Bobst Info
Comments (0)
Search BobCat
Search for books, journals, videos, etc. in our local libraries and special collections.
Make a Purchase Recommendation to the Library
- Audio Recording For faculty and students to recommend an audio recording for purchase by the library.
- Book or Printed Score For faculty and students to recommend a book or printed score for purchase by the library.
- Video For faculty and students to recommend a video for purchase by the library.
NYU Libraries Collection Development Policy for Music
- Collection Development Policy for MusicWhat we buy and why.
Music Collection Overview
NYU's music library embraces the audio cultures of all peoples, places, and times. Located on the second floor of Bobst Library and including the Avery Fisher Center for Music and Media, the collection includes audio recordings (95,000), videos (7,000 performances and documentaries), books (51,000), periodicals (500 online and print), and notated scores (56,000).
Online Research: Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Texts
- African American Music Reference Compendium of scholarly writings.
- Classical Music Reference Library Biographical and topical reference.
- Encyclopedia of Popular Music (via Oxford Music Online) Biographical and topical reference to artists and genres.
- Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Comprehensive coverage of the music of the world's continents and peoples.
- Grove Music Online (via Oxford Music Online) In-depth topical and biographical articles.
- Oxford Dictionary of Music (via Oxford Music Online)Concise topical and biographical articles.
- Oxford History of MusicRichard Taruskin’s monumental narrative of the evolution of Western classical music. The full text from the five-volume 2009 paperback edition has been reproduced in the online edition, as have notes, bibliographies, and further readings for each of the 69 chapters, numerous illustrations, and 1,800 musical examples.
Online Research: Articles and Indexes
- AES e-LibraryOnline archive of the Audio Engineering Society.
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive Includes full-text archives of Billboard, New Musical Express, Spin and other magazines of interest to popular music studies.
- IEEE XploreOnline archive of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers, including a wealth of research material relevant to music technology.
- Index to Printed MusicIndex to individual pieces of music published in scholarly anthologies.
- International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP Full Text) Index to periodical articles in music, with full-text articles for selected journals.
- International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA Full Text) Index to periodical articles in the performing arts (dance, film, television, theater, and more), with full-text articles for selected journals.
- Music Index Index to periodical articles in music.
- The Performing Arts in Colonial American Newspapers, 1690-1783 References to music, poetry, dance, and theater.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Index to scholarly writing in music.
- RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals Index to historic music periodicals, 1800-1950.
- Rock's Back Pages Library Full-text archive of journalism and criticism on rock music.
Web Audio and Video
Use your NYU-Home login and password to connect from off campus.
- Access World News Streaming VIDEO
- American History in Video Streaming VIDEO.
- American Song Streaming AUDIO.
- BBC Shakespeare Plays Streaming VIDEO.
- Classical Music Library Streaming AUDIO.
- Contemporary World Music Streaming AUDIO.
- Counseling and Therapy in Video Streaming VIDEO.
- Dance in Video Streaming VIDEO.
- DRAM (Digital Anthology of Recorded American Music) Streaming AUDIO. Available to on-campus users only.
- Education in Video Streaming VIDEO.
- Ethnographic Video Online Streaming VIDEO.
- Filmakers Library Online Streaming VIDEO
- Hemispheric Institute Digital Video Library Streaming VIDEO (no password necessary).
- Jazz Music Library Streaming AUDIO.
- LGBT Studies in Video Streaming VIDEO
- The March of Time Streaming VIDEO
- Naxos Music Library Streaming AUDIO.
- Naxos Music Library: Jazz Streaming AUDIO.
- Naxos Video Library Streaming VIDEO
- New World Cinema Streaming VIDEO
- Opera in Video Streaming VIDEO.
- Paley Center Seminars Streaming VIDEO
- Routledge Performance Archive Streaming VIDEO
- SCOLA International News Streaming VIDEO.
- Shoah Foundation Institute Visual History Archive Streaming VIDEO.
- Silent Film Online Streaming VIDEO
- Smithsonian Global Sound Streaming AUDIO.
- Theatre in Video Streaming VIDEO.
- Vanderbilt Television News Archive Streaming VIDEO
- World History in Video Streaming VIDEO.
Online Music Scores for Download
- Classical Scores Library Downloadable PRINTED SCORES.
- Petrucci Music Library / International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP) Downloadable PRINTED SCORES.
Mega-Sites with Links to Internet Music Resources
- American Musicological Society WWW Sites of InterestAn open-access classified directory of online resources for music research, produced by the principal American association of music scholars.
- MusRef (Brigham Young University Library)Open-access online bibliography of more than 7,300 music reference resources (both print and online), produced by the Brigham Young University Music Library.
- Online Resources for Music Scholars (Harvard University Library)An open-access research guide and directory produced by the Harvard University Music Library.
Music Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Music |
Music Departments and Programs at NYU and the Consortium
- Department of Music (NYU School of Arts and Sciences)
- Department of Music and Performing Arts Professions (NYU Steinhardt School of Culture, Education, and Human Development)
- Clive Davis Department of Recorded Music (NYU Tisch School of the Arts)
- Graduate Musical Theatre Writing (NYU Tisch School of the Arts)
- American Institute for Verdi Studies
- Mannes College: The New School for Music (New School University)


Loading...
