Japan Focus--Recent Articles

Loading RSS Feed...
Journal of Japanese Studies--Recent Issues

Loading RSS Feed...
News
This month's issue of the online journal Words without Borders is about Japanese translation: http://www.wordswithoutborders.org/
Japanese Search Tips
BobCat and WorldCat can now be searched using 漢字! Give it a try. But if you don't find what you are looking for (there are sometimes technical complications), do a search using the English alphabet also. BobCat and WorldCat use the Library of Congress romanization system for Japanese, which is based on the principles of the the modified Hepburn system (for example, 新聞is romanized shinbun).
Not at Bobst?
Our Japanese collection is still in the early stages of its development. If you need a resource that we don't appear to have yet, please be sure to contact the East Asian Studies librarian using the links on the right side of this page. If the item is in another North American library, you may also want to request the material via InterLibrary Loan. Thanks to an arrangement called by the North American Coordinating Council for Japanese Library Resources (NCC), it is also possible to obtain journal articles and books not held by a North American library from Japan. See the Global Interlibrary Loan framework site or ask the East Asian Studies librarian for details.
JapanKnowledge Database
We have trial access to JapanKnowledge, a rich resource of Japanese reference sources, while we are negotiating a license with them. Among the many encyclopedias and dictionaries it includes is the Nihon Kokugo Daijiten. Click the Japanese "login" button to access.
Articles via Databases--In Japanese
- MagazinePlus This indexes the contents of some 14,000 periodicals, both scholarly and popular, published in Japan since World War II.
- CiNii Journal article citation index to 12 million articles from Japanese academic sources, with some full text.
- Japanese Institutional Repositories (JAIRO) Contains citations to and (in many cases) full text of articles, papers, dissertations, etc. from Japanese universities.
- Zassaku Plus (Koseisha) The only online index to Japanese articles that goes back as far as the Meiji period.
Japanese Literary Texts Online
- Denshi Toshokan: A comprehensive, frequently updated collection of links to Japanese e-texts, both premodern and modern. Includes links to some of the biggest collections, including Aozora Bunko and the Japanese Text Initiative.
- Kindai Digital Library: A National Diet Library project that has digitized more than 55,000 Meiji period texts.
Japanese Print Journals
Thanks to a generous gift, we have many back issues of major Japanese journals from the mid- to late 20th century. They can be searched by title in BobCat and browsed in the East Asian Collection in the 10th floor North reading room. In addition, we have ongoing subscriptions to the following print journals in Japanese. Current issues are in the Current Periodical room on the 3rd floor of Bobst; bound back issues are found in the stacks of Bobst at the call number indicated in BobCat.
Gendai shiso 現代思想
Gunzo 群像
Kokubungaku: kaishaku to kansho 国文学解釈と鑑賞
Nihon bungaku日本文学
Sekai 世界
Shincho 新潮
Shiso 思想
Yuriika ユリイカ
Subject Librarian |
Dawn Lawson, East Asian Studies LibrarianBobst Library, Mezzanine
To reach my office, go through the Bobst Lobby almost as far back as the Reference Desk. Go up the stairs to the left and through the door at the top of the stairs. My office is on the right.
Send Email
Subjects:
East Asian Studies
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait