Encyclopedias
- Augustinus-Lexikon, ed. Cornelius Mayer with Erich Feldmann. Basel : Schwabe, 1986- . Covering concepts, persons, places, institutions, and objects which are of importance for Augustine's life, work, and teaching. Articles in English, French & German.Available in the 1st-floor Reference Center of Bobst at: BR65.A9 A93 1986.
- The Catholic Encyclopedia The old, 1908 edition - still an extremely rich source of information with a level of detail its successors do not contain, though the scholarship is of course old.
- Dictionary of the Middle Ages The essential new encyclopedia for medievalists, available in the Bobst 1st-floor Reference Center at: D114 .D5 1982.
- Dictionnaire d'archéologie chrétienne et de liturgie. Available in Bobst's 1st-floor Reference Center at: e BR95 .C3.
- Dictionnaire d'histoire et de géographie ecclésiastiques.
Online encyclopedia. The paper version is available in Bobst's 1st-floor Reference Center at: BR95 .B3. - Dictionnaire de théologie catholique, contenant l'exposé des doctrines de la théologie catholique,leurs preuves et leur histoire. An extraordinary compendium of Catholic theology. Available in Bobst's 1st-floor Reference Center at: BX841 .V3.
- Encyclopedia of early Christianity, ed. Everett Ferguson. New York: Garland Pub., 1990. Available in the 1st-floor Reference Center of Bobst at: BR162.2 .E53 1990.
- Encyclopedia of Islam The link leads to the collection of Brill encyclopedias relating to Islamic history and culture.
- Encyclopedia Judaica Paper edition available in the 1st-floor Reference Center of Bobst at: DS102.8 .E39.
- Encyclopedia of Philosophy Follow the eTable of Contents.
- Encyclopedia of the Renaissance, ed. Paul F. Grendler. New York: Scribner’s in association with the Renaissance Society of America, 1999. Available in the 1st-floor Reference Center of Bobst at: CB361 .E52 1999.
- International Encyclopaedia for the Middle Ages-Online (IEMA)
A supplement to the Lexikon des Mittelalters (LexMA), is being produced under the joint auspices of the UCLA Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies and Brepols Publishers. - Lexikon des Mittelalters online (LexMA)
Based upon the paper publication of the same name (published in German between 1977 and 1999), LexMA covers all aspects of medieval studies within the period 300 to 1500. The paper version is available at the Institute of Fine Arts at: D101.5 .L4. - Lexikon für theologie und Kirche. Available at the IFA at: BX841 .B91 1957.
- The New Catholic Encyclopedia Despite its obvious denominational perspective, still one of the best encyclopedias for medievalists. The paper version is available in the Bobst 1st-floor Reference Center at: BX841 .N44 1967.
- The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium An encyclopedia covering the breadth of Byzantine history and culture from the 4th to the 15th century.
- The Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance A searchable encyclopdia covering the art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflict of the period.
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation Covers the entire range of religious and social changes that altered the face of Europe in the sixteenth century, encompassing not only issues of church polity and theology but also developments in politics, economics, demographics, art and literature.
- Real-Encyklopädie für protestantische Theologie und Kirche. Available in Special Collections at: BR95 .H58 1877.
- Reallexikon der germanischen Altertumskunde. 2nd ed. by Heinrich Beck et al. This is a completely new and expanded version of Hoops' original, 4-volume work of 1911-19. Available in Bobst's 1st-floor Reference Center at: DD51 .H6 1968.
- Reallexikon für Antike und Christentum: Sachwörterbuch zur Auseinandersetzung des Christentums mit der antiken Welt. Available in Bobst's 1st-floor Reference Center at: BR115.C5 R4.
- St. Pachomius Library An encyclopedia of Orthodox Christianity.
- The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy An open-source encyclopedia based at Stanford University.
Subject Librarian |
Michael Stoller, Librarian for Medieval & Renaissance StudiesContact Info:
Elmer Holmes Bobst Library
70 Washington Square South
New York, NY 10012
(212) 998-2566
Send Email
Subjects:
Medieval & Renaissance Studies
Elmer Holmes Bobst Library
70 Washington Square South
New York, NY 10012
(212) 998-2566
Send Email
Subjects:
Medieval & Renaissance Studies
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait