Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Medieval and Renaissance Studies 

A Guide to Research in Medieval and Renaissance Studies
Last update: Nov 05th, 2009 URL: http://nyu.libguides.com/medieval  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Bibliographies & Introductions             Print Page
  

Bibliographies & Basic Introductions

  • Boyce, Gray Cowen. Literature of Medieval History, 1930-1975: a supplement to Louis John Paetow's A guide to the study of medieval history, 5 vols.  
    Available in Bobst's 1st-floor Reference Center at: Z6203 .P25 1980 Suppl.
  • Caenegem, R.C van, with F.L. Ganshof. Guide to the sources of medieval history.  
    An essential bibliographic guide to the primary sources of medieval history, available in Bobst's 1st-floor Reference Center at: D117 .C2213.
  • The New Cambridge Medieval History  
    From the Cambridge Histories Online page, click on "browse," then click "Show Histories" in the "General History" box. This will bring up a list including The New Cambridge Medieval History. The paper version is in Bobst at: D117 .N48 1995.
  • Paetow, Louis John. A Guide to the Study of Medieval History  
    Increasingly out-of-date, but this bibliography still contains a valuable introduction to the older sources. Available in Bobst's 1st-floor Reference Center at: Z6203 .P25 1980.
  • Powell, James M. Medieval Studies: An Introduction  
    Each chapter provides an introduction to a sub-discipline of medieval studies. Available in Bobst at: D116 .M4.
  • Repertorium fontium historiae medii aevi - primum ab Augusto Potthast digestum, nunc cura collegii historicorum e pluribus nationibus emendatum et auctum.  
    An essential bibliography of the primary sources of medieval history. It is more comprehensive in coverage than Van Caenegem, though the latter can often be more helpful. Available in Bobst's 1st-floor Reference Center at: Z6203 .P6.
  • Typologie des sources du Moyen Age occidental.  
    This series of small guide books, published by Brepols, provides careful introductions to a multitude of sub-disciplines and topics, ranging from "the sermon" to "letter writing" to the Latin hymn. Available in Bobst at: Z6203 .T95.
 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImageMichael Stoller, Librarian for Medieval & Renaissance Studies
Contact Info:
Elmer Holmes Bobst Library
70 Washington Square South
New York, NY 10012
(212) 998-2566
Send Email

Subjects:
Medieval & Renaissance Studies

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait