This is the "Home" page of the "The Institute of Fine Arts" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

The Institute of Fine Arts   Tags: ifa  

Last Updated: Apr 7, 2014 URL: http://nyu.libguides.com/ifa Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

IFA Info

The Stephen Chan Library of Fine Arts
The Institute of Fine Arts (Duke House)
1 E. 78th Street
New York, NY 10075
212.992.5825
Library Hours


The Conservation Center Library
The Institute of Fine Arts (Chan House)
14 E. 78th Street
New York, NY 10075
212.992.5854
Library Hours

 

Search BobCat

Search for books, journals, videos, etc. in our local libraries and special collections.

 

Bobst Info

 

Introduction

These guides are geared primarily toward graduate students and faculty in the areas of art history, archaeology, and art conservation.  Currently, they comprise primarily electronic resources. 

 

General Resources

Allgemeines Künstlerlexikon Online / Artists of the World Online: Provides information on artists with biographical information on more than 1 million visual artists from all over the world and throughout the ages, from antiquity to the present

Art Full-Text (1984-Present)
Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984): Provide citations to articles and book reviews published in more than 450 periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins in all fields related to the arts including archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning, industrial design, interior design, and landscape design. International coverage.

ArtBibliographies Modern: Index to Western-language journal articles, essays, books, exhibition catalogues and dissertations on modern art (ca. 1880 - present) and photography. Covers publications 1974 - present.

Oxford Art Online: Provides online access to Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Concise Ofxord Dicitonary of Art Terms, and The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics.

MetPublications: a portal to the Metropolitan Museum of Art’s publishing program. Beginning with nearly 650 titles published from 1964 to the present, this resource will continue to expand and could eventually offer access to nearly all books, Bulletins, and Journals published by the Metropolitan Museum since the Met's founding in 1870. It will also include online publications.

Collections Search Center: The Collections Search Center from the Smithsonian Institution provides access to more than 2 million of the Smithsonian's museum, archives, library and research holdings and collections. The access to more Smithsonian collections via this Search Center is increasing over time.  Collections currently available include: Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery Collection, National Museum of American Indians Collections, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden Collection, National Portrait Gallery Collection, Smithsonian American Art Museum, as well as many of the Smithsonian's archival collections.

Bibliography of the History of Art: Index to Western-language journal articles, book reviews, monographs, dissertations, essays, and exhibition catalogues, on Western art and architectural history, ca. 300 C.E. - present. Conservation is also included, but the history of photography is excluded. Covers publications ca. 1975 - present.

Archive Finder   : Archive Finder is a current directory which describes over 206,200 collections of primary source material housed in thousands of repositories across the United States, the United Kingdom and Ireland.

ArchiveGrid: Thousands of libraries, museums, and archives have contributed nearly a million collection descriptions to ArchiveGrid. Researchers searching ArchiveGrid can learn about the many items in each of these collections, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies.

 

Organizations

American Association of Museums (AAC): Founded in 1906, the AAM represents every type of museum and historic site, with more than 3,000 institutional members in the US. Individual members span the range of occupations in museums, including curators, conservators, and educators.

American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS): Clearing house for information about national scholarly organizations.

American Institute for Conservation of Historic and Artistic Works (AIC): National membership organization of conservation professionals.

Archaeological Institute of America (AIA): Promotes arcaeological research and publication, and the protections of the world's cultural heritage. Publishes the American Journal of Archaeology.

Association of Art Historians (AAH, UK): The UK's association for art and design historians. Members represent the fields of art, architecture, conservation, cultural studies, design, museum studies, and photography, film and other media.

Associazione Internazionale di Archeologia Classica: Organization and information collecting point focusing primarily on Roman archaeology.

College Art Association: North America's association for artists, art historians, collectors, curators, educators, art publishers, and other visual arts professionals. Publishes the Art Bulletin and the Art Journal, and caa.reviews online.

Comité International d'Histoire de l'Art (CIHA): International organization designed to promote contacts amongst art historians of all countries. Holds major international conferences once every 4-5 years.

International Centre for the Study of the Preservation and Restoration of Cultural Property (ICCROM, Rome): Inter-governmental organization charged with the protection, preservation and conservation of the cultural heritage.

International Council of Museums (ICOM, Paris): A worldwide network for museum professionals of all disciplines and specializations.

International Council on Monuments and Sites (ICOMOS, Paris): An international non-governmental organization of professionals dedicated to the conservation of the world's historic monuments and sites.

International Confederation of Architectural Museums (ICAM): ICAM is the international organization for architectural museums and related institutions. It is dedicated to fostering linnks between all those interested in promoting the better understanding of architecture.

International Institute for Conservation of Historic and Artistic Works (IIC): Advocates for the protection and preservation of works of historic and artistic importance worldwide. Publishes Studies in Conservation and Reviews in Conservation.

Print Council of America: Members represent collections of works of art on paper throughout the US and Canada.

RIBA Library (London, UK): The Royal Institute of British Architects was founded in 1837. It has 30,000 members. RIBA's British Architectural Library is the largest and most comprehensive resource in the UK for research and information on all aspects of architecture.

Society of Architectural Historians (SAH): Encourages scholarly research in the field and promotes the preservation of significant architectural monuments. Publishes the Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians.

Society of Architectural Historians (SAH): Encourages scholarly research in the field and promotes the preservation of significant architectural monuments. Publishes the Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians.

United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organizations (UNESCO, Paris): The main objective of UNESCO is to contribute to peace and security in the world by promoting collaboration among nations through education, science, culture and communication. The organization is very active in the area of cultural heritage preservation, through practical conservation as well as legal instruments.

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Michael Hughes
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact Info
The Stephen Chan Library of Fine Arts
The Institute of Fine Arts
1 East 78th Street
New York, NY 10075
Telephone: (212) 992-5883
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip