Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Sociology 

This guide provides descriptions of commonly used library resources for sociological research.
Last update: Nov 09th, 2009 URL: http://nyu.libguides.com/sociology  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Encyclopedias             Print Page
  
 

About This Page

Reference resources are a great way to get started with your research. They can help you gather fast facts about a topic, focus your argument, and find lists of further readings written by experts in the field. Use the indexes and tables of contents to understand what you will find in each and go from there.

 
 

Encyclopedias

  • International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences - Neil J. Smelser and Paul B. Baltes, eds.
    This title, according to the publisher, is the largest reference work ever published for the social sciences. The print version was published in 2001. The electronic version has since been updated. Across 17,000 pages, contributors write on the diversity of topics of interest to social scientists. Bibliographies are included with entries.
  • Social Science Encyclopedia - Adam Kuper and Jessica Kuper, eds.
    Call Number: Bobst REF1 H41 .S63 2004
    Fields related to sociology are included in this interdisciplinary reference work
  • The Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods - Michael S. Lewis-Beck, Alan Bryman and Tim Futing Liao, eds.
    Call Number: Bobst REF1 H62 .L456 2004
    Entries include, but are not limited to, multiple regression, surveys, confidence intervals, grounded theory, content analysis, logistic regression, the hazard rate, participant observation, Bayes' Theorem, critical race theory, fieldnotes, the Gini coefficient, homoscedasticity, hierarchical linear models, the prisoner's dilemma, Poisson regressions, SAS, R-squared, ethical codes and focus groups.
  • International Encyclopaedia of the Social Sciences - Michael Mann, ed.
    Call Number: Bobst HM17 .I53 1984
  • World of Sociology - Joseph M. Palmisano, ed.
    Call Number: Bobst REF1 HM585 .W67 2001
  • International Encyclopedia of Sociology - Michael Mann
    Call Number: Bobst HM17 .I53 1984
  • International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences - David L. Sills, ed.
    Published in 1968, a number of notable social scientists author articles in this encyclopedia making it a useful historical document for the study of sociology itself. Contributors include Kenneth Arrow (Economic Equilibrium), Howard Becker (Observation), Daniel Bell (Socialism), Peter Blau (Interaction, Organizations), Irven DeVore (Animal Social Behavior), Ronald Dore (Modernization), Renèe C. Fox (Illness), Eliot Freidson (Medical Personnel), Herbert J. Gans (Social Planning), Clifford Geertz (Religion), Andrew Hacker (Anarchism), Samuel Huntington (Civil-Military Relations), Thomas Kuhn (Science), Paul Lazarsfeld (Survey Analysis), Max Lerner (Political Contributions), Seymour M. Lipset (Social Stratification), Charles Loomis (Social Organization), Steven Lukes (Marcell Mauss), Wilbert Moore (Industrialization), Richard Neustadt (Presidential Government), Robert A. Nisbet (Cooperation), Abramo F.K. Organski (Power Transition), Talcott Parsons (Christianity, Durkheim, Interaction, Pareto, Professions, Systems Analysis, Utilitarianism), Charles Perrow (Organizations), Joseph Schlesinger (Political Parties), Edward Shils (Charisma), B.F. Skinner (Utopianism), Arthur Stinchcombe (Social Stratification), Immanuel Wallerstein (C. Wright Mills) and many others.
  • International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, 2nd Edition - William A. Darity, Jr.
    Covers scholarship and fields that have emerged and matured since the publication of the original international edition. Highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features new articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences.
  • Encyclopaedia of the Social Sciances - Edwin R.A. Seligman
    Call Number: Bobst REF1 H41 .E5
    This encyclopedia is a noted resource for the historical development of social theory and research.
  • World of Sociology - Joseph M. Palmisano
    Call Number: HM585 .W67 2001
 

Subject Librarian

Jason Phillips
Contact Info:
Location: Bobst Library, Mezzanine
Phone: 212.998.2514
Send Email

Subjects:
Sociology, Psychology, Gender & Sexuality Studies, American Studies

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait