobcat catalog for hard copy holdings of the article
- ordering a copy from Interlibrary loan, if not available full text or hard copy
Do you have a citation for an article obtained from another source, and you want to locate full text?
- Search Ejournals/Ebooks for your journal title.
- You can also search the journal title in the Bobcat catalog. Often, older citations are available hard copy in the library, if not available as an electronic journal.
- If the journal title is not found in one of the above, you may order a copy of the article via Interlibrary Loan.
Major Sociology Indexes
- Sociological Abstracts Sociological Abstracts represents the fundamental index for sociological scholarship. As of 2005, it covered over 1800 journals. It also indexes books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. It contains hundreds of thousands of records and is updated regularly.
- Social Sciences Citation Index A comprehensive and multidisciplinary index. Contains a cited reference database which allows the user to determine where a particular work of scholarship has been cited.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences This index contains over two million records, has an international scope and provides regular coverage of over 2700 journals. It is updated on a quarterly basis.
- SocINDEX with Full Text SocINDEX offers coverage from many subdisciplines of sociology, including criminology, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social structure, sociological theory and sociology of education among others.
Other Indexes for Sociology
- Ageline

- ASSIA (Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts)

- Business Source Premier (EBSCO)

- Contemporary Women's Issues

- Criminal Justice Abstracts

- C.R.I.S.: The combined retrospective index set to journals in sociology, 1895-1974
1895-1974. Washington, DC: Carrollton, 1978
Bobst REF1 Z7161 .C17 (1895-1974) - Human Resources Abstracts Beverly Hills, CA: Sage Publications.
Bobst REF6 Z7165 .U5 P2 (10-Present, 1975-Present)
(see also Bobst REF6 Z7165 .U5 P2 (1-9, 1966-1974) under previous titles) - Index to Current Urban Documents

- Inventory of Marriage and Family Literature St. Paul, MN: Family Social Science, University of Minnesota.
Bobst Z7164.M2 I57 (3, 5-19; 1973/1974, 1977/1978-1992/1993) - Population Index Online Access (1937-1999)
- Social Sciences Index
- Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts Bobst REF1 Z7962 .S79 as Studies on Women Abstracts (1-12, 1983-1994)
Bobst REF1 Z7962 .S79 (22-, 2004-) - Women Studies Abstracts Bobst REF1 Z7961 .W872
Subject Librarian |
Jason Phillips
Contact Info:
Location: Bobst Library, Mezzanine
Phone: 212.998.2514
Send Email
Subjects:
Sociology, Psychology, Gender & Sexuality Studies, American Studies
Location: Bobst Library, Mezzanine
Phone: 212.998.2514
Send Email
Subjects:
Sociology, Psychology, Gender & Sexuality Studies, American Studies
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait