Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Medieval and Renaissance Studies 

A Guide to Research in Medieval and Renaissance Studies
Last update: Nov 05th, 2009 URL: http://nyu.libguides.com/medieval  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Finding Articles             Print Page
  
 

Where's the Full Text?

Already in an article database?

Click on the NYU button.

No full-text available?

Click on Get It in Bobcat to see hard copy holdings.

Have a citation?

Search Ejournals/Ebooks for your citation.

 

Finding Articles

The most important indices to periodical literature in Medieval and Renaissance Studies are the International Medieval Bibliography and Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance. (See below.) But all of the following indices can be helpful for a variety of topics.

  • ATLA Religion Database  
    A comprehensive database designed to support religious and theological scholarship. The file contains citations from international titles and 13,000 multi-author works in and related to the field of religion. Coverage is from 1949 to the present.
  • Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale  
    A bibliography of monographs worldwide and listings of miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) focusing on the Central Middle Ages, but the coverage will be expanded to cover both the Early and Late Middle Ages.
  • Bibliography of the History of Art  
    Covering European and American art from late antiquity to the present, indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals.
  • Editoria Italiana Online (EIO)  
    A collection of full text Italian research publications in the humanities and social sciences. Coverage includes monographic works, periodicals and conference proceedings in a variety of subjects.
  • Essay & General Literature Index  
    A bibliographic database that cites essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada.
  • Feminae: Medieval Women & Gender Index  
    And index to journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. More than 500 journals are indexed.
  • International Medieval Bibliography (IMB)  
    The essential resource for finding articles in the field of Medieval Studies.
  • Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliterature (IBZ)  
    An "international bibliography of periodical literature covering all fields of knowledge." It indexes periodical articles in all subject areas from around the world in German, French and English. Available in Bobst 1st-floor Reference: AI9 .I29 1991.
  • ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance  
    A bibliography of more than 1,047,000 records for articles, essays, books, dissertation abstracts, encyclopedia entries and reviews from 9,757 publications, including 1,707 journals for study of the Middle Ages & the Renaissance.
  • Historical Abstracts  
    Rarely useful for Medieval & Renaissance Studies - An index to European and world history from 1450 to the present, searchable by author, subject and keyword. Covers about 2000 historical journals published in 50 languages.
  • Periodicals Archive Online (Formerly Periodicals Contents Index  
    An electronic index to the contents of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues to 1990/1991. Every article is indexed.
  • Revue d'histoire ecclésiastique - Bibliographie  
    Based on the annual bibliographie that appears in Revue d'histoire ecclésiastique.
 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImageMichael Stoller, Librarian for Medieval & Renaissance Studies
Contact Info:
Elmer Holmes Bobst Library
70 Washington Square South
New York, NY 10012
(212) 998-2566
Send Email

Subjects:
Medieval & Renaissance Studies

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait