Free Full-Text Resource on the Internet
The following links provide texts, images and other resources in Medieval & Renaissance Studies.
- The ARTFL Project The Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language (ARTFL) is a cooperative enterprise of the Laboratoire ATILF of CNRS & the University of Chicago.
- CANTUS: A Database for Latin Ecclesiastical Chant A source that assembles and publishes indices of the chants found in manuscript and early printed sources for the liturgical Office. Maintained by the Faculty of Music at The University of Western Ontario.
- The Catasto Study - University of Wisconsin This site provides access to the raw data and documentation files for the Census and Property Survey for Florentine Domains and the City of Verona in Fifteenth Century Italy, also known as the Catasto study.
- Celt: Corpus of Electronic Texts Over 1,000 documents related to Irish history and culture.
- Christian Classics Ethereal Library A digital library of hundreds of classic Christian books maintained at Calvin College.
- Digitale Sammlungen from the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek Includes Gratian's Decretum and a large collection of German Imperial documents from the Middle Ages.
- DScriptorium at Brigham Young University A collection of digital images of medieval manuscripts - not to be confused with Digital Scriptorium (see Medieval Manuscripts tab).
- Florentine Renaissance Resources: Online Catastato of 1427 A searchable database of tax information for the city of Florence in 1427-29 (c. 10,000 records) based on David Herlihy's and Christiane Klapisch-Zuber's property census survey, maintained at Brown University.
- Florentine Renaissance Resources: Online Tratte of Office Holders 1282-1532 A database (c. 165,000 records) with information about office holders of the Florentine Republic during its 250-year history, maintained at Brown University.
- Internet Medieval Sourcebook Part of the Online Medieval Reference Book (ORB), this collection of texts has been built and maintained by Paul Halsall at Fordham University.
- The Labyrinth A rich collection of free medieval resources based at Georgetown University.
- LIBRO: The Library of Iberian Resources Online A project of the American Academy of Research Historians of Medieval Spain and the University of Central Arkansas, designed to provide collection of secondary works and some primary sources on medieval Iberia.
- The Medici Archive Project The project of a non-profit international Foundation based in the Archivio di Stato in Florence, dedicated to fostering scholarship about the Medici.
- The Middle English Collection - University of Virginia A large collection of Middle English texts, including many supplied by the Oxford Text Archive.
- Monastic Matrix A resources for the study of women's religious communities 400-1600 CE.
- The Online Medieval & Classical Library A searchable collection of classical & medieval texts created by Douglas B. Killings and Roy Tennant, maintained by Roy Tennant.
- The ORB The Online Reference Book for Medieval Studies. This site provides a rich variety of medieval texts.
- The Princeton Charrette Project The Project is complex, scholarly, multi-media electronic archive containing a medieval manuscript tradition—that of Chrétien de Troyes's Le Chevalier de la Charrette (Lancelot, ca. 1180).
- Renaissance Dante in Print, 1472-1629 An exhibition presenting Renaissance editions of Dante's Divine Comedy from the John A. Zahm, C.S.C., Dante Collection at the University of Notre Dame, together with selected works from The Newberry Library.
- Renaissance Electronic Texts A set of old-spelling, SGML-encoded editions of early individual copies of English Renaissance books and manuscripts, and of plain transcriptions of such works,
- The Roman Law Library A vast collection of Roman Law texts built by scholars at the University of Grenoble and across Europe.
- Thesaurus Musicarum Latinarum A project of the Center for the History of Music Theory & Literature at Indiana University, an evolving database of the entire corpus of Latin music theory written during the Middle Ages and the Renaissance.
- Thesaurus Precum Latinarum A collection of Latin prayers. Extremely helpful for navigating the liturgy of the Church.
- Thomas Aquinas' Summa Theologica A full-text version of the Summa at New Advent, a Catholic website.
Licensed Full-Text Resources
The following full-text resources are licensed and available to affiliates of New York University.
- Acta Sanctorum An electronic version of the complete printed text of Acta Sanctorum, from the edition published in sixty-eight volumes by the Société des Bollandistes. It is a collection of documents examining the lives of saints, organised by each saint's feast day.
- Early English Books Onlineq Digital facsimiles of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
- English Drama A collection of more than 3,900 plays in verse and prose tracing the development of drama in English from the medieval mystery cycles onwards.
- Library of Latin Texts
A database for Latin texts, including CETEDOC, contains texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council. - Middle English Compendium An electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, based on the MED bibliographies, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse.
- Monumenta Germaniae Historica
A searchable full-text electronic version of the great German collection of medieval documents and texts. For reading the texts, however, the version below from the MGH itself is more useful. - Monumenta Germaniae Historica This version, from the MGH itself, allows both searching and browsing through the text.
- Opera del Vocabolario Italiano (OVI) A database containing nearly 2,000 vernacular texts (21.2 million words, 479,000 unique forms), the majority of which are dated prior to 1375, the year of Boccaccio's death, managed in collaboration with ARTFL.
- Papal Letters
Ut per litteras apostolicas - the series of papal registers and letters of the 13th and 14th centuries preserved in the Vatican Secret Archives in Rome. - Patrologia Graeca This is not a searchable version of the Series Graeca in Migne's great Patrologia Cursus Completus. But the full text is available here.
- Patrologia Latina A comprehensive electronic version of the Latin portion of Migne's massive Patrologiae Cursus Completus, including notes, glosses and indexes. The PL, though originally published in the 19th century, still offers the only editions of many texts.
- Provençal Poetry Database A database based on data provided by F.R.P. Akehurst. Spellings are in the orginal representation. Page links get poems numbered from 1 for each author. The database has 415,000 words, 28,500 unique forms, in 38 works ranging from 1130 to 1300.
- Textes de Français Ancien A database of Old & Middle French Texts, 12th-15th centuries, digitized for the preparation of a lemmatized database of Old French (project in collaboration with the former Institut National de la Langue Française, now ATILF) and managed as part of ARTFL
Subject Librarian |
Michael Stoller, Librarian for Medieval & Renaissance StudiesContact Info:
Elmer Holmes Bobst Library
70 Washington Square South
New York, NY 10012
(212) 998-2566
Send Email
Subjects:
Medieval & Renaissance Studies
Elmer Holmes Bobst Library
70 Washington Square South
New York, NY 10012
(212) 998-2566
Send Email
Subjects:
Medieval & Renaissance Studies
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait